Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Huntington, Anna Hyatt, 1876-1973
Title:	Anna Hyatt Huntington Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1887-1973
Quantity:	90 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American sculptor, specializing in equestrian figures and animals. Correspondence, 1887-1965; diaries, 1925-1958; articles; exhibition catalogs; financial and legal material; manuscripts; and photographs.
Language:	Majority in English, some in Spanish and French
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Anna Vaughn Hyatt Huntington (1876-1973) was an award-winning American sculptor, best known for her animal pieces and her large equestrian statues.

Born in Cambridge, Mass. on March 10, 1876, the daughter of noted palaeontologist, naturalist, and Harvard professor, Alpheus Hyatt, she had planned to become a concert violinist but was encouraged by her sister to try sculpture. She studied briefly under H.E. Kitsen of Boston, and in the Art Students' League in New York, and received valuable criticism from Gustav Borglum. Other artists with whom she studied include Hermon Atkins MacNeil, George Grey Barnard, Gertrude Vanderbilt Whitney, and Malvina Hoffman.

As early as 1898 she began to exhibit her work and by 1906 had established a reputation as a fine sculptor of animals. She lived in Europe from 1906 to 1908 and again in 1910 when she won an honorable mention for her plaster model of Joan of Arc. She then returned to America where she executed many commissions, several of monumental size, such as the Joan of Arc which was placed along Riverside Drive in New York City.

In 1923 she became the second wife of Archer Milton Huntington, adopted son of Collis P. Huntington who founded the Southern Pacific Railroad. Archer Huntington was vitally interested in art, particularly Spanish art and culture; he encouraged his wife's work and she came to share his love for Spain and its people. Despite a lengthy bout with tuberculosis beginning in 1927, Anna continued to actively produce and show her work after their marriage. In 1937 the Huntingtons moved from New York City to Haverstraw, New York to an estate they called "Rocas," and then in 1940 to an estate and farm near Bethel, Connecticut, which they called "Stanerigg." Here Mrs. Huntington became interested in owning and breeding Scottish deerhounds and her kennel at Stanerigg produced a number of award-winning dogs, but her main focus was always her art. She continued to sculpt and produce fine pieces until illness forced her to stop in 1972, and she died shortly thereafter in 1973.

Sculptors Marjorie Jay Daingerfield and Katherine Ward Lane Weems both studied with her, and she was the friend and collaborator of sculptor Abastenia St. Leger Eberle (whom she affectionately called "Stennie") and a colleague of artist Elizabeth Norton.

Particularly well-known are Mrs. Huntington's heroic equestrian statues. These include El Cid (several locations including the Hispanic Society of America in New York and Seville, Spain), Young Andrew Jackson (Andrew Jackson State Park, Lancaster, South Carolina), General Israel Putnam (Putnam Memorial Park, Redding, Connecticut), and The Torchbearers (Ciudad Universitaria, Madrid). Her last major equestrian piece was a statue of Cuban nationalist José Martí, which stands in New York's Central Park; the piece was begun in the mid 1950s but due to the United States' difficult relations with Cuba it was not unveiled until 1965.

Mrs. Huntington was an active member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the National Academy of Design, and the National Sculpture Society, and gave generously to numerous museums, charities and civic organizations. With her husband, she founded Brookgreen Gardens in South Carolina, a state preserve and sculpture garden, and the Mariner's Museum in Newport News, Virginia; the couple also donated 15,000 acres of forestland in the central Adirondacks to the State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry (SUNY-ESF). Mr. Huntington founded the Hispanic Society and Museum in New York City, and Anna also actively supported this organization.

Mrs. Huntington received numerous awards and honors over her career, among them a silver medal at the San Francisco Exposition in 1915, a gold medal in Philadelphia in 1917, and the Saltus Gold Medal from the National Academy of Design. She became a Chevalier of the Legion d'Honneur in 1933, was named "Woman of the Americas" in 1958, and on her ninetieth birthday she received greetings from friends, fellow artists, and admirers worldwide. Her sculpture is in the permanent collections of more than 200 museums across the United States as well as overseas.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Anna Hyatt Huntington Papers include art files, original artwork, biographical material, correspondence-subject files, financial-legal files, memorabilia, photographs, printed material, reference files, and a few writings by others.

Art files contains material relating to Mrs. Huntington's art -- transport, insurance, research material, copyright information, correspondence with bronze foundries, lists of exhibitions, and similar material.

Artwork (original) consists of a few items by Anna (a medal and some sketches) and original artwork by others, primarily sketches, drawings, watercolors, and so on. Original artwork sent with correspondence was kept with it and may be found in the correspondence-subject files under the surname of the correspondent.

Biographical material contains material on the Beebe, Huntington, Hyatt, Mayor, Reynolds, and Vaughn families. (See also Related material, below).

Correspondence-subject files consists of correspondence with, and material related to, various individuals and organizations. The correspondence of Anna's husband, Archer Milton Huntington, has been merged into this series. The files include artists, authors, gallery owners, friends and family, as well as notes from visitors to Brookgreen; art galleries, museums, schools, cities, societies, charities, and so on; and topics ranging from blueprints to maps. Of particular interest in this series are Anna's extensive correspondence with her mother, Audella Hyatt (4 boxes spanning forty years), and her sister, Harriet Hyatt Mayor (2 boxes spanning 60 years). Included also is material relating to Brookgreen Gardens (6 boxes, including annual reports, bank statements, cash statements, a deed, inventories, minutes, photographs, reports, and other material) and the Hispanic Society of America (3 boxes). The 11 boxes of Scottish deerhound material reflect Anna's intense interest in the breed.

Financial-legal files includes bank statements, files on trusts and deeds of gift, and Archer Milton Huntington's financial notebooks; some papers relate to Brookgreen and the Hispanic Society of America, and there are some legal papers relating to Collis P. Huntington's adopted daughter (therefore Archer's adoptive sister) Clara Hatzfeldt.

Memorabilia is extensive and comprises address books, awards and certificates, daily calendars for nearly fifty years, Anna's own diaries (39 volumes covering 1925-1965), membership cards, passports, plaques, more than 25 scrapbooks, and secretary's diaries (1934-1945). Miscellaneous items include Mrs. Huntington's honorary degree from the University of South Carolina and a beautiful framed decree of honorary citizenship from Valencia, Spain.

Photographs includes photographs of artwork (primarily Mrs. Huntington's but a few of others); exhibits; family members and friends; family property (Atalaya, Rocas, Stanerigg, various New York houses); and miscellaneous people (Francisco Franco, Jose Simeon Canas, Robert Peary) and places (Africa, Monaco, Spain, New Orleans, Nashville). Also included here are negatives, slides, photoplates (metal plates affixed to wooden blocks) and three 16mm films. Some correspondence-subject files also contain photographs; these are noted in the inventory below. Of particular interest, in Box 93, is a photograph of a sculpture of a boy and a dog which is annotated on the back as "Anna V. Hyatt and Harriet Randolph Hyatt, only piece done together." According to several sources, this collaboration was Anna's first piece, and its acceptance for exhibition and subsequent purchase encouraged her to give up the violin and turn her talents to sculpture.

Printed material consists of articles (about Anna, about family members, about others); books (about Anna, about others, and one by Archer), clippings (about Anna, about family members, about others); exhibit catalogs; press releases; and miscellaneous advertisements, fliers, magazines, pamphlets, programs, and so on. A few of the magazines are in French or Spanish.

Anna's Reference files contain vast numbers of clippings, photographs, books, and magazines used by Anna as reference for her sculptures.

Writings of others contains typescripts and manuscripts of articles, books, essays, poems, and other pieces. The bulk of the material is that of Emile Schaub-Koch, a French art critic who wrote extensively about Anna and her work. There are also a few poems by Archer Milton Huntington. Some correspondence-subject files also contain original poems, essays, or other writings; these are noted in the inventory below.

Deerhounds (1902-1957, 5 Boxes) were a long-time hobby of Mrs. Huntington. In the early 1930's, she became interested in introducing the breed of Scottish deerhounds into the United States. She maintained extensive kennels, bred the dogs, and showed them nationally. Her dogs won many championships, and her kennels remained active until the 1950's. This series includes subject files (American Kennel Club material, Deerhound Club information, extensive records of Mrs. Huntington's kennels, scrapbooks, and other material) and published material (magazine articles and clippings about deerhounds and publicity material relating to the kennels).

In the interests of space, throughout the inventory Mrs. Huntington is referred to as "AHH."

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

All series are arranged alphabetically, with the sole exception of the photographs of exhibits; these are arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The finding aids file contains several family trees compiled by Special Collections Research Center staff during processing. Although every effort has been made to confirm names, dates and relationships, the charts should not be regarded as definitive.

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of numerous members of the Hyatt, Mayor and Beebe families; please see our complete collection list under each surname for these. See also the following collections:

Archer Milton Huntington Papers (Anna's husband)
Arabella Huntington Papers (Archer's mother)
Collis P. Huntington Papers (Archer's father)
Huntington Estate Papers

Syracuse University also owns artwork by Anna Hyatt Huntington; please contact the Syracuse University Art Galleries for more information.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Anna Hyatt Huntington Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Pellowe correspondence, gift of Kiersten Gawronski, 2021.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: Sep 1966
Revision history: 4/27/79; 22 Oct 2006 - converted to EAD (AMCon); 7 Feb 2009 - completely reprocessed, inventory redone (MRC); 8 May 2013 - D. Drew folder (MRC); 24 Oct 2013 - added Joan of Arc photo Box 91 (MRC); 15 Apr 2014 - film rehoused and inventory updated (MBD); 30 Nov 2017 - films updated (MRC); 21 Jul 2021 - added Edward Pellowe correspondence (RMH); 27 Sep 2022 - added recording 004 (IRP); 19 Jul 2024 - sculpting tools rehoused, boxes 87, 125, 126 (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Art files
Box 1		All-Transport Co.
Box 1		Arden Gallery
Box 1		A
Box 1		[W.S.] Budworth and Sons
Box 1		B
Box 1		[Francis C.] Carr and Company 1942-1958 (2 folders)
Box 1		Comments and reviews of AHH's work
Box 1		Contini, Attilio and Cesare
Box 1		Contracts
Box 1		Copyright information
Box 1		C
Box 1		Don Quixote - research material
Box 1		Ettl Studios
		Exhibits
			See Photographs: Exhibits (Box 94 and Oversize 1) and Printed material: Exhibit catalogs and brochures (Boxes 109 and 110)
Box 1		Flynn's Express
Box 2		[J.J.] Gillespie Company
Box 2		H
Box 2		Insurance policies
Box 2		I
Box 2		Joan of Arc statue - clipping about horse used for model
Box 2		[W.R.] Keating Company
		Lists
Box 2			Exhibitions by date
Box 2			Exhibitions by work
Box 2			Exhibitions, Studio Guild
Box 2			Exhibitions, other
Box 2			Sculpture gifts by institution
Box 2			Sculpture gifts by state
Box 2			Sculpture gifts by work (2 folders)
Box 2			Sculpture, miscellaneous
Box 2		Marti statue - includes photograph of Marti
Box 2		Modern Art Foundry Inc.
Box 3		M
Box 3		Notes
Box 3		Orbit Shipping Company
Box 3		O
Box 3		Petsco, William
Box 3		Pickett, Grace 1938-1961, undated (9 folders)
		Photographs
			See Photographs: Artwork by AHH and Photographs: Exhibits
Box 4		Roman Bronze Works 1906, 1926-1967, undated (3 folders)
Box 4		R
Box 4		Sofia Brothers
Box 4		Speeches
Box 4		Sybil Ludington statue - clippings, research notes
Box 4		Studio Guild 1937-1962, undated
Box 4		"The Torchbearer" dedication - includes audiotape
Box 4		T, V, W
Box 4		Wallace, Claire
Box 4		World's Fair 1939, 1964
Box 4		Miscellaneous

	Artwork (original)
		By AHH
Box 5			Medal, "Watering Hole"
				See also various medals in Photographs: Artwork by AHH.
Box 5			Sketches
		By others
Box 5			Bregel [?], Peter - pen and ink drawings
Box 5			Killman, Murray - Huntington relative; watercolor with letter on reverse
Box 5			Mayor, Alfred Goldsborough - pen and ink sketches
Box 5			Petrovic, M.V. - pencil sketch
Box 5			White, Elizabeth - prints
Box 5			Unidentified

	Biographical material
Box 6		Beebe family
Box 6		Huntington, Alpheus Jr.
Box 6		Huntington, Anna (2 folders)
Box 6		Huntington, Archer M.
Box 6		Hyatt family
Box 6		Mayor, Harriet - childhood reminiscences
Box 6		Reynolds family
Box 6		Vaughn, Daniel - assembled for DAR membership application (included)

	Correspondence-subject files
Box 7		A
Box 7		Abbate, Paolo S.
Box 7		Abbe, Elfriede
Box 7		Academy of American Poets
Box 7		Accademie di Belle Arti
Box 7		Accademie degli Euteleti
Box 7		Adams, Cynthia DeFord - includes photograph
Box 7		Adams, Edward A.
Box 7		Adams, Herbert and Adeline - includes typescripts of poems
Box 7		Adrian College
Box 7		Agassiz, George Russell
Box 7		Alba, Jacobo Stuart Fitz-James y Falco, ducque de - includes photo of his daughter, 1935
		Albert, Allen D.
			See Sheldon Swope Art Gallery (Box 54).
Box 7		Alcohol Education, Foundation for
		Alexander, Sara
			See Brookgreen Gardens: General (Boxes 11-13).
Box 7		Allen, Marion Boyd (2 folders)
Box 7		Alley, Reuben, Helene and Bobby
Box 7		Allston, Susan Lowndes
		Alva Belmont House
			See Greenbie, Marjorie Latta Barstow (Box 33).
Box 7		Amateis, Edmond R.
		American Academy of Arts and Letters
Box 7			General 1920-1954 (2 folders)
				See also Butler, Nicholas Murray (Box 15) and Johnson, Robert Underwood (Box 41).
Box 7			Building contract
Box 8			"Impressions and reminiscences of deceased members"
Box 8			Minutes
Box 8			Photographs (of building)
Box 8			Resolution
Box 8			Miscellaneous
Box 8		American Antiquarian Society
Box 8		American Artists Professional League
Box 8		American Friends of Spain
Box 8		American Geographical Society 1920-1955 (2 folders)
Box 8		American Museum of Natural History 1898-1955 (3 folders)
Box 9		American Numismatic Association
Box 9		American Numismatic Society 1929-1966 (6 folders)
Box 9		Anderson, Maxwell - includes photocopies of handwritten poems
Box 9		Anderson Galleries
Box 9		Angel, John
Box 9		Angelis, Arnaldo de
Box 9		Apel, Willi
Box 9		Araquistain, Luis
Box 9		Arciniegas, German
Box 9		Arms, John Taylor
Box 9		Art League of Manatee County (Bradenton, Fla.)
		Art Times
			See Boros, Billi (Box 11).
Box 9		Artists' Fellowship, Inc.
Box 9		Arts and Science Museum (Statesville, N.C.)
Box 9		Asia Institute
		Associazione Italo-Americana di Sicilia
			See Hayward/Huntington/IBM Mediterranean exhibit (Box 35).
Box 9		Atlanta Art Association
Box 9		Atterbury, Grosvenor
Box 9		Auslander, Joseph and Audrey - includes typescripts of poems
Box 9		Avalos, Juan de - includes photographs of his sculpture
Box 9		A-An
Box 10		Ap-Az
Box 10		Backer, Maurice
Box 10		Bacon, Leonard - includes handwritten poem, "The Self-respecting Jaguar"
Box 10		Bailey, Vernon Howe
Box 10		Baillie, Robert A. (2 folders)
			See also Brookgreen Gardens: General (Boxes 11-13).
Box 10		Barnard, George Grey
Box 10		Baldwin, Bob, Mr. and Mrs.
Box 10		Barlow, Samuel
Box 10		Barnard College
Box 10		Barnard, George Grey
Box 10		Barnard, Monroe Grey
Box 10		Barto, Emily - includes typescript of poem, "The Wreck of the Emily Baxter"
Box 10		Baruch, Bernard M.
Box 10		Batista, Fulgencio
Box 10		Beach, Chester
Box 10		Beaux, Cecilia
Box 10		Beebe, William
			See also New York Zoological Society (Box 49).
Box 10		Bell, Aubrey FitzGerald
Box 10		Bell, Enid
Box 10		Benet-Espuny, Jose
			See also Memorabilia: Miscellaneous: Benet-Espuny, Jose (Oversize 3) for his original sketch of Stanerigg.
Box 10		Benlliure, Mariano
Box 10		Berenson, Bernard and Mary
Box 10		Bernheim, Isaac Wolfe
Box 10		Berry, Rose V.S.
Box 10		Bertolli, Jean Tamburine
		Billingsley, Logan
			See National Hall of Fame for Famous American Indians (Box 48).
Box 10		Bingham, Hiram - includes photographs of Bingham at Macchu Picchu
Box 10		Birth, May E.
Box 10		Blaine, Joan G.
Box 10		Blair, — (Dr.)
Box 10		Blair, Henry W. (2 folders)
Box 10		Blasco-Ibanez, Vicente
Box 10		Blashfield, Edwin Howland
Box 11		Bliss, Charles M.
Box 11		Bliss, Robert Woods
Box 11		Blois, City of ("Diana")
Box 11		[A.J.] Blosveren's Lamp Shop
		Blueprints
Box 11			Bus (for dogs)
Oversize 1			Columbia Museum and Arts Center Sculpture Garden
Box 11			El Cid plate
Oversize 18			Fighting Stallions site, Southwest Texas State Teachers College
Oversize 18			Huntington house, Redding, CT
Box 11			Joan of Arc base
Box 11			Kirtsis Park, Lincoln City, Oregon
Box 11			Marti statue, base
Box 11			Marti statue, New York City
Oversize 18			Marti statue site
Box 11			Raquette Lake
Box 11			St. Gauden Galleries
Box 11			Savings Bank of Danbury (Connecticut)
Box 11		Boal, Sara and Arthur
Box 11		Boardman, Nell
		Boas, Franz
			See American Museum of Natural History (Box 8).
Box 11		Boehmer, Margaret Huntington
Box 11		Bohland, Gustav
Box 11		Bohnert, Herbert, Rosetta, and Mrs. William B.
Box 11		Bonsor, George F.
Box 11		Book of Knowledge Annual
Box 11		Borglum, Gutzon
Box 11		Borglum, Solon
Box 11		Bori, Lucrezia
Box 11		Boros, Billi
Box 11		Boulton, Joseph - includes photo of his work
Box 11		Bowman, Isaiah - includes photograph
			See also American Geographical Society (Box 8).
Box 11		Bransom, Paul
Box 11		Bregler, Charles
Box 11		Brehm, James and Leslie
Box 11		Briggs, Frederic R.
Box 11		Brinckerhoff, A. F.
Box 11		Brinton, Christian
Box 11		Briscoe, Howard R.
		Brockwell, Maurice Walter
			See Henry E. Huntington Library and Art Gallery (Box 38).
		Brookgreen Gardens
			General
				See also Baillie, Robert A. (Box 10).
Box 11				1929-1939 (2 folders)
Box 12				1940-1956 (14 folders)
Box 13				1957-1968 (6 folders)
Box 13				Undated
			Activity reports
Box 13				1959-1968 (4 folders)
Box 14				1969-1973
Box 14			Annual reports
Box 14			Articles about
			Bank statements
Box 14				Bank of New York
Box 14				Guaranty Trust
Box 14				J.P. Morgan and Co.
Box 14				Morgan Guaranty Trust
Box 14				South Carolina National Bank
Box 14			Blueprints
Box 14			Bylaws
Box 14			Cash statements
Box 14			Clippings
Box 14			Deed to No. 1 E. 89th
Box 14			Financial statements 1964, 1965
Box 14			Inventories
			Legal and financial files
				See Legal and financial files: Brookgreen (Box 61).
Box 14			List of publications
Box 14			Maps
Box 14			Memorial resolution re: Archer Milton Huntington
			Minutes
Box 14				1944, 1945, 1947
Box 14				1956-1959
Box 15				1960-1967
			Photographs
				See: Memorabilia: Scrapbooks: Unidentified photos (possibly Brookgreen?) (Oversize 4) Photographs: Family property: Atalaya (Box 97) Photographs: Family property: Brookgreen Gardens (Box 98)
Box 15			Poems about
Box 15			Publications
Box 15			Real estate booklet
Box 15			Weekly reports
Box 15			Miscellaneous
Oversize 2			Miscellaneous oversize
Box 15		Brown, Barrett
Box 15		Brown, Henry Collins
Box 15		Brown, Sophie
Box 15		Buba, Joy Flinsch
Box 15		Buiza, D. Luis Toro
Box 15		Bull, Henry D.
		Bulloch, Hugh and Marie
			See Academy of American Poets (Box 7).
		Bumpus, Hermon Carey
			See American Museum of Natural History (Box 8).
Box 15		Burgos (Spain)
Box 15		Burke, Marie Louise
Box 15		Burlingame, Sheila
Box 15		Burnham, Lee
Box 15		Burns, Virginia
		Burr Artists
			See Lee, Eleanor Gay (Box 42).
Box 15		Burr Galleries
		Burton, E. Milby
			See Charleston Museum (Box 16).
Box 15		Bush, Prescott
Box 15		Bushee, Alice Huntington
Box 15		Butler, Nicholas Murray 1921-1947 (2 folders)
Box 15		Ba-Be
Box 16		Bi-By
Box 16		Calder, A. Stirling
Box 16		California Palace of the Legion of Honor (San Francisco, Calif.)
Box 16		Cantwell, Ida and Lee
Box 16		Cardenas, Juan Francisco de
Box 16		Carnegie Institute
Box 16		Carolina Art Association
			See also Mechlin, Leila (Box 46).
Box 16		Carpenter, Dolly
Box 16		Carr, Ray M. - includes original poem about AHH
Box 16		Carr, Sally Swan
Box 16		Carrizo, Juan Alfonso
		Carter, Clara
			See Coad, Clara Carter Hyatt (Box 16).
Box 16		Carter, Granville W.
Box 16		Caskel, Warner
Box 16		Cassidy, Appolonia H.
Box 16		Castro, Hector David
Box 16		Caswell, Edward C.
Box 16		Caturla, Maria Luisa
Box 16		Caveney, Catherine
Box 16		Cecere, Gaetano
Box 16		Century Association
Box 16		Chamber of Commerce (New York)
Box 16		Chapin, Cornelia Van A.
Box 16		Charleston Museum
Box 16		Chase, Adelaide (Mrs. William Chester)
Box 16		Chatham College (Pittsburgh, Penn.)
Box 16		Cheney, Charles Henry
Box 16		Chew, Benjamin
Box 16		Choate, Nathaniel
Box 16		Christ Church Parish
Box 16		City Club of New York
Box 16		Clark, Bayard
Box 16		Clark, Charles Upson
Box 16		Clark, James Lippitt
Box 16		Clark University (Worcester, Mass.)
Box 16		Clasgens, Emma (sister of Frederic Clasgens)
Box 16		Clearwater Art Museum
Box 16		Clement, Jean H.
Box 16		Clews, Marie (Mrs. Henry) - includes photograph of Henry Clews
Box 16		Close, Marjorie
Box 16		Coad, Clara Carter Hyatt - AHH's sister-in-law, Alpheus III's widow; remarried J. Allan Coad
Box 17		Code, Marion
Box 17		Coker, David R. and May
Box 17		Colamussi, Fabrizio
Box 17		Colby College
Box 17		Cole, Thomas Carilear
Box 17		Cole, Timothy
Box 17		Collins, Godfrey
Box 17		Columbia College
Box 17		Columbia Museum of Art
Box 17		Columbia University
			See also Butler, Nicholas Murray (Box 15).
Box 17		Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station
Box 17		Connecticut Park and Forest Commission
Box 17		Connecticut Republican Finance Committee
Box 17		Connecticut State Police
Box 17		Connell, Lizzie
Box 17		Conrow, Wilford S.
Box 17		Conway, Francis M. - includes photograph of Conway family
		Cook, Doris
Box 17			"Woman Sculptor Anna Hyatt Huntington" - manuscript and photos
Box 17			Research material
Box 17		Cook, Edmund D.
		Cook, Katherine Mayor
			See Townsend, Katherine Mayor Cook (Box 55)
Box 17		Cook, Peggy and Ernest
Box 17		Cook, Ridgeley W. and Carol
Box 17		Cook, Walter W. S.
Box 17		Cooke, Julia
		Coolidge, John
			See Fogg Art Museum (Box 32).
Box 17		Cooper-Pritchard, A.H.
Box 17		Corcoran Gallery of Art
Box 17		[Brother] Cornelius
Box 17		Cornell University
Box 17		Corning, H. K.
Box 17		Cortissoz, Royal
Box 17		Cosgrave, John O'Hara
Box 17		Cosmopolitan Club
		Costarelli, Emilie Conger
			See Hayward/Huntington/IBM Mediterranean exhibit (Box 35).
		Council of American Artist Societies
			See Reilly, Frank (Box 52).
Box 17		Cram, Ralph Adams
Box 17		Cresson, Margaret French
		Cross, W. Redmond
			See American Geographical Society (Box 8) and New York Zoological Society (Box 49).
Box 18		Cross, Wilbur L.
Box 18		Cruikshank, Helen
Box 18		Cruset, Sebastian
Box 18		Cuba
Box 18		Cummer Gallery of Art (Jacksonville, Fla.)
Box 18		Cummings, Ida
Box 18		Curran, Charles C.
Box 18		C (2 folders)
Box 18		Daingerfield, Marjorie
Box 18		Dall, Charles Whitney
Box 18		Damrosch, Walter
Box 18		Danbury Hospital
Box 18		Danbury Scott-Fanton Museum and Historical Society, Inc.
Box 18		Dario, Ruben - includes typescript of essy, "Ruben Dario in New York"
Box 18		Daughters of the American Revolution
Box 18		Davies, Monica Borglum (daughter of Solon)
Box 18		Davila, Carlos and Mrs. (Frances Adams)
Box 18		Davis, Bette - clippings about her as nude model for "Young Diana"
		Davis, Wendell
			See Brookgreen Gardens: General (Boxes 11-13).
Box 18		Dayton Art Institute
Box 18		Decker, Benton Weaver
Box 18		De Kalb, Courtenay and Frances
		Deerhounds
Box 19			American Kennel Club
Box 19			Articles and clippings
			Awards
Box 19				1930, 1935-1939 (7 folders)
Box 20				1939-1940 (4 folders)
Box 21				1940-1942 (5 folders)
Box 22				1941-1944, 1946-1949 (8 folders)
Box 23				1950-1952 (6 folders)
Box 24				1953-1955 (4 folders)
Box 24				Undated
Box 24			Calendars
Box 25			Correspondence 1936-1963, undated
				See also Hartley, Norah (Box 34).
Box 25			Deerhound Club of America
			"Deerhounds in History" project
Box 25				Clippings
Box 25				Photographs (2 folders)
Box 25			Excerpts about dogs
Box 26			Excerpts about dogs (6 folders)
Box 26			Maps to Stanerigg
Box 27			Prints (of Stanerigg dogs) (13 packages)
Box 27			Publicity - clippings, articles, advertisements for Stanerigg
			Records
Box 27				American Kennel Club
Box 28				Championships
Box 28				Individual dogs
Box 28				Lists of dogs
Box 28				Lists of dogs sold
Box 28				Lists of dogs sold [??]
Box 28				Litters
Box 28				Shows (3 folders)
Box 28				Studs and matrons
Box 29				Miscellaneous
Box 29			"Rod, Beloved Dog, Dies"
Box 29			Scottish Deerhound Club of America
			Scrapbooks
Box 29				Clippings and photos (2 folders)
Box 29				Photos of Stanerigg dogs
Box 30				Photos of Stanerigg dogs
Box 30			Show bulletins
			Stanerigg Kennels
				See: Memorabilia: Scrapbooks: Stanerigg (Box 83) Photographs: Family property: Stanerigg (Box 98) Photographs: Family property: Stanerigg[?] (Oversize 1)
			Weese, C. Nelson
				See Scottish Deerhound Club of America (Box 29)
Box 30			"Why I chose deerhounds" by AHH
Box 30			Miscellaneous - clippings, mostly about dog health; misc printed material
Box 31		Delano, William Adams
Box 31		De Lue, Donald
Box 31		Demarest, Eda Lord
Box 31		De Milhau, Zella
Box 31		Deming, William Champion - includes photograph
Box 31		Denby, Elizabeth R. (Mrs. Edwin)
Box 31		Derujinsky, Gleb W.
Box 31		DeVinne Press
Box 31		Dewey, John
Box 31		Dewey, Thomas E.
Box 31		M.H. De Young Memorial Museum
Box 31		Dielman, Ernest - includes original of poem used at Brookgreen Gardens
Box 31		Dietsch, Clarence Percival
Box 31		Dillon, Philip R.
		Dmitri, Ivan
			See West, Levon (Box 57).
		Dodd, Loring Holmes
			See Clark University (Box 16).
Box 31		Doerr, Harriet
Box 31		Dole, Margaret Fernald
		Dondero, George A.
			See United States Congress (Box 56).
Box 31		Downey, Fairfax
Box 31		Doyle, Henry Grattan
Box 31		Doyle, Joseph A.
Box 31		Drake, Francis A.
Box 31		Dreher High School
Box 31		Dreier, Katherine S.
Box 31		Drew, Dorothy
			See also Research and Security Corporation (Box 52).
		Dufek, George
			See Mariner's Museum: Minutes (Box 44).
		Duke of Alba
			See Alba, Jacobo Stuart Fitz-James y Falco, ducque de (Box 7).
Box 31		Dunwiddie, Charlotte
Box 31		Durant, William West
Box 31		Duveen, Joseph
Box 31		D
Box 31		Eames, Emma
Box 31		East Carolina College (Greenville, North Carolina)
Box 31		Eberle, Abastenia St. Leger
Box 31		Education Information, Inc.
Box 31		Egler, Frank E.
Box 31		Eisenhower, Dwight D.
			See also Photographs: People: Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Oversize 1).
Box 31		Eldredge, Charles
Box 31		Eliscu, Frank
Box 31		Engel, Arthur
Box 31		Erwin, Ellen
Box 31		Escandon y Barron, Jose Manuel, marquis de Villavieja
Box 31		Espina, Concha
		Evans, Cerinda W. - photograph only
			See also Mariners' Museum: General (Box 43) for her correspondence.
Box 31		Evans, Rudolph
Box 32		Evansville Museum of Art and Science (Evansville, Ind.)
Box 32		E
Box 32		Fairbanks, Avard
Box 32		Farrar, John
Box 32		Federal Art Project
Box 32		Fenwick-Wilson, May [Mary?]
Box 32		Ferguson, Elise (Mrs. Homer)
		Ferguson, Homer L.
			See Mariners' Museum: General (Box 43) and Newport News Shipbuilding and Dry Dock Company (Box 49).
Box 32		Ficken, Katherine Cutler
Box 32		Fields, Mitchell
Box 32		Fillay, Hubert
		Fine Arts Gallery of San Diego
			See Poland, Reginald (Box 51).
Box 32		Finkelstone, Douglas A.
Box 32		Finley, John
Box 32		Fiske, Bradley A.
Box 32		FitzGerald, John D.
Box 32		FitzHugh, Mayo McGill - includes photograph
			See also Brookgreen Gardens: General (Boxes 11-13).
Box 32		Fitzmaurice-Kelly, James
		Fleishhacker, Herbert
			See California Palace of the Legion of Honor (San Francisco) (Box 16) and M. H. De Young Memorial Museum (San Francisco, Calif.) (Box 31).
Box 32		Fleri, Joseph C.
Box 32		Flint, Charles W.
			See also Syracuse University (Box 54).
Box 32		Florence, South Carolina - proposal from town regarding a statue of Henry Timrod
Box 32		Fogg Art Museum
Box 32		Fontaine, Anne
		Forbes, Edward W.
			See Fogg Art Museum (Box 32).
Box 32		Forbes, John Ripley
Box 32		Fort Ticonderoga Museum
Box 32		Foulche-Delbosc, Isabel
Box 32		Foundation for Alcohol Education
		Fox, Beatrice
			See Griffith, Beatrice Fox (Box 34).
Box 32		Fox, John
Box 32		Fradkin, James Jay
Box 32		Franco, Francisco
Box 32		Fraser, James Earle and Laura Gardin - includes photo of Laura as a small child
Box 32		Freeman, Mary E. Wilkins
Box 32		French, Daniel Chester
Box 32		French, Frank
Box 32		Frick, Helen C.
		Friedlander, Leo
			See National Sculpture Society (Box 48).
Box 32		Frishmuth, Harriet Whitney
		Fry, Fielding Lewis
			See Brookgreen Gardens: General (Boxes 11-13).
Box 32		Fuchs, Emil
Box 33		Funck, Billy
Box 33		F
Box 33		Gallatin, Francis D.
Box 33		Gallery of Modern Art
Box 33		Garcia-Mazas, Jose and Maria Louisa - includes photographs, some of "The Torch-bearers"; typescript of essay about the Huntingtons entitled "The Spanish Saint Christopher"; see also (2 folders)
			See also Memorabilia: Miscellaneous: Garcia-Mazas (Box 86).
Box 33		Gargani & Sons Art Studios, Inc.
Box 33		Garland, Hamlin
		Garshwiler, C. O.
			See Education Information, Inc. (Box 31).
Box 33		Georgia Museum of Art
Box 33		Gil, Enrique
Box 33		Gilbert, Cass
Box 33		Gilder, Joseph B.
Box 33		Gillet, Joseph E.
		Girl Scouts of America
			See Siau, Nell (Box 53).
Box 33		Glinsky, Vincent
Box 33		Godoy, Armand
Box 33		Goebel, Julius
Box 33		Goldwater, Barry
Box 33		Gomez, Alfonso
Box 33		Gonzalez Marti, Manuel
Box 33		Gordon, Elisabeth
Box 33		Gorham Company
Box 33		Grafly, Dorothy (daughter of Charles)
Box 33		Grand Central Art Galleries
Box 33		Greeley, Samuel A.
		Green, Edward Mayo
			See Christ Church Parish (Box 16).
Box 33		Green, Irving
Box 33		Greenbie, Marjorie Latta Barstow
Box 34		Greenough, John
Box 34		Greenville County Museum of Art (Greenville, S.C.)
Box 34		Gregory, John
Box 34		Gressel, Michael L.
Box 34		Griffith, Beatrice Fox
Box 34		Grinnell, George Bird
Box 34		Griswold, Frank Gray
Box 34		Gronvold, Magnus
Box 34		Grummon, Stuart
Box 34		Gruppe, Karl H.
Box 34		Guell, Vizconde de
Box 34		Gugler, Eric
Box 34		G
Box 34		Hadzsits, George Depue
Box 34		Hagen, Sally
Box 34		Hammond, Natalie H.
Box 34		Hancock, Walker
Box 34		Hanke, Lewis
			See also Library of Congress (Box 42).
Box 34		Hapgood, George D.
Box 34		Hardin, Adlai S.
Box 34		Harrison, Henry B.
Box 34		Hartford (Conn.) Department of Parks and Recreation
Box 34		Hartford Art School (University of Hartford)
Box 34		Hartgen, Vincent A.
Box 34		Harvard University
			See also Fogg Art Museum (Box 32).
Box 34		Hart, T. Stuart
Box 34		Haseltine, Herbert
Box 34		Hartley, Norah
Box 34		Hatzfeldt, Clara and Hermann - Clara Elizabeth Huntington, adopted daughter of Collis
			See also Financial-Legal files: Hatzfeldt, Clara (Perkins) (Box 62).
Box 34		Haug, Herman
Box 34		Hay, Stuart and Maud - includes typescript of poem
Box 34		Hayward, John and Mildred
			See also Hayward/Huntington/IBM Mediterranean exhibit (Box 35).
Box 35		Hayward/Huntington/IBM Mediterranean exhibit - includes article by Emilio Costarelli
Box 35		Hazard, Abbie and Margaret - includes original cartoon, hand colored
Box 35		Hazen, Charles Downer
Box 35		Hazen, Sally (3 folders)
Box 35		Health Conservation Bureau
Box 35		Hearst, Millicent
Box 35		Heath, Howard
		Heil, Walter
			See California Palace of the Legion of Honor (San Francisco) (Box 16) and M. H. De Young Memorial Museum (San Francisco, Calif.) (Box 31).
		Heye, George G.
			See Museum of the American Indian (Box 47).
Box 35		Hiatt, Pearl Council - includes original poem about Brookgreen Gardens
Box 35		Hickory Museum of Art
		Hill, Nola (Mrs. Frederick F.)
			For Frederick F., see Mariners' Museum (Boxes 43 and 44).
		Hills, Elijah Clare
Box 35		Hindman, Albert
Box 35		Hirsch, Willard - includes photographs of artwork
Box 35		Hispanic Institute in Florida
Box 35		Hispanic Institute in the United States
		Hispanic Society of America
			General
Box 35				1920-1954
Box 36				1955-1966 (3 folders)
Box 36				Undated
Box 36			Articles and reviews
Box 36			Clippings - includes poem by Phyllis McGinley
Box 86			Commemorative medal
Box 36			Constitution, bylaws
Box 36			General staff committee reports
			Legal and financial files
				See Legal and financial files: Hispanic Society of America (Box 62).
Box 36			Lists
Box 36			Miscellaneous
Box 36			Minutes
Box 36			Photographic Archive of Hispanic Culture (proposal)
Box 36			Photographs
				See also Memorabilia: Scrapbooks: Hispanic Society (Oversize 4). Many of the photographs are of Spanish art (sculpture, paintings, etc.) not of the HSA specifically.
Box 37			Publications 1915-1963, undated (3 folders)
Box 37		Hispanic Society of Santa Barbara
		Hitchcock, Charles B.
			See American Geographical Society (Box 8).
Box 37		Hobson, Katherine Thayer
		Hodgdon, Clara Hyatt ("Clarchen") - Alpheus III's daughter
			See Kent, Clara Hyatt Hodgdon (Box 42).
Box 37		Hodgdon, Jeanne - wife of Dana Hodgdon, Alpheus III's grandson
Box 37		Hodge, Frederick W.
Box 37		Hoffman, Edward - includes draft of letter of recommendation from AHH
Box 37		Hoffman, Malvina
Box 37		Holladay, Collis H.
			See also Newport News Shipbuilding and Dry Dock Company (Box 49).
Box 37		Holladay, E. Burke (Mrs.)
Box 37		Hood, Ethel P.
Box 37		Hoover, Herbert
		Hovey, Percy L.
			See Brookgreen Gardens: General (Boxes 11-13).
Box 37		Howard, Cecil
		Howells, John Mead
			See American Academy of Arts and Letters (Boxes 7 and 8).
Box 37		Howland, Elizabeth - includes original poetry
Box 37		Hudson Valley Art Association
Box 37		Hull, Cordell
Box 37		Huntington Free Library and Reading Room
Box 37		Huntington Galleries (Huntington, W. Va.)
Box 37		Huntington, Archer Milton - from AHH
		Huntington, Clara Elizabeth - adopted daughter of Collis
			See Hatzfeldt, Clara and Hermann (Box 34).
Box 37		Huntington, Collis Potter
Box 37		Huntington, David
Box 37		Huntington, Henry E. and Arabella - Archer's mother and stepfather
Box 38		[Herny E.] Huntington Library and Art Gallery
Box 38		Hyatt, Alpheus III - AHH's brother
		Hyatt, Audella - AHH's mother; vast majority are to AHH
Box 38			1891-1910 (4 folders)
Box 39			1911-1925 (13 folders)
Box 40			1926-1932 (7 folders)
Box 41			Undated
Box 41			Unidentified [?] - AHH's mother
		Hyatt, Clara ("Clarchen") - Alpheus III's daughter
			See Kent, Clara Hyatt Hodgdon (Box 42).
		Hyatt, Clara Carter - Alpheus III's widow
			See Coad, Clara Carter Hyatt (Box 16).
		Hyatt, Harriet - AHH's sister
			See Mayor, Harriet Hyatt (Boxes 45 and 46)
Box 41		Hyde, James Hazen
Box 41		H (2 folders)
Box 41		Instituto de Cultura Hispanica
Box 41		Instituto de Valencia de Don Juan
Box 41		International Fine-Arts Council, Inc.
Box 41		International Who's Who
Box 41		Isaacson, William D.
		Italian-American Association for Sicily, Inc.
			See Hayward/Huntington/IBM Mediterranean exhibit (Box 35).
Box 41		Ivan, Gus and Martha
Box 41		Ives, Herbert E. and Mabel
			See also American Numismatic Society (Box 9).
Box 41		I
Box 41		Jacobson, Max
Box 41		Jambor, Violet (Mrs. Louis)
Box 41		Jennewein, Carl Paul
		Joan of Arc Statue Committee of the City of New York
			See Kunz, George Frederick (Box 42).
		Johansen, John C.
			See National Arts Club (Box 48).
Box 41		Johnson, Robert Underwood
Box 41		Johnson, William Templeton
Box 41		Jonas, Louis Paul
Box 41		Jones, J. Morgan
Box 41		J
Box 41		Kelsey, Muriel Chamberlin
		Kennerley, Mitchell
			See Anderson Galleries (Box 9).
Box 42		Kent, Clara Hyatt Hodgdon ("Clarchen") - Alpheus III's daughter
Box 42		Kerner, Otto
		Kilenyi, Julio
			See International Fine-Arts Council, Inc. (Box 41).
		Kimble, George H. T.
			See American Geographical Society (Box 8).
Box 42		King, Georgiana Goddard
Box 42		Krappe, Alexander Haggerty
Box 42		Kunz, George Frederick
Box 42		K
Box 42		Ladd, Anna Coleman
Box 42		Lalley, Tom and Helen
Box 42		Lamar, Lucy
Box 42		Lancaster County Historical Commission (Lancaster, S. C.)
		Lane, Katherine
			See Weems, Katherine Lane and Carrington (Box 57).
Box 42		Lascari, Salvatore
Box 42		Lathrop, Gertrude and Dorothy
Box 42		Latty, Ruth K.
Box 42		Lawrence, Helen Norbeck - includes original poetry
Box 42		Lawrie, Lee
Box 42		Leakey, Louis
Box 42		Leavitt, Sturgis E.
Box 42		Lee, Eleanor Gay
			See also: American Artists Professional League (Box 8) Burr Galleries (Box 15) Cassidy, Appolonia (Box 16) Daughters of the American Revolution (Box 18) Art files: Pickett, Grace (Box 3).
Box 42		Leon, Walter
Box 42		Letsch, Dorothy - includes original poem about "Sybil Ludington's Ride," read at dedication
Box 42		Lever, Hardman ("Sam") and Edythe
Box 42		Lewis, Mary (Mrs. Edward)
Box 42		Library of Congress
			See also Putnam, Herbert (Box 51).
Box 42		Library of Suppressed Facts and Controversial Opinions
Box 42		Lie, Jonas
		Light, Richard U.
			See American Geographical Society (Box 8).
Box 42		Ligon, Maurine
Box 42		Lincoln City (Oregon)
			See also Greenbie, Marjorie Latta Barstow (Box 33).
		Lists
Box 42			Institutions
Box 42			Mailing
Box 42			People
Box 42			Miscellaneous
		Litchfield Hills Audobon Society
			See Egler, Frank E. (Box 31).
Box 42		Lober, Georg
Box 42		Lockman, De Witt M.
			See also Photographs: Artwork by others: Lockman, DeWitt M. (Oversize 1)
Box 42		Lodge, John Davis
Box 42		London Library
Box 43		Long, Georgia
Box 43		Louderback, Walt
Box 43		Loughrey, Hylda
Box 43		L
Box 43		Mackay, Clarence Hungerford
Box 43		MacLeish, Archibald
Box 43		MacLeod, Yan
Box 43		MacNeil, Hermon Atkins
Box 43		Mallory, Clifford D. and Rebecca
Box 43		Manca, Albino
Box 43		Mann, Julie Manierre
Box 43		Manship, Paul and Isabel - includes pictures of his sculpture (photocopies)
Box 43		Mapother, Edith Rubel - includes photographs
		Maps
Box 43			Blue Mountain Lake, Township 34, New York 1899
Box 43			Harwinton (Connecticut)
Box 43			Messina (Italy), Raccordi Ferroviari [Railway Connections]
Box 43			Newcomb Quadrangle (New York) 1869
Box 43			Pacific Ocean 1936
Box 43			Raquette Lake (New York) - hand-drawn and hand-colored
Box 43		Marans, Moissaye
		Margaret Brent Fellowship
			See Greenbie, Marjorie Latta Barstow (Box 33).
Box 43		Marine Historical Association, Inc.
			See also Mallory, Clifford D. and Rebecca (Box 43).
		Mariners' Museum (Newport News, Va.)
Box 43			General 1931-1957, undated (3 folders)
Box 44			Attendance and progress reports
Box 44			Bank statements
Box 44			Charts and pictures
Box 44			Minutes
Box 44			Photographs (3 folders)
Box 44			Presidential reports
			Printed material
Box 44				Articles
Box 44				Clippings
Box 44			Trust
Box 44			Miscellaneous
Box 44		Markham, Edwin
Box 44		Marshall, Caroline Clark - includes typescripts of two poems
Box 44		Marshall, Ernest M. - includes typescript of poem, "The Whaler"
Box 44		Massip, Jose Maria y Ramon
Box 44		Mather, Frank Jewett
Box 44		Mattatuck Historical Society
Box 44		Maurin, Joaquin
Box 44		Mayne, Elizabeth
Box 44		Mayor, A. Hyatt and Virginia (Sluder), son Alfred - AHH's nephew and his wife
Box 44		Mayer, Alfred Goldsborough - AHH's brother-in-law, Harriet Hyatt Mayor's husband
		Mayor, Barbara - AHH's niece
			See Money, Barbara Mayor (Box 46).
Box 45		Mayor, Brantz and Ana Maria; children Maria and "O.E." (Archer Huntington Mayor) 1946-1967, undated - AHH's nephew and his second wife
Box 45		Mayor, Brantz and Evelyn; daughter Susie 1928-1946 - AHH's nephew and his first wife
		Mayor, Harriet Hyatt (Mrs. Alfred Goldsborough) - AHH's sister
Box 45			1901-1932, 1936-1952 (6 folders)
Box 46			1953-1955, 1961, undated (2 folders)
		Mayor, Katharine - AHH's niece
			See Townsend, Katherine Mayor Cook (Box 55).
Box 46		Mayor, Michael and Lili - Brantz and Evelyn's son and daughter-in-law
		Mazas family
			See Garcia-Mazas, Jose and Maria Louisa (Box 33).
Box 46		McAlister, A.W. - includes original poem
Box 46		McCartan, Edward
Box 46		McCormick-Goodharte, Leander and Nita
Box 46		McFarland, Russell M.
Box 46		McKenzie, Robert Tait
Box 46		McKinnon, Annie
Box 46		McLean, Ethel
Box 46		McMahon, Leonard
Box 46		Mead, Margaret
Box 46		Mechlin, Leila
Box 46		Medallic Art Company
Box 46		Medical College of Virginia (Richmond, Va.)
Box 46		Mellon, Eleanor M. - includes photo of her sculpture
Box 46		Mencia, Armando
Box 46		Menconi, Ralph J.
Box 46		Metropolitan Museum of Art
Box 46		Meylan, Paul J.
Box 46		Le Mérite National Francais
Box 46		Mezquita, Lopez
		Mid-Fairfield County Youth Museum
			See Forbes, John Ripley (Box 32).
		Miles, George C.
			See American Numismatic Society (Box 9).
Box 46		Millar, Donal - includes original poem
Box 46		Millard, Anita
Box 46		Millikan, Robert A.
Box 46		Milton Academy
Box 46		Minor, Charles
Box 46		Money, Barbara Mayor - AHH's niece
Box 47		Monjo, Enrique
Box 47		Montana, Pietro
Box 47		Moore, Austin T. - includes photograph
Box 47		Moore, John Bassett
Box 47		Moore-Anderson, Nora - includes photographs; letters from England during World War II
Box 47		Morgan, J. Pierpont
Box 47		Morgan, Sherley W.
Box 47		Morrison, Bill
Box 47		Morton, Benjamin
Box 47		Morton, Christina
Box 47		Mosier, Helen (Mrs. W.B.)
			See also Brookgreen Gardens: General (Boxes 11-13).
		Mount Rushmore National Memorial Commission
			See Borglum, Gutzon (Box 11).
		Museo Sorolla
			See Sorolla, Joaquin (Box 54).
Box 47		Museum of the American Indian
Box 47		Museum of Art, Science & Industry (Bridgeport, Conn.)
Box 47		Museum of Fine Arts (St. Petersburg, Fla.)
Box 47		Museum of the City of New York
		Museums of the Peaceful Arts
			See Kunz, George Frederick (Box 42.)
Box 47		Myers, George Hewitt
Box 47		Myrtle Beach Air Force Base
		Mystic Seaport
			See Marine Historical Association, Inc. (Box 43).
Box 47		M (2 folders)
Box 47		Nadelman, Elie
Box 48		National Academy of Design
Box 48		National Art Museum of Sport Inc.
Box 48		National Arts Club
Box 48		National Arts Foundation
Box 48		National Battlefields Commission (Quebec)
		National Foundation for Junior Museums
			See Forbes, John Ripley (Box 32).
Box 48		National Hall of Fame for Famous American Indians
Box 48		National Institute of Arts and Letters
			See also Butler, Nicholas Murray (Box 15) and Train, Arthur (Box 56).
Box 48		National Sculpture Society - includes photograph of 75th anniversary medal (Lo Medico and Grigor)
Box 48		National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception
		National Woman's Party
			See Greenbie, Marjorie Latta Barstow (Box 33).
		Natural Science for Youth Foundation
			See Forbes, John Ripley (Box 32).
Box 48		Nebel, Berthold and Erwin
Box 48		Nelson, Jack Jerry - includes original artwork, photographs
Box 48		Nevill, Richard (Lord)
Box 48		Neville Public Museum (Green Bay, Wis.)
Box 48		New Jersey State Museum
Box 48		New York (City)
Box 48		New York (State)
Box 48		New York Botanical Gardens
Box 48		New York Department of Parks - re Marti statue
Box 49		New-York Historical Society
Box 49		New York, New Haven, and Hartford Railroad Company
Box 49		New York Numismatic Club
		New York State College of Forestry at Syracuse University
			See Syracuse University (Box 54).
Box 49		New York State Teachers College, Cortland
Box 49		New York-Tokyo Sister-City Affiliation
Box 49		New York University
Box 49		New York Yacht Club
Box 49		New York Zoological Society
		Newell, Edward T.
			See American Numismatic Society (Box 9).
Box 49		Newman, Paul
Box 49		Newport News Land Corporation
Box 49		Newport News Shipbuilding and Dry Dock Company (2 folders)
		Nichols, Hobart
			See National Academy of Design (Box 48).
Box 49		Nickerson, Ruth
Box 49		Niehaus, Marie J. (daughter of Charles Henry Niehaus)
Box 49		Noe, Bessie Wherry
Box 49		Noel, John Vavasour
Box 49		Norfolk Museum
Box 49		Norris, Henry
Box 49		Northwestern University
Box 49		Norton, Elizabeth - includes original art
Box 49		Norton, Nancy R. - includes original art, poetry
Box 49		Nye, Frank W.
Box 49		Nykl, A. R.
Box 49		N
Box 50		Old Dartmouth Historical Society
Box 50		Oppenheim, Max Freiherr von
		Organization of American States
			See Pan American Union (Box 50).
		Osborn, Fairfield
			See New York Zoological Society (Box 49).
		Osborn, Henry Fairfield
			See American Museum of Natural History (Box 8).
Box 50		Oursler, Grace (Mrs. Fulton)
Box 50		O
Box 50		Packman, Arthur
Box 50		Paddock, Josephine
Box 50		Paeff, Bashka
Box 50		Palisades Interstate Park Commission
Box 50		Palmer, Courtlandt
Box 50		[General William Jackson] Palmer Memorial Association (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Box 50		Pan American Society
Box 50		Pan American Union
Box 50		Park, Madeleine
		Parker, William Belmont
			See Hispanic Society of America (Boxes 35-37).
Box 50		Parrish Art Museum
Box 50		Paxton, Elizabeth O.
Box 50		Peers, E. Allison
Box 50		Peixotto, George
Box 50		Pell, Stephen H. P. and Sarah
			See also Fort Ticonderoga Museum (Box 32).
Box 50		Pellowe, Edward - letter and newspaper clippings about Huntington
			Gift of Kiersten Gawronski, 2021
Box 50		Peninsula Chamber of Commerce
Box 50		Pennell, Joseph
Box 50		Penney, Clara
Box 50		Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts
Box 50		Perkins, Abbie M. 1923-1959, undated - includes photograph (2 folders)
Box 50		Perkins, Clara Leonora Huntington - Henry E. Huntington's daughter
Box 50		Perry, George C.
Box 50		Pershing, John J.
Box 50		Phelps, William Lyon
Box 50		Phoenix Art Museum
		Pickett, Grace
			See Art files: Picket, Grace E. (Box 3).
Box 51		Pierpont Morgan Library
Box 51		Pijoan, Joseph
Box 51		Pippenger, Robert
Box 51		Plimpton, Edith H. - includes photographs
Box 51		Poland, Reginald
			See also Atlanta Art Association (Box 9).
Box 51		Polašek, Albin
Box 51		Pollock, John
Box 51		Pomeroy, Lucy
		Pope, Arthur Upham
			See Asia Institute (Box 9).
Box 51		Pope, John Russell
Box 51		Porter, John and Marie
Box 51		Potter, J. B.
Box 51		Prezzi, Wilma
Box 51		Price, Frederic Newlin
Box 51		Price, Henry Brooks
Box 51		Prince, J. Dyneley and Addie
Box 51		Purdue, Maude E.
Box 51		Putnam, Brenda - includes original art, sketches
Box 51		Putnam, Herbert
Box 51		P
Box 51		Quattlesaum, Paul
Box 51		Queen's College (2 folders)
Box 52		Quesada y Miranda, Gonzalo de
Box 52		Racine Art Association
Box 52		Randall-MacIver, David
Box 52		Real Academia de Belles Artes de San Jorge
Box 52		Red Cross, National
Box 52		Red Cross, Sunset Hill
Box 52		Regional Museum of Spartanburg County, South Carolina
Box 52		Reid, Charles Gordon
Box 52		Reilly, Frank
Box 52		Research and Security Corporation
		Riano, Juan
			See Spanish Embassy (Box 54).
Box 52		Rice, Alexander Hamilton
Box 52		Richard, Betti
Box 52		Rivera, Diego
Box 52		Robertson, William Spence
Box 52		Robinson, Corinne Roosevelt
Box 52		Robinson, Edwin Arlington
Box 52		Rochovansky, John
Box 52		Rockefeller, John D.
Box 52		Rodriguez Marin, Francisco
Box 52		Roller, Marion Bender
Box 52		Romero, Cesar
Box 52		Roosevelt, Eleanor
Box 52		Rose, Edward Douglas and Susan - includes photograph
Box 52		Ross, Walter G.
Box 52		Royere, Jean
			See also Printed material: Books: About AHH: Royere, Jean / Le Musicisme Sculptural (Box 104) and Writings of others: Royere, Jean (Box 121).
Box 52		Rudin, Paul
Box 52		Rushmore, Arthur
Box 52		Rutledge, Archibald
Box 52		R (2 folders)
Box 53		Sabatini, Raphael
Box 53		Saginaw Museum
Box 53		St. Augustine (Fla.) ("Queen Isabella")
Box 53		St. Gaudens Memorial
Box 53		St. John's Riverside Hospital (Yonkers, N.Y.)
Box 53		Saltus, J. Sanford
Box 53		Sanchez Canton, Francisco Javier
Box 53		Sanchez-Toda, Jose Luis
Box 53		[Birgen] Sandzen Memorial Gallery (Lindsborg, Kansas)
Box 53		Sanford, Edward Field
Box 53		Sarton, George
Box 53		Satterlee, Herbert L.
Box 53		Schaub-Koch, Emile 1930-1939, 1944-1965, undated - includes photographs in last folder (6 folders)
			See also Printed material: Books about AHH (Box 104) and Writings (by others): Schaub-Koch, Emile (Boxes 121 and 122)
Box 53		Schmidt, I. W.
Box 53		Schomberg, Bertram
Box 53		Schroeder, H. L.
Box 53		Scott, Harry Burgoyne and Julia - includes photographs
		Scottish Deerhound Club of America
			See Deerhounds: Scottish Deerhound Club of America (Box 29)/
Box 53		Scudder, Janet
Box 53		Sears, Philip S.
Box 53		Sheldon, Jennie A. (Mrs. George)
Box 53		Sherrill, Charles Hitchcock
Box 53		Shrady, Frederick Charles
Box 53		Siau, Nell
Box 53		Sigma Delta Pi
		Smith, Carleton
			See National Arts Foundation (Box 48).
Box 53		Smith, Ismael
Box 53		Smith, Martha (Mrs. J. Yeardley) - Harriet Hyatt Mayor's granddaughter
Box 53		Smith, Robinson
Box 53		Smithsonian Institution
		Snider, Helen
			See Hayward/Huntington/IBM Mediterranean exhibit (Box 35).
Box 53		Society of Animal Artists
Box 54		Society of Medallists
Box 54		Sorolla, Joaquin
Box 54		South Carolina State Commission of Forestry
		Southwest Museum
			See Hodge, Frederick W. (Box 37).
Box 54		Southwest Texas State Teachers College
Box 54		Spaeth, Carola
Box 54		Spanish Consulate
Box 54		Spanish Embassy
Box 54		Spanish Institute, Inc.
Box 54		Spalding, Keith
Box 54		Speyer, James
Box 54		Spicer-Simpson, Theodore (Mrs.)
Box 54		Sportfolio
Box 54		Spreckels, Alma de Bretteville
Box 54		Springweiler, Erwin
Box 54		Squillini, Joseph
Box 54		Stanerigg Farm (2 folders)
		Stanerigg Kennels
			See Deerhounds (Boxes 19-30)
Box 54		Stanfield, Marion Baar
Box 54		Starkweather, William
		Steele High School Alumni Association
			See Dayton Art Institute (Box 18).
Box 54		Sterner, Albert
Box 54		Stettinius, Joseph
Box 54		Stevens Institute of Technology (Hoboken, N.J.)
Box 54		Stevenson, Edward Luther
Box 54		Stewart, Marie
Box 54		Stick, Frank
Box 54		Stokes, Frank Wilbert
Box 54		Stucki, M.
Box 54		Students
Box 54		Swarz, Sahl
Box 54		[Sheldon] Swope Art Gallery
Box 54		Sympathy telegrams (copies) - re death of Archer Milton Huntington
Box 54		Syracuse University - includes handwritten text of speech
Box 55		S (2 folders)
Box 55		Tams & King
		Tarbox, F. G. and Gurdon L. (son)
			See Brookgreen Gardens: General (Boxes 11-13).
Box 55		Taulbee, Dan - includes original art, numerous illustrated letters and cards
		Textile Museum
			See Myers, George Hewitt (Box 47).
Box 55		Thiessen, Alice
Box 55		Thomas, Henry
Box 55		Tinker, Edward Larocque
Box 55		Tittle, Walter
Box 55		Townsend, Emily
Box 55		Townsend, Katherine Mayor Cook and C. Blake - AHH's niece and her husband
Box 55		Townsend, Lawrence ("Laurie")
		Townsend, Natalie (Mrs. Lawrence)
Box 55			1932-1959
Box 56			Undated - includes photographs
Box 56		Train, Arthur
Box 56		Travers Detective Agency
Box 56		Troubetzkoy, Pierre
Box 56		Trowbridge, Alexander B.
Box 56		Turnure, Percy R.
		Tweed, Harrison
			See Fogg Art Museum (Box 32).
Box 56		T
Box 56		Union de Mujeres Americanas, Inc.
Box 56		United States Congress
Box 56		United States Department of State
Box 56		United States Treasury Department
Box 56		University of Bridgeport
Box 56		University of North Carolina
Box 56		University of South Carolina
			See also Memorabilia: Miscellaneous: University of South Carolina (Oversize 2).
Box 56		University of Texas
Box 56		U
Box 56		Van Dyke, Henry
Box 56		Van Kirk, Florence M. P.
Box 56		Van Pelt, John V.
		Vanamee, Grace D. (Mrs. William)
			See American Academy of Arts and Letters (Boxes 7 and 8).
Box 56		Vanderbilt, Harold S.
Box 56		Vega-Inclan, Benigno
Box 56		Viladrich, Miguel
Box 56		Vinal, Harold
Box 56		Virginia Museum of Fine Arts
		Vivekananda, Swami
			See Burke, Marie Louise (Box 15).
		Voices
			See Vinal, Harold (Box 56).
Box 56		Vonnoh, Robert William (Mrs.)
Box 56		Vose, Robert C.
Box 56		Vozech, Anthony
Box 56		V
Box 56		Wacksmuth, Henry
Box 56		Waddell, Maude
Box 57		Wadsworth Atheneum (Hartford, Conn.)
Box 57		Wallace, Grace - includes original poetry
Box 57		Warren, E. "Witty" - includes original poetry
Box 57		Washington Cathedral
Box 57		Washington County Museum of Fine Arts (Hagerstown, Md.)
Box 57		Watrous, Harry W.
Box 57		Watson, Dudley Crafts
Box 57		Watts, Harriet Mayor
		Waxman, Samuel M. and Bashka
			See Paeff, Bashka (Box 50).
Box 57		Weems, Katherine Lane and Carrington
			See also Brookgreen Gardens: General (Boxes 11-13) and Photographs: Artwork by others: Lane, Katherine (Box 93).
Box 57		Weill, Erna
Box 57		Wein, Albert W.
Box 57		Weinman, Adolph Alexander
Box 57		Weinman, Robert A.
Box 57		Wellesley College
Box 57		Werboff, Michael
Box 57		Wesley, — - includes original poetry
Box 57		West, Levon
		West, Louis Caulton
			See American Numismatic Society (Box 9).
Box 57		Wheeler, George B.
Box 57		Whitaker, Frederic - includes typescript, "The Supreme Test of Civilization"
Box 57		White Motor Company
Box 57		Whitelaw, Robert N. S.
			See Mechlin, Leila (Box 46).
		Whitener, Paul W.
			See Hickory Museum of Art (Box 35).
Box 57		Whitmore, Frederick - includes original poetry
Box 57		Who's Who in America
Box 57		Wiley, Louis
Box 57		Williams, Roger (Captain)
			See also: Hispanic Society of America (Boxes 35-37) Mariners' Museum (Newport News, Va.) (Boxes 43 and 44) Newport News Shipbuilding and Dry Dock Company (Box 49)
Box 57		Williams, Wheeler
Box 57		Wilson, [D.P.?]
Box 57		Wilson, Edith Huntington
Box 57		Wines, James N.
Box 57		Winkelman, [E.?]
		Wissler, Clark
			See American Museum of Natural History (Box 8).
Box 57		Woodlawn Cemetery
Box 57		Woodruff, Timothy L.
		Work Projects Administration Federal Art Project
			See Federal Art Project (Box 32).
Box 57		Worth, Karen
Box 57		Wotring, Sara A.
Box 57		Wright, Edward Hyatt
Box 57		Wright, Frank Cookman
Box 57		Wright, John K.
			See also American Geographical Society (Box 8).
		Wykeham-George, Parker
			See Hispanic Society of America (Boxes 35-37).
Box 58		W (2 folders)
Box 58		Yale Club
Box 58		Yale University
Box 58		Yarrington family - Archer's mother's family
Box 58		Young, Lewis Ludington
Box 58		Y
		Zabriskie, George A.
			See New-York Historical Society (Box 49).
Box 58		Zendegui, Guillermo de
Box 58		Zimmerman, Marie
Box 58		Zubiaurre, Valentin de
Box 58		Zuloaga, Ignacio
Box 58		Z
		Unidentified letters
Box 58			Family
Box 58			No last name
Box 58			No name
Box 59		Miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 59		Correspondence records, A-Z (6 folders)

	Financial-legal files
		Bank statements
Box 60			Bank of New York 1940, 1942, 1945-1948, 1951, 1953-1956, 1960-1964 (3 folders)
Box 60			Bridgeport City Trust 1956
Box 60			City National Bank and Trust of Danbury [Conn.] 1952, 1956, 1957
Box 60			Connecticut Bank and Trust 1956, 1957, 1962-1966
Box 60			Guaranty Trust Company of New York 1947-1957, 1959 (2 folders)
Box 60			Hanover Bank 1952-1953, 1955-1962
Box 60			Hartford National Bank 1964
Box 60			Manufacturer's Hanover Trust 1963-1964
Box 60			J.P. Morgan Company 1955-1958 (4 folders)
Box 61			J.P. Morgan Company 1959
Box 61			Morgan Guaranty Trust Company 1959-1966 (7 folders)
Box 61			State Planters Bank of Commerce and Trusts 1961-1963
Box 61			Union and New Haven Trust Company 1954
Box 61		Brookgreen
Box 62		Hatzfeldt, Clara (Perkins)
Box 62		Hispanic Society of America 1957, 1958
		Huntington, Archer Milton
Box 62			Trusts and Deeds of Gifts 1957 - summary only, no actual legal documents
Box 62			Will, estate
Box 62			Miscellaneous notes (3 folders)
Box 62		Real estate gifts
Box 62		Receipts, miscellaneous
Box 62		Miscellaneous volume (with index) 1891-1940
		General
Box 63			1885, 1891, 1897, 1898
Box 63			1904-1906, 1918
Box 63			1922-1942, 1945, 1948-1956 (7 folders)
Box 63			1957, Jan-Jun
Box 64			1957, Jul-Dec
Box 64			1958-1964 (7 folders)
Box 65			1965-1967 (2 folders)
Box 65			Undated

	Memorabilia
Box 66		Address books (3 folders / 5 volumes)
Box 67		Address books (2 folders / 4 volumes)
Box 67		Awards and certificates
			See also Correspondence-subject files: Deerhounds: Awards (Boxes 19-24).
Oversize 3		Awards and certificates, oversize
		Calendars (daily)
Box 68			1925, 1930-1937 (9 items)
Box 69			1938-1945 (8 items)
Box 70			1946-1953 (8 items)
Box 71			1954-1961 (8 items)
Box 72			1962-1969 (8 items)
Box 73			1970-1971 (2 items)
Box 73		Commemorative postal set (America's First Space Decade) 1971
		Diaries
Box 73			1925-1930 (2 folders / 4 volumes)
Box 74			1931-1942 (6 folders / 12 volumes)
Box 75			1943-1950 (4 folders / 8 volumes)
Box 76			1951-1956 (3 folders / 6 volumes)
Box 77			1957-1962 (3 folders / 6 volumes)
Box 78			1963-1965 (2 folders / 3 volumes)
Box 78		Letter pouch (empty)
Box 78		Medals (2 folders)
Box 79		Medals (3 folders)
Box 86		Medals - Hispanic Society of America commemorative medal; unidentified medal (2 items)
Box 79		Medical charts and notes
Box 79		Membership cards
Box 80		Nameplates (2 items)
Box 80		Notes and sketches
Box 80		Passports - for AHH and Archer
Box 80		Pen and Brush Club honorary dinner 1947
Box 80		Pistol permits 1953-1960
		Plaques
Box 80			Committee pro Cuba Liberation
Box 80			Danbury Hospital 1972
Box 80			Fraternite des Artistes
Box 80			National Wildlife Federation 1971
		Scrapbooks
Box 81			"A very merry Christmas...from Eddie and Peggy Eagan" 1967
Box 81			"Alpheus Hyatt Fund, Harvard University 1927-1950" (2 folders)
Box 81			Antigua
Box 81			Barbados
Box 81			Camp Arbutus (2 folders)
Box 82			Campus Huntington
Box 82			Collis Potter Huntington
Box 82			"La estatua a su paso por Barcelona"
Oversize 4			Family photos (labeled)
				See also Photographs: Family (Boxes 95-97, Oversize 1, 2, 14, 15) for additional family photographs
Oversize 4			Hispanic Society 1950 - Photographs of buildings, statuary
Oversize 5			Inventory of paintings
Oversize 5			Irving Green 1967
Box 82			Martinique
Box 82			90th birthday
Oversize 4			Peninsula Junior Nature Center and Museum
Box 82			Plum Trees School
Oversize 4			Postcards - miscellaneous collection of postcards
Oversize 5			Sailing (?) trip 1930 - Southern US, Cuba, Puerto Rico, Haiti
Box 83			"Espana" (Spain)
Box 83			Stanerigg (2 volumes)
Oversize 4			Stevens Institute of Technology
Box 84			Miscellaneous personal photos
Oversize 4			Unidentified photos (possibly Brookgreen?)
Box 84			Unidentified photos
Oversize 6			Unidentified (poems, clippings)
Box 87		Sculpture tools - 2 wooden bases, assorted implements
Box 125		Sculpture tools - 3 wireframe models: 2 human figure and 1 indeterminate
Box 126		Sculpture tools - 2 wireframe models: 1 horse and 1 dog[?]
Oversize 7		Sculpture tools
		Secretary's diaries
Box 84			1934, 1936, 1937 (3 volumes)
Box 85			1938-1940 (3 volumes)
Box 84			1945
		Miscellaneous
Oversize 3			Anderson, Maxwell - original poem in praise of AHH's "Diana"
Oversize 3			Benet-Espuny, Jose - original artwork, sketch of Stanerigg, inscribed to AHH
Oversize 2			Binder, green, AHH's name in gold (empty)
Oversize 3			Garcia, Joe - original artwork, inscribed to AHH
Box 86			Garcia-Mazas family - vase, inscribed to AHH
Oversize 3			Glidden, — - original artwork, inscribed to AHH
Oversize 3			Sketch of AHH with her Great Danes 1896 - pen and ink, apparently for magazine cover?
Box 86			Sybil Ludington commemorative plate
Oversize 2			University of South Carolina - honorary degree, including academic regalia
Oversize 2			Valencia (Spain) - decree of honorary citizenship, framed
Oversize 3			Miscellaneous - awards, certificates, small artifacts, etc. (unfoldered); includes World War I Red Cross poster (rolled), poster/print of Kaiser Wilhelm II (rolled)

	Photographs
		Artwork by AHH
			AHH frequently gave multiple titles, or no title, to her work. For this reason, all artwork is listed alphabetically by description of the main content. Title(s), if known, are given following the description of the work.
Box 88			Abraham Lincoln
Box 88			Andrew Jackson
Box 88			Angel (1)
Box 88			Angel (2)
Box 88			Arabella Huntington memorial
Box 88			Archer Milton Huntington, bust
Box 88			Base of "The Thinker" - base only; statue by another artist
Box 88			Bear with cubs, various
Box 88			Bears, group
Box 88			Bears, various
Oversize 8			Bears, oversize
Box 88			Boabdil, Hispanic Society
Box 88			Boy and crane
Box 88			Boy and fish
Box 88			Boy on seahorse (1) - "Sketch for fountain - East Wind"
Box 88			Boy on seahorse (2) - "Sketch for fountain - West Wind"
Box 88			Buffalo
Box 88			Bull, head
Box 88			Bull, charging
Box 88			Bulls, fighting
Box 88			Camel with rider - "Ship of the Desert" ?
Box 88			Centaur, baby
Box 88			Centaur - "Centaur Cheiron"
Oversize 9			Centaur, oversize - "Centaur Cheiron"
Box 88			Centaur, female
Box 88			Centaurs, fighting
Box 88			Children, various
Oversize 12			Children, various oversize
Box 88			Collis P. Huntington, bust
Box 88			Collis P. Huntington, statue
Box 88			Collis P. Huntington, memorial
Box 88			Crane, angry - "Angry Crane"
Box 88			Crane and young
Box 88			Cranes rising
Box 88			Deer, doe and fawn (1)
Box 88			Deer, doe and fawn (2)
Box 88			Deer, fawn
Box 88			Deer, fawn scratching
Box 88			Deer, fawns playing
Box 88			Deer, red stag (1)
Box 88			Deer, red stag (2)
Box 88			Deer, red stag, head
Box 88			Deer, red stags fighting
Box 88			Deer runnning
Box 88			Deerhound - "Hound on the hill"
Box 88			Deerhound, head
Box 88			Deerhound, seated
Box 88			Deerhounds, group
Box 88			Diana - "Diana of the Chase," "Young Diana"
Box 89			Dog, head - "Police dog, head"
Box 89			Dog, lying down - "Police dog lying down"
Box 89			Dog, sitting - "Police dog sitting"
Box 89			Don Quixote (2 folders)
Oversize 11			Don Quixote oversize
Box 89			Donkey, bucking
Box 89			Donkey, head
Box 89			Donkey with woman - "Naples"
Box 89			Door panels (Hispanic Society?)
Box 89			Doors, Hispanic Society
Box 89			Duck
Box 89			Ducks (geese?)
Box 89			Eagle, head
Box 89			El Cid, statue
Box 89			El Cid, head
Box 89			Elephant - "Alice"
Box 89			Elephant, running
Box 89			Elephants, fighting
Box 89			Elephants, mother and baby
Box 89			Elephants, various - pair
Oversize 9			Elephants, various - "Peanuts"
Box 89			Elk running
Box 89			Elk stag
Box 89			Faun child with goats
Box 89			Flagpole base
Box 89			Fox and bird
Box 89			Giraffe, mother and baby
Box 89			Goat, head (1)
Box 89			Goat, head (2)
Box 89			Goat, lying down
Box 89			Goat, scratching
Box 89			Goat, standing
Box 89			Goats, fighting
Box 89			Goats, various
Box 89			Goose, head
Box 89			Gorillas, various
Box 89			Great Dane, lying down (1) - annotated on back, "Anna Hyatt Huntington, her first sculpture"
Box 89			Great Dane, lying down (2)
Box 89			Great Dane, seated
Box 89			Greyhound, licking self - "Study of Echo"
Box 89			Greyhound, lying down - "Echo lying down"
Box 89			Greyhound, panting - "Speedy"
Box 89			Greyhound, scratching - "Echo scratching"
Box 89			Greyhound, sleeping - "Study of Echo"
Box 89			Greyhound, startled - "Echo startled"
Box 89			Greyhound, with old shoe - "Echo with old shoe"
Box 89			Greyhounds, playing
Oversize 9			Greyhounds, playing, oversize
Box 89			Greyhounds, various
Box 90			Henry P. Davison, bust
Box 90			Hispanic Society, medal
Box 90			Holy family
Box 90			Horse, colt standing (1)
Box 90			Horse, colt standing (2)
Box 90			Horse, colt standing (3) - "Six months old"
Box 90			Horse, colt standing (4)
Box 90			Horse, head, Aida
Box 90			Horse, head (1)
Box 90			Horse, head (2)
Box 90			Horse, head (3)
Box 90			Horse, standing
Box 90			Horse and plowman - "L'Orage"
Box 90			Horse with bows - "Rocinante"
Box 90			Horse with wreath - "Victory horse"
Box 90			Horses and chariot
Box 90			Horses, colts playing
Box 90			Horses, fighting - "Stallions fighting" or "Fighting Stallions" (2 folders)
Oversize 12			Horses, fighting, oversize - "Stallions fighting" or "Fighting Stallions"
Box 90			Horses, group - "Colts in storm"
Box 90			Horses, group - "Winter"
Box 90			Horses, mare and foal
Box 90			Horses on wave - "White horses of the sea"
Oversize 9			Horses on wave, oversize - "White horses of the sea"
Box 90			Horses, various
Box 90			Horsetamer - "Youth"or "Youth conquering the wild"
Oversize 12			Horsetamer, oversize - "Youth"or "Youth conquering the wild"
Box 90			Israel Putnam
Oversize 12			Israel Putnam, oversize
Box 90			Jaguar, crawling off rock
Box 90			Jaguar, head
Box 90			Jaguar, letter opener
Box 90			Jaguar, on rock
Box 91			Jaguars, group
Box 91			Jaguars, various
Oversize 10			Jaguars, oversize
Box 91			Joan of Arc, equestrian statue
Oversize 10			Joan of Arc, equestrian statue, oversize
Box 91			Joan of Arc, human statue at Saint John the Divine
Box 91			Joan of Arc, medal
Box 91			Jose Marti
Oversize 12			Jose Marti, oversize
Box 91			Knight on horseback
Box 91			Lady Godiva
Box 91			Lamb, lying down
Box 91			Lion, seated
Box 91			Lion, seated with orb
Box 91			Lion and lioness
Box 91			Lion on rock
Box 91			Lion cubs playing
Box 91			Lioness, seated
Box 91			Lions, various
Oversize 12			Lions, oversize
Box 91			Man with sword, seated (1)
Box 91			Man with sword, seated (2)
Box 91			Man with sword, seated (3)
Box 91			Man with sword, seated (4)
Box 91			Marabou with fish - "Whose fish?"
Box 91			Medals, various
Box 91			Memorial to fishermen lost at sea
Box 91			Merman (?) with dragon / sea serpent
Box 91			Monkey - "Huey again reaching for food"
Box 91			Monkey - "Huey asleep at last"
Box 91			Monkey - "Huey cleaning his coat"
Box 91			Monkey - "Huey, pouch full"
Box 91			Monkey - "Huey reaching for food"
Box 91			Monkey - "Study of Huey"
Box 91			Monkey and bird
Box 91			Monkey, head
Box 91			Monkey on all fours
Box 91			Monkey on branch
Box 91			Monkey scratching
Box 91			Monkeys grooming each other
Box 91			Monkeys, pair
Box 91			Monkeys, shrieking (ring-tailed lemurs?) - "Hymn of hate"
Box 91			Monkeys sleeping, statue
Box 91			Monkeys sleeping, wall plaque
Box 91			Monkeys, various
Box 92			Monks, kneeling, various
Box 92			Mother and child
Box 92			Mountain sheep
Box 92			Nurse, Danbury Hospital
Box 92			Old man and young woman - "Youth and old age," "Wartime Refugee"
Box 92			Old woman, seated - "Grandma Beebe, about 1953"
Box 92			Owl with fish
Box 92			Panels, animal heads
Box 92			Panels, human heads
Box 92			Panther - Myrtle Beach, SC, Air Force Base
Box 92			Peacocks fighting
Oversize 9			Peacocks fighting, oversize
Box 92			Pigs, group
Box 92			Rhinoceros bookends
Box 92			Rhinoceros charging
Box 92			Russian wolfhound
Box 92			St. Francis, two different ones
Box 92			Seals
Box 92			Swan
Box 92			Swan and young
Box 92			Swan, grooming breast
Box 92			Swan, grooming wing
Box 92			Swan, head
Box 92			Swans, pair
Box 92			Sybil Ludington
Oversize 12			Sybil Ludington, oversize
Box 92			Theodore Roosevelt, medal
Box 92			Tiger and bird
Box 92			Tiger jumping for bird
Box 92			Tigers on rock
Box 92			Tigers sleeping
Box 92			Tigers, various
Box 92			Torchbearer, University of South Carolina
Box 92			Torchbearers (2 folders)
Oversize 13			Torchbearers, oversize
Box 93			Turtle
Box 93			Victorious Resolute crew, medal
Box 93			The Visionaries - Archer Milton Huntington memorial
Box 93			Vultures
Oversize 13			Vultures, oversize
Box 93			William Dean Howells, medal
Box 93			Wild boar
Box 93			Wild boar group
Oversize 13			Wild boar, oversize
Box 93			Wolves, howling
Box 93			Woman in the wind, 2 different ones
Box 93			Woman on mule 1959 - "Queen Isabella on muleback"
Box 93			Zebra with foal
Box 93			Miscellaneous animals
Box 93			Miscellaneous human figures
Oversize 12			Miscellaneous human figures, oversize - bust of woman
Box 93			Miscellaneous
Box 123			Scrapbooks (5 volumes)
Box 124			Scrapbooks (3 volumes)
Oversize 6			Scrapbook (1 volume)
		Artwork by others
Box 93			Dallin, Cyrus - "The Scout"
Box 93			Eberle, Abastenia St. Leger - bust of AHH
Box 93			Fraser, James Earle - "End of the Trail"
Box 93			Graner, Luis - portraits, Mrs. Craig Biddle and Mrs. Leonard M. Thomas
Box 93			Keck, Charles - "Andrew Jackson"
Box 93			Lane, Katherine - greyhound stretching
Oversize 1			Lockman, DeWitt M. - portrait of officer, horse
Box 93			Mayor, Harriet Hyatt - one photo of a sculpture of a boy and a dog, is annotated on the back as "Anna V. Hyatt and Harriet Randolph Hyatt, only piece done together"
Box 93			Proctor, Phimister - "Pioneer Mother"
Box 93			Miscellaneous (2 folders)
		Exhibits
Box 94			Carnegie Institue, Pittsburgh, PA 1937, June 3-20
Box 94			Palace of the Legion of Honor, San Francisco, CA 1937, summer
Box 94			Los Angeles Museum of History, Science and Art, Los Angeles, CA 1937, August
Oversize 1			Los Angeles Museum of History, Science and Art, Los Angeles, CA 1937, August
Box 94			Fine Arts Gallery, San Diego, CA 1937, September
Box 94			Isaac Delgado Museum, New Orleans, LA 1937, October
Box 94			Brooks Memorial Art Gallery, Memphis, TN 1937, November
Box 94			City Art Museum, St. Louis, MO 1937, "late"
Box 94			Toledo Museum of Art, Toledo, OH 1938, February
Box 94			Corcoran Gallery, Washington, DC 1938, March
Box 94			Gallery of Fine Arts, Yale University 1938, April 3-24
Box 94			Berkshire Museum, Pittsfield, MA 1938, May
Box 94			Currier Gallery of Art, Manchester, NH 1938, August
Box 94			Mint Museum of Art, Charlotte, NC 1938, December
Box 94			Wadsworth Athenaeum, Hartford, CT 1938
Box 94			Carolina Art Association, Gibbes Memorial Art Gallery, Charleston, SC 1939, January
Box 94			Telfair Academy, Savannah, GA 1939, February
Box 94			William and Mary College, Williamsburg, VA 1939, March
Box 94			Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts, Philadelphia, PA 1939, April 5-26
Box 94			Newark Museum, Newark, NJ 1939, May
Box 94			Florence Museum, Florence, SC 1940, February
Box 94			University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC 1943, November
Box 94			Palace of the Legion of Honor, San Francisco, CA 1944
Box 94			Museum of Modern Art, Madrid, Spain 1955?
Box 94			YWCA, Athens, Greece 1955?
Box 94			Norfolk Museum, Norfolk, VA 1961, summer
Box 94			Mariners Museum, Newport News, VA 1962, September 3
Box 94			Museum of SUNY Albany, Albany, NY 1963, December
Box 94			Manor Club, Pelham, NY 1965, February
Box 94			Syracuse University, Syracuse, NY (?) after 1960
Box 94			Addison Gallery, Andover, MA Undated
Box 94			Joslyn Memorial, Omaha, NE Undated
Box 94			Springfield Museum of Fine Arts, Springfield, MA Undated
Box 94			University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA Undated
Box 94			American Academy of Arts and Letters, New York, NY Undated
Box 94			Unidentified Undated
Oversize 1			Unidentified, oversize Undated
		Family
			See also Memorabilia: Scrapbooks: Family photos (labeled) (Oversize 4) for additional family photographs.
Box 95			Beebe, Lidia Ann - AHH's grandmother
Box 95			Hatzfeldt, Clara Elizabeth - Archer's sister
Box 95			Hodgdon, Dana and Clara Hyatt - AHH's niece and her husband
Box 95			Huntington, Anna Hyatt (4 folders)
Oversize 14			Huntington, Anna Hyatt (oversize)
Oversize 15			Huntington, Anna Hyatt (oversize)
Box 95			Huntington, Archer
Box 96			Huntington, Archer (2 folders)
Oversize 1			Huntington, Archer, oversize
Box 96			Huntington, Collis P. - Archer's father
Box 96			Huntington, Harriet - Archer's aunt?
Box 96			Huntington, Henry E. II
Oversize 1			Huntington, Henry E. II (oversize)
Box 96			Hyatt, Alpheus - AHH's father
Oversize 1			Hyatt, Alpheus, oversize
Box 96			Hyatt, Audella Beebe - AHH's mother (2 folders)
Oversize 1			Hyatt, Audella Beebe, oversize - painting from daguerreotype of Audella, age 9
Box 96			Hyatt, Harriet Randolph King - AHH's grandmother
Oversize 1			Hyatt, Harriet Randolph King (oversize)
Box 96			Mayor, A. Hyatt and Virginia - AHH's nephew
Box 97			Mayor, Brantz and Evelyn - AHH's nephew
Box 97			Mayor, Harriet Hyatt - AHH's sister
Box 97			Yarrington family - Archer's grandparents
Box 97			Miscellaneous family
Box 97			Unidentified friends or family (3 folders)
Oversize 1			Unidentified friends or family (oversize)
		Family property
Box 97			Atalaya - Huntington home at Brookgreen, designed by Archer
Box 98			Brookgreen Gardens
Oversize 1			C. P. Huntington house, 57th St, New York (oversize)
Box 98			Huntington tomb
Box 98			New York house, E. 89th St.
Oversize 1			New York house, E. 89th St. (oversize)
Box 98			"Pleasaunce"
Box 98			Rocas - house in Haverstraw, New York
Box 98			Stanerigg - in Redding, Connecticut
Oversize 1			Stanerigg [?]
Box 98			Miscellaneous
		People
Oversize 1			Bohnert, Herbert - American artist (1888-1967)
Oversize 1			Canas, Jose Simeon - Latin American scholar and abolitionist (1767-1838)
Box 99			Carroll, Seymour - prominent African-American, Columbia, SC
Oversize 1			Eisenhower, Dwight D.
Box 99			Flagg, — (Dr.) - neighbor at Brookgreen
Oversize 1			Franco, Francisco - dictator of Spain (1892-1975)
Box 99			Guardabassi, [Mariano?] - possibly the Italian archaeologist
Box 99			Howells, William Dean - American author and critic (1837-1940)
Box 99			Pardee, E.H. - possibly Enoch H. Pardee, California eye doctor and politician
Box 99			Peary, Robert E. - American explorer (1856-1920)
Box 99			Rickover, Hyman - American admiral (1900-1986)
Box 99			Queen Victoria - English monarch (1819-1901)
Box 99			Volpe, John Anthony - governor of Massachusetts; photo is of his three children
Oversize 1			Unidentified (1 item)
		Places
Box 99			Africa
Box 99			France
Box 99			Monaco
Box 99			Pinenut?
Box 99			South America
Box 99			Spain
Box 99			Spain, University of Madrid
Box 99			Switzerland, Leysin
Box 99			United Kingdom
Box 99			United States, Nashville
Box 99			United States, New Orleans
Box 99			United States, New York City
Box 99			United States, Rollins College, Winter Park, FL
Box 99			United States, Texas
Box 99			United States, Tucson
Box 100			Unidentified, United States?
Box 100			Unidentified, non-U.S.
		Miscellaneous
			Films
Reel				[according to old finding aid, either "Havana Jan 1929" or "setting J's statue on Roosevelt Memorial, Roosevelt equestrian, 1934, 1940"] - return address on original film box "Jose Garcia Mozis" (16mm film) (ID#: huntington_001)
Reel				[according to old finding aid, either "Havana Jan 1929" or "setting J's statue on Roosevelt Memorial, Roosevelt equestrian, 1934, 1940"] - return address on original film box "Jose Garcia Mozis" (16mm film) (ID#: huntington_002)
Reel				The Torch Bearers - sculptor Anna Hyatt Huntington during the creation of a large bronze statue (16mm film) (ID#: huntington_003)
Box 4				Dedication of "The Torchbearer", by Dr. Thomas F. Jones, president of the University of South Carolina July 16, 1965 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: huntington_004)
Box 100			Negatives - includes 2 glass plate negatives (5 folders)
Box 101			Photo plates - plates for printing photographs; includes deerhounds as well as sculpture and other pictures
Box 102			Photo plates - plates for printing photographs; includes deerhounds as well as sculpture and other pictures
Oversize 16			Slides - Atalaya/Brookgreen, Stanerigg, Statue Madrid, Archer/Rocas, Rocas, unlabelled, assorted small boxes and loose slides (6 slide boxes)

	Printed material
		Articles
			About AHH
Box 103				1933-1934, 1936-1943, 1946-1950, 1953-1968, 1970, undated (6 folders)
Box 111				Oversize 1934, 1950
Box 104			About family
Box 104			About others 1928-1941, 1947-1966, undated (2 folders)
		Books
			About AHH
Box 104				Royere, Jean / Le Musicisme Sculptural: Madame Archer Milton Huntington 1933
Box 104				Sapieha, Virgilia / Eminent Women Recipients of the National Achievement Award 1948
Box 104				Schaub-Koch, Emile / Anna Hyatt Huntington, Sculpteur de la vie 1964 - inscribed to AHH "from your devoted admirer" (3 copies)
Box 104				Schaub-Koch, Emile / Physiologie esthetique de l'oeuvre animaliere d'Anna Hyatt Huntington 1962 (2 copies)
Box 104				Schaub-Koch, Emile / Le role de la lumiere dans la scultpure d'Anna Hyatt Huntington 1965
			By Archer Milton Huntington
Box 104				Quatre Poemes 1933
			By others
Box 105				Inscribed to AHH (8 volumes)
Box 105				Miscellaneous - includes children's books, a book on Huntington, West Virginia, and a copy of The chivalry of Scotland in the days of King Robert Bruce (1848) (9 volumes)
		Clippings
			About AHH
Box 106				1902-1951 (7 folders)
Box 107				1952-1965 (7 folders)
Box 108				1966-1972, 1975, undated (2 folders)
Box 111				(oversize) 1934, 1950 - includes two large proof sheets (from newspaper?), rolled
Box 108			About family
			About others
Box 108				1919, 1921, 1923, 1925-1934, 1936-1942, 1945-1946, 1948-1968 (6 folders)
Box 109				Undated
		Exhibit catalogs and brochures
Box 109			of AHH's work 1915, 1927, 1934, 1936-1940, 1942-1944, 1946, 1948-1966, 1968, 1973, undated (7 folders)
Box 110			of others' work
		Press releases
Box 110			By/about AHH
Box 110		Miscellany 1903, 1930s-1970s - fliers, advertisements, programs, pamphlets, newsletters, etc etc etc (6 folders)
Box 111		Miscellany - mostly magazines (English, French, Spanish)

	Reference files
		Clippings and photos
Box 112			Aardvarks (2 folders)
Box 112			Anteaters (2 folders)
Box 112			Armadillo and pangolin (2 folders)
Box 112			Bears - see also polar bears (2 folders)
Box 112			Beavers (2 folders)
Box 112			Birds (7 folders)
Box 112			Buffalo (African and American) (2 folders)
Box 112			Camels (2 folders)
Box 112			Capybara
Box 112			Cats, domestic (2 folders)
Box 112			Cats, wild - jaguars, cheetahs, mountain lions, bobcats, etc. See also Lions, Tigers (2 folders)
Box 112			Cattle and oxen
Box 113			Cattle and oxen (2 folders)
Box 113			Crocodiles and alligators (2 folders)
Box 113			Deer and antelope (6 folders)
Box 113			Dogs, domestic - includes wolfhounds and deerhounds; one folder is placed lengthwise along the side of the box (6 folders)
Box 113			Donkeys, burros, mules
Box 113			Elephants (4 folders)
Box 113			Fish and other sea creatures - includes coral, shellfish, etc. (2 folders)
Box 114			Foxes (2 folders)
Box 114			Frogs and toads
Box 114			Giraffes (2 folders)
Box 114			Goats - includes mountain goats, ibexes, etc (2 folders)
Box 114			Hippos (2 folders)
Box 114			Horses (11 folders)
Box 115			Hyenas (2 folders)
Box 115			Insects and spiders
Box 115			Kangaroos and wallabies (2 folders)
Box 115			Lions (3 folders)
Box 115			Lizards (2 folders)
Box 115			Llama and alpaca (2 folders)
Box 115			Man (10 folders)
Box 116			Man (4 folders)
Box 116			Moles
Box 116			Monkeys, chimps and apes - includes gorillas (3 folders)
Box 116			Moose (2 folders)
Box 116			Opossum (2 folders)
Box 116			Otters (2 folders)
Box 116			Penguins
Box 116			Pigs, wild and domestic - includes warthogs, wild board, javelina (2 folders)
Box 116			Polar bears (2 folders)
Box 116			Porcupines (2 folders)
Box 116			Rabbits (2 folders)
Box 116			Raccoons
Box 116			Rhinoceros (2 folders)
Box 116			Seals and sea lions (2 folders)
Box 116			Sheep - includes mountain sheep (2 folders)
Box 116			Sloth
Box 116			Snakes (2 folders)
Box 116			Squirrels (2 folders)
Box 116			Tapir (2 folders)
Box 117			Tigers (2 folders)
Box 117			Turtles and tortoises (2 folders)
Box 117			Weasels, stoats, ferrets, mink, etc
Box 117			Wildebeest (gnus) (2 folders)
Box 117			Wolves and coyotes (2 folders)
Box 117			Woodchucks
Box 117			Zebras (2 folders)
Box 117			Miscellaneous - animals (2 folders)
Box 117			Miscellaneous - buildings, landscapes, ornamentation, plants, etc
		Miscellaneous
Box 118			Books - includes multi-volume "Wonders of Animal Life" EXTREMELY HEAVY
Oversize 17			Clippings (oversize) - animals, people; from magazines, newspapers, etc
Box 119			Magazines - animals; people; nudes; a few oversize photos of horses
Box 120			Scrapbooks - photos, clippings; mostly animals; one is labelled "Animal Life in the Zoo of Schönbrunn 43 plates" (6 volumes)

	Writings (of others)
Box 121		American Conservative Union / "A Program for American Survival 1973-1978" - typescript
Box 121		Bulkeley, Benjamine / "Dearest of my distant kin" - typescript poem
		Cook, Doris / Woman sculptor Anna Hyatt Huntington" - See Correspondence-subject files: Cook, Doris
Box 121		Gumilev, Nikolai / "The Giraffe" - typescript poem, translated by Y. Hornstein
Box 121		Hathaway, Joy - original illustrations and manuscript
Box 121		Huntington, Archer Milton - typescript and handwritten poems; see also Memorabilia: Miscellaneous: Huntington, Archer Milton (Box MemOS)
Oversize 3		Huntington, Archer Milton - poem, "Genius," directed "to the Academy of Arts and Letters"
Box 121		Malley, Charles - typescripts of "The Example Setters" and "The Imitators" ; proof copy of an article
Box 121		Martin, Kay - typescript poems; Kay Martin was Nora Moore-Anderson's mother
Box 121		Meeker, Jay Hathaway - handwritten poem
Box 121		Norton, Frederick H. / "Art and Science in Sculpture" - proof copy
Box 121		O'Connor, Jay / "Surpassing Venus" - cover, 1 page
Box 121		Royere, Jean - mimeographed booklets, in French
Box 121		Schaub-Koch, Emile (2 folders)
			Typescripts of: Preface for L'oeuvre d'Anna Hyatt Huntington L'Ame; De l'abstraction dans la statuaire d'Anna Hyatt Huntington De la beaute et de l'universalite dans l'oeuvre d'Anna Hyatt Huntington L'oeuvre d'Anna Hyatt Huntington et le probleme d'un nouvel humanisme Hindu art and the art of Anna Hyatt Huntington Anna Hyatt Huntington and the Hindu people Physiologie esthetique de l'oeuvre d'Anna Hyatt Huntington Deux statues inachevees d'Anna Hyatt Huntington De Pisanello a Pompon en passant par Barye, Sandoz, et d'Anna Hyatt Huntington
Box 122		Schaub-Koch, Emile - L'oeuvre d'Anna Hyatt Huntington; typescript and handwritten sketch of cover (1 folder + 2 volumes)
Box 122		Varney, Ruth - handwritten piece, "Immortality," bound with ribbon
Box 122		Vega, Rafael - original music manuscript (1 page)
Box 122		Wilmot, Dorothy E. / "In Sculptor's Studio" - typescript poem
Box 122		No author / "A research of the frequency of words in spoken Spanish" - typescript research proposal
Box 122		No author / "Traveling costume and saddle of Isabel the Catholic" - typescript, includes captioned photographs
Box 122		Unidentified miscellany

Return to top