Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Huntington, Archer M. (Archer Milton), 1870-1955
Title:	Archer Milton Huntington Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1919-1957
Quantity:	51.0 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American philanthropist, poet. Correspondence; secretarial daybooks, 1922-1957; manuscripts; legal and financial papers. Organizational correspondence includes that of the Academy of American Poets, American Academy of Arts and Letters, American Geographical Society, American Museum of Natural History, American Numismatic Society, Brookgreen Gardens, California Palace of the Legion of Honor, Hispanic Society of America, Mariners' Museum, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Museum of the American Indian, National Academy of Design, National Arts Club, National Sculpture Society, New-York Historical Society, New York Zoological Society, and Yale University.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Archer Milton Huntington (1870-1955) was an American philanthropist, art patron, scholar and poet. The son of Arabella Duval Huntington and her husband, railroad industrialist Collis P. Huntington, Archer made substantial contributions -- both scholarly and financial -- in his chosen fields, though he is particularly known for his work in Hispanic Studies. He wrote several scholarly works in the field and in 1904 founded The Hispanic Society of America in New York City, a museum and rare books library which he helped fill with an impressive collection of Hispanic paintings, decorative art, books, manuscripts, maps, prints, and photographs. At about this same time, Archer was named foreign corresponding secretary for the New-York Historical Society; he served in this capacity for several years and contributed to the funding of many of the society's publications.

His first wife, whom he married in 1895, was Helen Manchester Gates, an Englishwoman and author. For his second wife (married in 1923), sculptor Anna Hyatt Huntington, Archer founded Brookgreen Gardens in South Carolina where her works were displayed as well as those of dozens of other American sculptors. (She returned the favor, creating several Hispanic-themed works for the grounds of the Hispanic Society, including an equestrian sculpture entitled "The Cid.")

In 1936, Huntington donated an endowment which established the Chair of Poetry at the Library of Congress, now known as the Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry to the Library of Congress; he also donated to the American Numismatic Society the funding and land for its headquarters and, later, a library. Together with Anna, he founded the Mariners' Museum in Newport News, Virginia, one of the largest and finest maritime museums in the world, and established the Archer and Anna Huntington Wild Life Forest Station in the Adirondacks of New York State.

Archer M. Huntington was awarded honorary degrees from Harvard, Yale, Columbia, Kenyon College, and the University of Madrid. Among his other philanthropic positions, he was president of the American Geographical Society and a trustee of the American Museum of Natural History, the New-York Historical Society, the Museum of the American Indian, and the Heye Foundation. When he died in December of 1955, The Modern Language Journal published a biographical sketch which included the following praise:

In his passing, Hispanic studies in the United States, Spain, and Hispanic America have lost a generous patron who was also in his own right a scholar of distinction, a poet of charm, and in everything he did a good citizen." (The Modern Language Journal, Feb 1956, p. 59)

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Archer Milton Huntington Papers contains correspondence, secretarial notes (memos, letters and daybooks), writings, legal and financial papers, and ledgers.

Correspondence (Boxes 1 through 9) has been entirely merged into the Correspondence-subject files for the Anna Hyatt Huntington Papers (see "Related Material" below). Boxes 1-9 no longer exist in this collection. Please refer to the Anna Hyatt Huntington Papers for a complete listing. Briefly, this material contains incoming and outgoing correspondence with both individuals and organizations. Individual correspondents include painters (Edwin Blashfield), sculptors (Herbert and Adeline Adams, Gutzon Borglum, Donald De Lue, Gleb Derujinsky, James Earle and Laura Gardin Fraser, Harriet Whitney Frishmuth, Vincent Glinsky, Malvina Hoffman, Edward McCartan, Herman Atkins MacNeil, Paul and Isabel Manship, Brenda Putnam, Alma Spreckels, Katharine Weems), writers (Maxwell Anderson, German Arciniegas, Grosvenor Atterbury, Vicente Blasco Ibáñez, Nicholas Murray Butler, Archibald Macleish). Organizations represented in the correspondence include universities (Chatham College, Clark University, Columbia University, Harvard University, Syracuse University), museums and galleries (Brookgreen Gardens, Burr Galleries, California Palace of the Legion of Honor, Columbia Museum of Art, Corcoran Gallery of Art, Fogg Art Museum, Grand Central Art Galleries, Henry E. Huntington Library and Art Gallery, Mariner's Museum, Museum of the City of New York, ), and professional associations (American Geographical Society, American Numismatic Society, Federal Art Project, Hispanic Society of America, National Institute of Arts and Letters, New-York Historical Society).

Secretarial notes comprises memos, letters, and daybooks spanning more than thirty years. Writings contains literary gallies, poems and literary manuscripts. Properties consists of information relating to various pieces of real estate including Brookgreen and Arbutus.

Ledgers contain financial and business information; the main subdivisions are NY receipts, estate correspondence, estate documents, general correspondence, Bank of Central Hanover receipts, and payment statements. General correspondence, formerly in Volumes 45-82 of Ledgers, has been entirely merged into the Correspondence-subject files for the Anna Hyatt Huntington Papers (see "Related Material" below). Volumes 45-82 no longer exist in this collection. Please refer to the Anna Hyatt Huntington Papers for a complete listing.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Secretarial notes (Boxes 10-17) are arranged first by type (memos, letters, then daybooks) and within that chronologically. Writings (Boxes 18-20) are arranged alphabetically by type and Properties (Boxes 21-27) alphabetically by name of the property. Legal and financial papers (Boxes 28-36) are arranged chronologically. Ledgers (Volumes 1-139) are ordered by type and within that chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Personal correspondence of Archer Milton Huntington (Boxes 1 through 9) and General correspondence (formerly in Volumes 45-82 of Ledgers) has been entirely merged into the Correspondence-subject filesof the Anna Hyatt Huntington Papers (see "Related Material" below). Boxes 1-9 and Volumes 45-82 no longer exist in this collection. Please refer to the Anna Hyatt Huntington Papers for a complete listing.

See also the following:

Anna Hyatt Huntington Papers
Arabella Huntington Papers
Collis P. Huntington Papers
Huntington Estate Papers

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Archer Milton Huntington Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: unknown
Revision history: 30 Oct 2006 - converted to EAD (AMCon); 18 Feb 2008 - unproc. mat. updated (MRC); 12 Aug 2008 - corr. merged with AHH (MRC); 30 Sep 2019 - updated to reflect ledger volumes 45-82 merged with AHH (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence-subject files
		This portion of the Archer Milton Huntington Papers inventory (Boxes 1 through 9) has been entirely merged into the Correspondence-subject files for the Anna Hyatt Huntington Papers (see "Related Material" above). Boxes 1-9 no longer exist in this collection.

	Secretarial notes
Box 10		Secretarial memos 1934-1954
Box 11		Secretarial letters 1924-1932
Box 12		Secretarial letters 1933-1941
Box 13		Secretarial daybooks 1922-1935
Box 14		Secretarial daybooks 1935-1942
Box 15		Secretarial daybooks 1943-1946
Box 16		Secretarial daybooks 1947-1950
Box 17		Secretarial daybooks 1951-1957

	Writings
Box 18, 19		Literary gallies
Box 20		Poems and literary manuscripts

	Properties
Box 21, 22		Arbutus
Box 23		Arbutus film (photographs) of
		Brookgreen
			Transferred to Anna Hyatt Huntington Papers, 2008.
Box 25		New York, Stanerigg and Pleasance
Box 26		Pleasance
Box 27		Adirondacks, Stanerigg, Newport News, Pine Knot

	Legal and financial papers
Box 28		Legal papers 1919 - 1955
Box 29-36		Financial papers

	Ledgers
		NY receipts
Volume 1			NY receipts Apr-Jun 1946
Volume 2			NY receipts Jun 1946-Jun 1947
Volume 3			NY receipts Jun-Sep 1947
Volume 4			NY receipts Jan-Jul 1948
Volume 5			NY receipts Jul-Dec 1948
Volume 6			NY receipts 1948-1949
Volume 7			NY receipts Aug 1949-Mar 1950
Volume 8			NY receipts Apr-Sep 1950
Volume 9			NY receipts Jun 1950-Sep 1951
Volume 10			NY receipts Jul 1951-Jan 1952
Volume 11			NY receipts 1952-1953
Volume 12			NY receipts 1954-1955
Volume 13			NY receipts Aug-Nov 1955
		Estate correspondence
Volume 14			Estate correspondence A-E undated
Volume 15			Estate correspondence F-K undated
Volume 16			Estate correspondence L-P undated
Volume 17			Estate correspondence Q-Z undated
		Estate items
Volume 18			Estate documents 1926-1928
Volume 19			Estate documents 1924-1928
Volume 20			Estate mAprs undated
Volume 21			Estate receipts 1924
Volume 22			Estate statements 1926-1928
Volume 23			Estate statements 1928-1929
		Estate documents (George F. Butterworth-Attn.)
Volume 24			Estate documents (George F. Butterworth-Attn.) Sep-Nov 1924
Volume 25			Estate documents (George F. Butterworth-Attn.) Sep-Dec 1924
Volume 26			Estate documents (George F. Butterworth-Attn.) Jan-Feb 1925
Volume 27			Estate documents (George F. Butterworth-Attn.) Mar-Apr 1925
Volume 28			Estate documents (George F. Butterworth-Attn.) Apr 1925
Volume 29			Estate documents (George F. Butterworth-Attn.) May 1925
Volume 30			Estate documents (George F. Butterworth-Attn.) Jun 1925
Volume 31			Estate documents (George F. Butterworth-Attn.) Jul-Aug 1925
Volume 32			Estate documents (George F. Butterworth-Attn.) Aug-Oct 1925
Volume 33			Estate documents (George F. Butterworth-Attn.) Nov 1925
Volume 34			Estate documents (George F. Butterworth-Attn.) Dec 1925-Jan 1926
Volume 35			Estate documents (George F. Butterworth-Attn.) Jan-Mar 1926
Volume 36			Estate documents (George F. Butterworth-Attn.) Apr-Jul 1926
Volume 37			Estate documents (George F. Butterworth-Attn.) Jul 1936-Jan 1937
Volume 38			Estate documents (George F. Butterworth-Attn.) Feb-Jul 1937
Volume 39			Estate documents (George F. Butterworth-Attn.) Jun-Sep 1927
Volume 40			Estate documents (George F. Butterworth-Attn.) Sep-Dec 1927
Volume 41			Estate documents (George F. Butterworth-Attn.) 1927-1928
		Cadwalader Wickersham & Taft (formerly GFB)
Volume 42			Cadwalader Wickersham & Taft (formerly GFB) Apr-Dec 1928
Volume 43			Estate - CWT 1928
Volume 44			CWT 1930
		Huntington - general correspondence
			This portion of the Archer Milton Huntington Papers inventory (Volumes 45 through 82) has been entirely merged into the Correspondence-subject files for the Anna Hyatt Huntington Papers (see "Related Material" above). Volumes 45 through 82 no longer exist in this collection.
Volume 45			Huntington - general correspondence 1942-1943
Volume 46			Huntington - general correspondence 1943
Volume 47			Huntington - general correspondence 1943
Volume 48			Huntington - general correspondence 1943
Volume 49			Huntington - general correspondence 1944
Volume 50			Huntington - general correspondence 1945
Volume 51			Huntington - general correspondence 1946
Volume 52			Huntington - general correspondence 1947
Volume 53			Huntington - general correspondence 1947
Volume 54			Huntington - general correspondence 1947
Volume 55			Huntington - general correspondence 1947
Volume 56			Huntington - general correspondence Jan-Mar 1948
Volume 57			Huntington - general correspondence Apr-Jun 1948
Volume 58			Huntington - general correspondence Jul-Sep 1948
Volume 59			Huntington - general correspondence Jun-Dec 1948
Volume 60			Huntington - general correspondence 1948
Volume 61			Huntington - general correspondence Jan-May 1949
Volume 62			Huntington - general correspondence Jun-Dec 1949
Volume 63			Huntington - general correspondence May-Dec 1950
Volume 64			Huntington - general correspondence 1952
Volume 65			Huntington - general correspondence Mar-May 1954
Volume 66			Huntington - general correspondence 1954
Volume 67			Huntington - general correspondence May-Jul 1954
Volume 68			Huntington - general correspondence Jul-Sep 1954
Volume 69			Huntington - general correspondence Nov-Dec 1954
Volume 70			Huntington - general correspondence Dec 54-Feb 1955
Volume 71			Huntington - general correspondence Mar 1955
Volume 72			Huntington - general correspondence Mar-Apr 1955
Volume 73			Huntington - general correspondence May-Jun 1955
Volume 74			Huntington - general correspondence Jun-Jul 1955
Volume 75			Huntington - general correspondence Jul-Aug 1955
Volume 76			Huntington - general correspondence Jul-Aug 1955
Volume 77			Huntington - general correspondence Sep 1955
Volume 78			Huntington - general correspondence Sep 1955
Volume 79			Huntington - general correspondence Sep-Oct 1955
Volume 80			Huntington - general correspondence Sep-Ost 1955
Volume 81			Huntington - general correspondence Oct-Nov 1955
Volume 82			Huntington - general correspondence Nov-Dec 1955
		Bank of Central Hanover-receipts
Volume 83			Bank of Central Hanover-receipts Apr-Jun 1946
Volume 84			Bank of Central Hanover-receipts 1947
Volume 85			Bank of Central Hanover-receipts 1948
Volume 86			Bank of Central Hanover-receipts Aug-Dec 1948
Volume 87			Bank of Central Hanover-receipts 1949
Volume 88			Bank of Central Hanover-receipts Jul 1950-Jun 1951
Volume 89			Bank of Central Hanover-receipts 1951-1952
Volume 90a			90a Bank of Central Hanover-receipts 1952-1953
Volume 90			Bank of Central Hanover-receipts Nov 1953-Apr 1954
Volume 91			Bank of Central Hanover-receipts May-Dec 1954
Volume 92			Bank of Central Hanover-receipts Oct 54-Aug 1955
Volume 93			Bank of Central Hanover-receipts Aug-Dec 1955
		Bill sent to Hanover Bank
Volume 94			Bill sent to Hanover Bank 1952
Volume 95			Bill sent to Hanover Bank 1953
Volume 96			Bill sent to Hanover Bank 1954
Volume 97			Bill sent to Hanover Bank 1955
Volume 98			Bill sent to Hanover Bank 1955
		Payment statements (AMH)
Volume 99			Payment statements (AMH) 1943-1947
Volume 100			Payment statements (AMH) 1947-1948
Volume 101			Payment statements (AMH) 1948
Volume 102			Payment statements (AMH) 1949
Volume 103			Payment statements (AMH) 1949-50
Volume 104			Payment statements (AMH) 1950
Volume 105			Payment statements (AMH) 1951
Volume 106			Payment statements (AMH) 1951-1952
Volume 107			Payment statements (AMH) 1953
Volume 108			Payment statements (AMH) 1953
Volume 109			Payment statements (AMH) 1954
Volume 110			Payment statements (AMH) 1954
Volume 111			Payment statements (AMH) Jan-Aug 1955
		Trust Companies
Volume 112			Trust Companies (Bankers Union T.) 1951-1955
Volume 113			Bank of New York & Trust Co. 1925-1926
Volume 114			Trusts 1952-1953
Volume 115			Recent trusts 1951-1955
Volume 116			Miscellaneous statements 1947-1948
Volume 117			Miscellaneous statements 1951-1953
		Miscellaneous
Volume 118			Misc. banks 1946
Volume 119			Misc. banks 1953
Volume 120			U.S. Trust Co. undated
Volume 121			U.S. Trust Co. undated
Volume 122			New York Trust Co. 1945-1951
Volume 123			Daily records 1943
Volume 124			Chemical, Haverstraw & South Carolina 1947-1948
Volume 125			Cheques (misc.) 1950-1954
Volume 126			Lawyers Trust Co. 1946-1949
Volume 127			Guaranty Trust Co. of New York 1947-1951
Volume 128			Bankers Trust Co. 1950-1951
Volume 129			Misc. Q-Z undated
Volume 130			Taxes, cheques, etc. 1949-1950
Volume 131			Taxes, banks (Haverstrom) 1952-1953
Volume 132			Taxes 1953-1955
Volume 133			Taxes 1950-1952
Volume 134			Hall of Fame 1955
Volume 135			J.P. Morgan Co. 1947-1949
Volume 136			Gifts of land and objects (GI) 1915-1930
Volume 137			Gifts of land and objects (GI) 1917-1940
Volume 138			Gifts and endowments 1948-1952
Volume 139			Gifts and endowments 1930s
			Transfiles 1 and 2, loose papers

Return to top