Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Huntington family
Title:	Huntington Estate Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1955-1976
Quantity:	12 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers from the estate of the Huntington family.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

The Huntington family were businessmen, art collectors, and philanthropists in early 20th century New York. Collis P. Huntington was a railroad builder and financier; he and his wife Arabella Duval Huntington collected art and supported various charities. Their son, Archer Milton Huntington, was an American philanthropist and poet and together with his wife, noted sculptor Anna Hyatt Huntington, became an enthusiastic patron of the arts.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Huntington Estate Papers consist primarily of legal and financial papers relating to the businesses and estates of Collis P. Huntington and his wife Arabella, and their son Archer Milton Huntingon and his wife Anna Vaughn Hyatt Huntington. The material includes bank statements, bills, correspondence, litigation documents, receipts, taxes, trust documents, wills, and similar material.

The collection has not been processed and the inventory below is a simple box list.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the following:

Anna Hyatt Huntington Papers
Arabella Huntington Papers
Archer Milton Huntington Papers
Collis P. Huntington Papers

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Huntington Estate Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: unknown
Revision history: 1 Nov 2006 - converted to EAD (AMCon)

Return to top

Inventory

	Huntington estate papers
Box 1		Financial - legal
Box 1		Income tax 1971
Box 1		Income tax return 1970
Box 1		Conn. cap. gains + div. tax 1971
Box 1		Capital gains tax conn. 1969
Box 1		Income tax return 1966
Box 1		Bills and receipts 1969
Box 1		American tel + tel easement
Box 1		Park and forest matters
Box 1		Corres, re gift tax returns
Box 1		Gift tax returns 1955-1956, 1963, 1965-1966, 1969-1973 (9 folders)
Box 1		Work Horse and Sancho Panza statues
Box 1		Power of attorney
Box 1		Suspense file
Box 1		Deed American Geographical Society
Box 1		Custodian acct. from 1967
Box 1		Annuities - general papers
Box 1		Trusts - general papers
Box 1		U.S. Trust Co. cash statements from 1967
Box 1		U.S. Trust Co. corres. 1967
Box 1		U.S. Trust Co. thru 1966
Box 1		U.S. Trust Co.
Box 2		Bank of NY cash statements 1966, 1967 (2 folders)
Box 2		Hanover Trust Co. cash statements 1967
Box 2		Hanover Tr. Co. general trust papers
Box 2		Hanover Tr. Co. security statements 1967
Box 2		Hanover Tr. thru 1966
Box 2		Sculpture Trust
Box 2		Huntington financial/legal - restricted
Box 2		Huntington, Anna Hyatt notes, drafts, worksheets, office memos
Box 2		Ryle, Adelina and Edward F.
Box 2		Anna Hyatt Huntington - re: bequests to natl. sculpt society + natl. acad. of design
Box 2		Robert Carluzzi purchase
Box 2		Federal income tax 1969
Box 2		Income tax 1967
Box 2		Fed. income tax 1972, 1973 (2 folders)
Box 2		Brookgreen Gardens
Box 2		Matter of Edward D. and Susan M. Rose
Box 3		Farm operations matters
Box 3		Account - State Planters Bank
Box 3		Morgan Guaranty Trust Co. - genl. corres. all trusts and investment programs (2 folders)
Box 3		Anna Hyatt Huntington - Morgan - Guaranty Trust - Trust No. 1, Dec. 1955
Box 3		Anna H. Huntington Park
Box 3		Real Estate - conveyance to rilling
		Estate of Archer M. Huntington
Box 4			Exhibit B - third group copies of trust investments
Box 4			Exhibit B2 - First and second groups list of items comprising corpora of trusts and Exhibit D copies of annuity contracts
Box 4			Form E-3 Exhibit A - Ante Mortem gifts explanatory Exhibits A, B, C & D
Box 4			Index to files and legal memos (3 copies)
Box 4			Sunset Hill Road, Redding, Connecticut parcel "A"
Box 4			Last will and testament of Archer Milton Huntington (33 copies)
Box 4			A.M Huntington 2357 - A/8 executor's accounting
Box 4			A-4 inventory
Box 4			A-7 paid bills for admin. expenses
Box 4			A-5 copies of AMH will
Box 4			Redding probate court
Box 4			Estate of Archer M. Huntington Jan 1963 - correspondence
Box 5			Exhibit B - Third group copies of trust instruments
Box 5			2357/B corres. 1/1/62
Box 5			Correspondence file 1/1/60 - 12/28/61
Box 5			Correspondence file 2357 1955-1961 (5 folders)
Box 5		Loose papers of the Connecticut Bank and Trust co. and Anna Hyatt Huntington Trustees - Archer M. Huntington Trust
Box 5		Anna Hyatt Huntington Trust in Account with Hartford National Bank and Trust Co.
Box 5		City Natl. Bank
Box 5		The Bridgeport City Trust Co.
Box 5		City National Bank
Box 6		JP Morgan Copies - Archer C Huntington 2357 - C 1955-1957 (3 folders)
Box 6		Misc. Information on Trusts 2357 D
Box 6		Will of Collis P. Huntington (also) will of Henry P. Huntington 3/13/97
Box 6		Archer M. Huntington Trust by Arabella H. 2357 D - 2 1997-1999 (5 folders)
Box 6		Huntington, Archer 2357 D (23 folders)
			2357 D 9, 9A, 9B 2357 D 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 2357 D 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29
Box 7		Huntington, Archer 2357 D, cont. (29 folders)
			2357 D 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39 2357 D 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49A, 49B, 49C, 49D 2357 D 50, 51A, 52, 53, 54, 55
Box 7		Bank of New York litigation
Box 7		Conveyance to charities
Box 8		2357 L-3 Preparation of return
Box 8		2357 L-4 Copies of JPM letters - life-time gifts
Box 8		2357 L-5 Supporting documents - extra copies
Box 8		2357 L-6 Audit conference notes
Box 8		2357 L-7 Audit memos and copies of correspondence
Box 8		2357 L-8 Recomputations following audit
Box 8		2357 L-9 Claim for refund
Box 8		2357 L-10 Federal income gift taxes
Box 8		2357 L- 11 Conn. taxes
Box 8		Forms 1041 #2357 L/15 Fiduciary income tax return
Box 8		2357 L/16 Allocation
Box 8		Estate of Archer M. Huntington allocation of refund 2357-L-17
Box 9		2357 M1 - Legal memos - will construction generally
Box 9		2357 M2 - Legal memos - apportionment, proration and contribution
Box 9		2357 M3 - Legal memos - probate procedure generally
Box 9		2357 M5 - Legal memos - investment powers
Box 9		2357 M6 - New York Estate Tax and Real Estate
Box 9		2357 M7 - Legal memos - Arabella D. Huntington Trusts
Box 9		2357 M8 - Legal memos - Collis P. Huntington Will interpretation
Box 9		2357 N Billing records and information
Box 9		Morgan Guaranty Trust Co. of NY PE 600 Tabulation of Securities 8/58 - 1/63
Box 9		Estate of Archer M. Huntington P-00600 12/21/60 - 12/15/64
Box 9		Archer M. Huntington PE006000 Current 1963
Box 9		PE858 (4 folders)
Box 10		Archer M. Huntington 2357 0-1 PE00600 correspondence
		Estate of Archer M. Huntington PE 600
Box 10			U-1 N.Y. Litigation Estate of Collis P. Huntington 12/55 - 10/59
		Estate of Arabella D. Huntington 2357 P
Box 10			Arabella Est. Taxes N.Y. + Cal. 2357 (4)
Box 10			Arabella Accounting 2357 (5)
Box 10			File Ancillary Administration and Fed. Est. Tax 2357 (6) P
Box 10		Arabella Huntington Trust Inter - Vivos Trust 2357 V4 1897-1899
Box 10		Arabella Huntington Trust Inter - Vivos 2357 V-3 + V-4
Box 10		2357 U - 2 N.Y. Litigation estate of Arabella D. Huntington
Box 11		2357/1 Correspondence litigation +63 1/2/62
Box 11		2357 Z/6 Connecticut Practice
Box 11		Est. Archer M. Huntington 2357 - V Redondo stock sale (2 folders)
Box 11		Estate of Archer M. Huntington
Box 11		Sources of information
Box 11		Memoranda to counsel
Box 11		Davis and Cheney Docket
Box 11		Satisfaction of orders of executor's accounts
Box 11		Satisfaction of orders of proration
Box 11		Correspondence March 16, 1974
Box 11		Estate of Anna H. Huntington
Box 11		Anna H. Huntington correspondence 1976
		Est. Anna H. Huntington
Box 11			4717 B correspondence 1975
Box 12			4717 BB Copies of Bank of N.Y. correspondence
Box 12			4717 F work in progress
Box 12			Fee information
Box 12			4717 Federal estate tax
Box 12			4717 I#2 Federal estate audit
Box 12			4717 I#2 J notes and memos
Box 12			4717J Conn. succession tax
Box 12			4717 final account
Box 12			Bank of New York (Duplicate) financial statements #4717- L
Box 12			4717 D extra copies
Box 12			2358L will file correspondence
Box 12			4717C Personal income tax (empty file)
Box 12			4717H Estate income tax
Box 12			4717E Inventory
Box 12			4717Q Judicial proceeds for settlement Archer M. Huntington
Box 12		Bank of New York as Trustee of eight trusts established by Archer M. Huntington

Return to top