Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Husted, James. |
| Title: | James Husted Diary |
| Inclusive Dates: | 10 May-11 Nov 1861 |
| Quantity: | 1 v. (SC) |
| Abstract: | Diary of a soldier in the Union Army during the Civil War. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
James Husted (fl. 1861) was an American soldier who fought for Union forces during the American Civil War. He was posted to Fort Runyon in Fairfax County, Virginia.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
Spanning May 10 to November 11, 1861, the Civil War diary of James A. Husted documents the movements of Company B, 21st Regiment, New York State Volunteers. Husted eloquently describes his departure from Buffalo:
...marched up Batavia St. and down W. Genesee to Niagara Square where we were joined by 14th Reg't. Continentals commanded by ex-President Fillmore...and a large crowd of citizens formed in line headed by Union Cornet Band. Marched down Main St. to Church where a Flag was raised on first Church. Speaking by Rev. Dr. Thompson & others, singing by Glee Club. Street and buildings crowded with citizens, stores trimmed with Streamers of Red, White & Blue and Flags, marched to Depot followed by the immense concorse (sic). Great time amongst the boys bidding their Friends goodbye which are repeated over and over again. At 5 the bell rings. The last farewell is said and last kiss given and the Train moves slowly off leaving many a Sad Heart and moistened eye.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
James Husted Diary
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Finding Aid Information
Created by: KM
Date: Dec 1996
Revision history:
18 Nov 2008 - converted to EAD (LDC)