Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Johnson, Ferd, 1905-
Title:	Ferd Johnson Cartoons
Inclusive Dates:	1946-1965
Quantity:	2 linear ft.
Abstract:	Original daily and Sunday cartoons from the newspaper comic strips Moon Mullins (1959, 1962-1965), Texas Slim (1950-1952) and Buzzy (1946-1947, 1950).
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Ferdinand Johnson (1905-1996), commonly known as Ferd Johnson, was an American cartoonist. He was Frank Willard's assistant and eventual successor on the comic strip Moon Mullins.

Born December 18, 1905, in Spring Creek, Pennsylvania, Johnson became interested in cartooning after winning the Erie (Pa.) Dispatch-Herald cartoon contest at the age of 12. After finishing high school in 1923 he attended the Chicago Academy of Fine Arts but left school after only three months to take an assistant's job at the Chicago Tribune with Frank Willard who had recently created the Moon Mullins comic strip.

While assisting on Moon Mullins, Johnson remained active with other Tribune projects. He created several comic strip features for the Syndicate—Texas Slim (1925-1928) and Lovey-Dovey (1932)—did sports illustration work and produced advertising cartoons. In 1940 he revived Texas Slim in Texas Slim and Dirty Dalton (with the companion strip, Buzzy), which ran for 18 years. After Willard's death in 1958 he took over full responsibility for Moon Mullins, which he continued to draw (assisted in later years by his son, Tom) until his retirement in 1991.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ferd Johnson Cartoons collection consists of:

• 176 original daily cartoons and 28 original Sunday cartoons from the newspaper comic strip Moon Mullins (with Sunday companion strip, Kitty Higgins) (1959, 1962-1965). Daily cartoon: traces of graphite, blue pencil, opaque white, zipatone, pasteovers, brush, pen and ink on illustration board, approx. 6 x 17 ½ in. Sunday cartoon: traces of graphite, blue pencil, opaque white, pasteovers, brush, pen and ink on illustration board, approx. 17 x 24 ½ in.
• 9 original Sunday cartoons from the comic strip Texas Slim (1950-1952). Sunday cartoon: traces of graphite, blue pencil, opaque white, pasteovers, brush, pen and ink on illustration board, approx. 10 ½ x 24 in.
• 46 original Sunday cartoons from the Texas Slim companion strip, Buzzy (1946-1947, 1950). Sunday cartoon: traces of graphite, brush, pen and ink on illustration board, approx. 5 ½ x 23 ½ in.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Cartoons are arranged by title in chronological order. Daily and Sunday cartoons are housed separately.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Other original Moon Mullins strips may be found in the Frank Willard Cartoons.

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over eighty cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Associated Titles

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ferd Johnson Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ferd Johnson, 1967.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: GBS
Date: 1968
Revision history: 12 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 8 Apr 2009 - revised (MD)

Return to top

Inventory

	Buzzy
		Click here for detailed inventory.
		Sunday cartoons (46)
Oversize 1			1946 Apr - 1950 May

	Moon Mullins
		Click here for detailed inventory.
		Daily cartoons (176)
Box 1			1959 Jan - 1965 Nov
		Sunday cartoons [with Kitty Higgins companion strip] (28)
Oversize 1			1962 Jan - 1964 Jan

	Texas Slim
		Click here for detailed inventory.
		Sunday cartoons (9)
Oversize 1			1950 Aug - 1952 Dec

Return to top