Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Kathleen Kearney Keeshen Papers relating to Marguerite Higgins
A description of her papers at Syracuse University
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Keeshen, Kathleen Kearney |
| Title: | Kathleen Kearney Keeshen Papers relating to Marguerite Higgins |
| Inclusive Dates: | circa 1940-1980 |
| Quantity: | 6 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Files, notes, interviews, and other research material accumulated by Kearney' for her thesis and dissertation on journalist Marguerite Higgins |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Marguerite Higgins (1920-1966), pioneering newspaperwoman, columnist, and author, was best known for reporting from the front lines during the Korean War. Honored as the first woman to receive a Pulitzer Prize for coverage of international affairs (1951), she had a long career with the New York Herald Tribune (1942-1963), and later, as a syndicated columnist for Newsday (1963-1965). She also wrote books on reporting, Korea, Russia and Vietnam, and contributed articles to several other newspapers and magazines including America, the Evening Star (Washington, D.C.), Mademoiselle, and McCall'. She made television appearances on shows such as "Meet the Press" and "Today." A frequently requested lecturer, she traveled as extensively inside the U.S. as abroad. She visited Vietnam several times, and while touring there in 1965 contracted leishmaniasis, a parasitic disease, which forced her to return to the U.S. where she died in Washington D.C. on January 3, 1966 at age 45. She is buried in Arlington National Cemetery.
Kathleen Kearney Keeshen (1937- ) worked for IBM for many years and earned multiple degrees, including a master's and PhD from the University of Maryland. For her thesis and dissertation on journalist Marguerite Higgins, Keeshen gathered extensive research material and interviewed Higgins’s fellow reporters, military officials, husbands, and other who knew her well. Keeshen later developed a friendship with author Jennet Conant, who referred to Keeshen as "a fellow Higgins obsessive." Keeshen allowed her Higgins material to be used extensively by Conant in the preparation of Conant's book Fierce Ambition: The Life and Legend of War Correspondent Maggie Higgins (W.W. Norton, 2023).
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Kathleen Kearney Keeshen Papers relating to Marguerite Higgins consists of subject files, interviews, correspondence, research notes, and other material accumulated by Keeshen in the 1970s and 1980s, while writing her master's thesis and PhD dissertation (University of Maryland) on journalist Marguerite Higgins.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact SCRC for more information.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Kathleen Kearney Keeshen Papers relating to Marguerite Higgins,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Kathleen Kearney Keeshen, 2024.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 16 Jul 2024
Revision history:
Inventory
An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.