Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Syracuse University Kellogg Project.
Title:	Syracuse University Kellogg Project Records
Inclusive Dates:	1977-1994
Quantity:	3 linear ft.
Abstract:	Documenting the history of adult education archival collections at Syracuse University. Collection includes reports, registers of collections, audiocassettes, data tapes, and other material.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Ave., Suite 600 Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center/university-archives

Biographical History

The Syracuse University Kellogg Project was instituted in 1986 with the aim of increasing the visibility of and access to the University's extensive archival collections in the field of adult education. The project was sponsored by the W.K. Kellogg Foundation of Battle Creek, Michigan, and based in the Adult Education Graduate Program. The goals were to process, promote research on, and provide broad access to the collections using the then-cutting-edge technologies of laser discs and optical character recognition (OCR). The program predated the general use of the Internet and as such encountered numerous challenges in terms of technology, interoperability, and proprietary software/hardware.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Syracuse University Kellogg Project Records contains files relating to the adult education project.

Administrative records contain documents relating to the internal administration and structure of the project. This includes rosters, budget information, and grant details. There is also a small amount of meeting agenda and minutes related to the internal advisory board.

Clippings consist of two folders of clippings relating to SU's adult education collections and articles about adult education in general.

Correspondence-subject files primarily consist of information about individuals and companies involved in the project. of note are the files related to Plexus Computers, which helped facilitate the transfer of data onto the then cutting-edge technology of optical disks.

Recordings include a number of oral histories about adult education, as well as recordings regarding conference in the early 1990s. All recordings are stored on cassette tapes.

Reports make up the majority of the collection. These reports include newsletters, several academic paper series, and progress reports relating to the status of the Kellogg Project. There are also several reports providing an inventory of SU's adult education collections as they existed at the time of the project's execution.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Administrative records, clippings, correspondence-subject files, recordings, and reports are ordered alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to recordings requires advance notice in order for staff to produce a use copy.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Syracuse University Kellogg Project Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Bulk of material, gift of Roger Hiemstra, 1999.

Additions, gift of Alex Charters, 2005.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 14 Sep 2010
Revision history: 23 Oct 2025 - processed (CPS)

Return to top

Inventory

	Administrative Records
Box 1		About the project undated
Box 1		Budget 1986, undated
Box 1		Call for porposal of digital storage system 1987, undated
Box 1		Event information 1988
		Grants
Box 1			Kellogg Application Program 1988-1989
Box 1			Proposal to establish the Kellogg Discipline History Center July 1989
Box 1			Proposal to the Kellogg Foundation May 1986
		Internal advisory board
Box 1			Meeting agendas and planning 1987-1989
Box 1			Meeting minutes 1987-1989
Box 1		Rosters, advisory boards and staff undated
Box 6		[Database backup] Informix Archive 3/13/91 - presumably database backup at end of project (Magnetic data tape: 9-track) (ID#: kellogg_proj_026)
Box 6		[Database backup] root dump 3/13/91 - presumably database backup at end of project (Magnetic data tape: 9-track) (ID#: kellogg_proj_027)

	Clippings
Box 1		About SU adult education collections 1986-1988
Box 1		Miscellaneous 1985-1987, undated

	Correspondence subject-files
Box 1		AEDNET (Adult Education Network) undated
Box 1		Candidates for adult education professor/historian 1986-1987
			Two candidates: Martin, Theodora Penny; Rachal, John
Box 1		Charters. Alexander 1986-1989
Box 1		Coherent Research, Inc. 1989
Box 1		Davis, Carolyn 1986-1987 - Internal advisory board member.
Box 1		Hinton, Marybeth 1986
Box 1		Keenan, Terry 1986-1989 - SU's adult education librarian at the time of the project
Box 1		Kellogg Room 1987
Box 1		Optical disk system 1986-1989
Box 1		Plexus Computers database 1987
Box 1		Plexus Computers phase II 1988
Box 2		Stanley, Manfred 1986-1990, undated
Box 2		Visiting scholar program 1987-1989
			See also: Reports: Visiting scholar conference.

	Recordings
Box 6		Alex Charters AUEC/ACHE [Association of University Evening Colleges/Association of Continuing Higher Education] 1-21-88 - interview with Alex Charters done by Lydia Lavin; includes release form (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: kellogg_proj_002)
Box 6		Alexander Charters interview 3/2/88 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: kellogg_proj_004)
Box 6		Bill and Delight [Dixon] Omohundro: Market research, tape 1 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: kellogg_proj_024)
Box 6		Bill [and Delight Dixon] Omohundro: Market research, tape 2 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: kellogg_proj_001)
Box 6		Biography 1 (Audio cassette) (ID#: kellogg_proj_022)
Box 6		Biography 2 (Audio cassette) (ID#: kellogg_proj_023)
Box 6		Challenges to writing history, parts 1 and 2 3/23/90 (Audio cassette) (ID#: kellogg_proj_021)
Box 6		Challenges to writing history, part 3; The development of concepts, part 1 and 2 3/23/90 (Audio cassette) (ID#: kellogg_proj_015)
Box 6		Class issues (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: kellogg_proj_006)
Box 6		[Harold] Stubblefield/[Patrick] Keane 3/21/90 (Audio cassette) (ID#: kellogg_proj_018)
Box 6		[Patrick] Keane: History Conference, Syracuse 1990 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: kellogg_proj_009)
Box 6		[Helen S.] Cameron/[Amy D.] Rose; D. Sharp/[Jeffrey] Zacharakis-Jutz 3/24/90 (Audio cassette) (ID#: kellogg_proj_013)
Box 6		[Jeffrey] Zacharakis-Jutz (continuation); [Colleen M.] Sexton/C. Morgan; C. Morgan/[Joan N.] Burstyn 3/24/90 (Audio cassette) (ID#: kellogg_proj_017)
Box 6		[Joan N.] Burstyn (continuation); Evaluation and Planning 3/24/90 (Audio cassette) (ID#: kellogg_proj_020)
Box 6		History Conference introductions 3/17/91 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: kellogg_proj_012)
Box 6		[Huey B.] Long/V.M. Shah 3/23/90 (Audio cassette) (ID#: kellogg_proj_014)
Box 6		Luke (beginning) (Audio cassette) (ID#: kellogg_proj_016)
Box 6		Michael Laven Pamphlet Collect 6/18/87 (Audio cassette; running time 93:00) (ID#: kellogg_proj_003)
Box 6		Otey Scruggs (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: kellogg_proj_010)
Box 6		Otey Scruggs (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: kellogg_proj_011)
Box 6		Panel: Implications of race, class, and gender in historical research, tape 1 3/17/91 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: kellogg_proj_005)
Box 6		Panel: Implications of race, class, and gender in historical research, tape 2 3/17/91 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: kellogg_proj_007)
Box 6		[Paul Jay] Edelson/[Hilton] Bonniwell]; [Hilton] Bonniwell/C. Casey 3/22/90 (Audio cassette) (ID#: kellogg_proj_019)
Box 6		C. Casey (continuation) 3/22/90 (Audio cassette) (ID#: kellogg_proj_025)
Box 6		Summary session (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: kellogg_proj_008)

	Reports
Box 2		Blue book summary label descriptions July 1987
Box 2		Adult and continuing education collections: a descriptive list of manuscript holdings May 1977 (2 folders)
Box 2		"Computers and the elderly program at SU" August 1991
Box 2		Cursory examination of the contents of 140 boxes and 2 envelopes undated
Box 2		"Introduction to archival research" May 1990
Box 2		"Kellogg Project's International Information Sharing Network" by Dosa Martin August 1987
		New Horizons
Box 2			v. 1-2, no. 1 and 5/13/88 1987-1988
Box 2			v. 2, no. 11/21/88 1988
Box 2			v. 3, no. 12/89 1989
Box 2			v. 4, no. 9/90 1990
Box 3			v. 5, no. 1 1991
Box 3		Newsletters 1987-1990
		Occasional Papers
Box 3			No. 1 "Radical thinking in adult education" February 1989 (2 folders)
Box 3			No. 8 "Information transfer as development assistance" May 1988
		Progress Reports
Box 3			1990-1991 report 1991 (2 folders)
Box 3			1991-1992 Report 1992 (3 folders)
Box 4			1991-1992 Report 1992
Box 4			1992-1993 Report 1993
Box 4			Final report 1994
		Technical reports
Box 4			No. 1 "Computer conferencing" February 1989
Box 4			No. 2 "Documenting adult education" Octboer 1989
Box 4			No. 3 "The electronic journal" February 1990
Box 4			No. 4 "English language adult education books" February 1991
Box 4			No. 5 "Adult education thesaurus" April 1991 (3 folders)
Box 5			No. 5 "Adult education thesaurus" April 1991 (2 folders)
Box 5			No. 6 "Kellogg library and archive retrieval system" August 1991
Box 5		Update on activities May 1990 (2 folders)
		Visiting scholar conference
			See also: Correspondence-subject files: Visiting scholar program.
Box 5			"Codification and exclusion" by Paul J. Edelson 1990
Box 5			"Twentieth century social and contextual factors..." by Huey B. Long 1990
Box 5		Miscellaneous 1986-1989
			"Some modes of information dissemination"; "School of Information Studies Kellogg Project component 1987"; "Result of the Kellogg Project indexing subcommittee's work"; "Quarterly report for the period Jan.-Apr. 1989."

Return to top