Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Louis Krasner Papers

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Krasner, Louis, 1903-1995.
Title: Louis Krasner Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1949-1988
Bulk Dates: 1971-1973
Quantity: 2.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, notes, clippings, and other material relating to musician, composer, WCNY radio host, and Syracuse University music professor Louis Krasner
Language: Majority in English, scattered items in French and German.
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Louis Krasner (1903-1995) was a renowned Ukrainian-born American classical violinist. He is perhaps best known for commissioning and premiering Alban Berg's famous violin concerto. He studied at the New England Conservatory and performed as a virtuoso recitalist in the 1920s and 1930s. In 1944 Krasner was named concertmaster of the Minneapolis Symphony Orchestra, a post he left in1949 to join the faculty of Syracuse University where he taught violin and chamber music until 1972. He was an active contributor to local radio station WCNY, hosting a program entitled "What's With Music," and also taught at the New England Conservatory and at Tanglewood.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Louis Krasner Papers consists of correspondence, memorabilia, notes, clippings and other material. The majority dates from the period shortly after Krasner's retirement from Syracuse University while he was working at local radio station WCNY as host of the show "What's With Music."

Correspondence contains incoming and outgoing. Incoming includes letters to WCNY about their programming, particularly Krasner's show.

Memorabilia contains biographical material and clippings and press releases about Krasner. It also includes two photographic albums signed and inscribed by Krasner to a Mrs. Howe.

Recordings contains test pressings, recordings for radio broadcast, and other non-commercial content. Most of them feature Krasner as performer, conductor, or director. The format is primarily lacquer discs, with a few tape reels.

Scores contains a number of pieces of music, none written by Krasner. Composers represented include Robert Erickson, Earl George, Alexandru Hrisanide, Richard Swift and William Valente, among others.

Subject files consists of material on a variety of topics. Subjects include musicians and music in modern society; various competitions such as the Leventritt Competition and the NPR-sponsored choral competition "Let the People Sing"; proposals by Krasner shortly after his retirement; programs, clippings and Krasner's own notes for several seasons of the Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music, several of whose concerts were broadcast on WCNY; Hungarian violinist Joseph Szigreti, who died in 1973 and whose work was featured in six one-hour programs on WCNY; What's With Music, a program hosted by Krasner on WCNY; and of course several folders of material relating to WCNY and Krasner's work with them in general.

A small amount of Miscellany completes the collection. There is a set of index cards of unknown purpose (perhaps Krasner's own inventory of his papers?), and three spiral notebooks filled with Krasner's notes on music, music programs, and so on.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by type of material.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to audiovisual material requires advance notice to produce a use copy.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Recordings from the collection have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.

See also the Louis Krasner Collection of Bookplates and Ephemera. For recordings of Krasner's performances please search the Classic Catalog or contact the repository listed above for a complete listing. The Syracuse University Archives is the repository of material related to Krasner's teaching activities in the School of Music.

Other Louis Krasner papers are held by Harvard University and the New England Conservatory.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Eberhart, Richard, 1904-2005.
Erickson, Robert, 1917-1997.
George, Earl, 1924-1994.
Harris, Donald.
Hrisanide, Alexandru, 1936-
Krasner, Louis, 1903-1995.
Swift, Richard, 1927-2003.
Szigeti, Joseph, 1892-1973.
Valente, William, 1934-1993.

Corporate Bodies

Syracuse University. -- College of Visual and Performing Arts. -- Faculty.
WCNY (Television station : Syracuse, N.Y.)

Subjects

American composers.
Composers -- United States.
Music -- Instruction and study.
Music -- New York (State) -- Syracuse.
Radio programs.
Violin teachers.
Violinists -- United States.

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Intellectual life.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Engravings.
Photographs.
Programs (documents)
Research notes.
Speeches (documents)

Occupations

Musicians.
Musicologists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Louis Krasner Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Louis Krasner.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 1 Nov 2011
Revision history: 7 Nov 2011 - updated related material (MRC); 21 Jul 2021 - added albums (RMH); 23 Apr 2024 - recordings added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

Recordings from the collection have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.

Correspondence
Box 1 Incoming 1957-1958, 1972-1973 - includes letters to WCNY concerning Krasner's program
Box 1 Outgoing 1971-1973
Memorabilia
Albums - engravings or etchings; both signed and inscribed by Krasner to a Mrs. Howe
Box 3 Berlin 1922
Box 3 Berlin-Potsdam 1923
Box 1 Biographical sketches
Box 1 Clippings about 1949-1950, 1963, 1967-1971, 1977
Box 1 Press releases 1971-1973
Box 1 Programs 1948, 1973, 1984 - 2 for concerts, 1 for a conference at which Krasner participated in a panel discussion
Recordings
Note on alternate formats: Recordings from the collection have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.
Oversize 6 Alban Berg: Concerto, Adrienne [Galimir], piano, Louis Krasner, violin, parts 1 and 4 [disc 1 of 3] 1/4/45;1/22/45 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_076)
Oversize 6 Alban Berg: Concerto, Adrienne [Galimir], piano, Louis Krasner, violin, parts 2 and 5 [disc 3 of 3] 1/4/45;1/22/45 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_078)
Oversize 6 Alban Berg: Concerto, Adrienne [Galimir], piano, Louis Krasner, violin, parts 3 and 6 [disc 2 of 3] 1/4/45;1/22/45 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_077)
Oversize 4 Alban Berg: Concerto, parts 1 and 4 [disc 1 of 3] 12-30-45 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_073)
Oversize 4 Alban Berg: Concerto, parts 2 and 5 [disc 2 of 3] 12-30-45 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_074)
Oversize 4 Alban Berg: Concerto, parts 3 and 6 [disc 3 of 3] 12-30-45 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_075)
Alban Berg: Violin concerto, Louis Krasner, violin, part 1; Fun for your money: Glen lake boy's school, part 1 12/20/1945;12/30/1945 - side 2: intro announces "... from Hennepin County Home School for Boys" correction facility, faint voices before locked groove at ending (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_001)
Alban Berg: Violin concerto, Louis Krasner, violin, part 2; Fun for your money: Glen lake boy's school 12/20/1945; 12/30/1945 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_002)
Oversize 5 Alban Berg: Violinkonzert, BBC Orchestra, A. Webern, dirigént, Louis Krasner, violinsolo, part 1 and 3 [copy 1] 1936 (Grooved analog disc) (ID#: krasner_l_162)
Oversize 5 Alban Berg: Violinkonzert, BBC Orchestra, A. Webern, dirigént, Louis Krasner, violinsolo, part 1 and 3 [copy 2] 1936 (Grooved analog disc) (ID#: krasner_l_166)
Oversize 5 Alban Berg: Violinkonzert, BBC Orchestra, A. Webern, dirigént, Louis Krasner, violinsolo, part 2 and 4 [copy 1] 1936 (Grooved analog disc) (ID#: krasner_l_163)
Oversize 5 Alban Berg: Violinkonzert, BBC Orchestra, A. Webern, dirigént, Louis Krasner, violinsolo, part 2 and 4 [copy 2] 1936 (Grooved analog disc) (ID#: krasner_l_167)
Oversize 5 Alban Berg: Violinkonzert, BBC Orchestra, A. Webern, dirigént, Louis Krasner, violinsolo, part 5 and 7 [copy 1] 1936 (Grooved analog disc) (ID#: krasner_l_164)
Oversize 5 Alban Berg: Violinkonzert, BBC Orchestra, A. Webern, dirigént, Louis Krasner, violinsolo, part 5 and 7 [copy 2] 1936 (Grooved analog disc) (ID#: krasner_l_168)
Oversize 5 Alban Berg: Violinkonzert, BBC Orchestra, A. Webern, dirigént, Louis Krasner, violinsolo, part 6 and 8 [copy 1] 1936 (Grooved analog disc) (ID#: krasner_l_165)
Oversize 5 Alban Berg: Violinkonzert, BBC Orchestra, A. Webern, dirigént, Louis Krasner, violinsolo, part 6 and 8 [copy 2] 1936 (Grooved analog disc) (ID#: krasner_l_169)
Oversize 6 Alban Bruch: Violin solo, Londonderry Air, Louis Krasner, violin, Adrienne Galimir [copy 2] 2/24/45;4/3/45 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_079)
Oversize 5 Bach: Musical Offering, Blake undated (Vinyl record) (ID#: krasner_l_179)
Oversize 4 Beethoven String Quartet No 2 Op 18 in G major, Louis Krasner [disc 2 of 2] 8/1950 - side 3 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_107)
Oversize 4 Beethoven: Kreutzer sonata [disc 1 of 4] 4/26/49 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_098)
Side 1: 1st movement, part 1; Side 8: 3rd movement, part 2. Announcer: Minnesota University of the Air, Kreutzer Sonata No. 9 Amaj Op. 47, I adagio sostenuto presto, II andante con variazioni, III presto.
Oversize 4 Beethoven: Kreutzer sonata [disc 2 of 4] 4/26/49 - side 2: 1st movement, part 2; side 7: 3rd movement, part 1 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_099)
Oversize 4 Beethoven: Kreutzer sonata [disc 3 of 4] 4/26/49 - side 3: 1st movement, part 3; side 6: 2nd movement, part 3 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_100)
Oversize 4 Beethoven: Kreutzer sonata [disc 4 of 4] 4/26/49 - side 4: 2nd movement, part 1; side 5: 2nd movement, part 2 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_101)
Oversize 5 Berg [disc 1 of 6] undated - Columbia test pressing with illegible note (Grooved analog disc) (ID#: krasner_l_156)
Oversize 5 Berg [disc 2 of 6] undated - Columbia test pressing with illegible note (Grooved analog disc) (ID#: krasner_l_157)
Oversize 5 Berg [disc 3 of 6] undated - Columbia test pressing with illegible note (Grooved analog disc) (ID#: krasner_l_158)
Oversize 5 Berg [disc 4 of 6] undated - Columbia test pressing with illegible note (Grooved analog disc) (ID#: krasner_l_159)
Oversize 5 Berg [disc 5 of 6] undated - Columbia test pressing with illegible note (Grooved analog disc) (ID#: krasner_l_160)
Oversize 5 Berg [disc 6 of 6] undated - Columbia test pressing with illegible note (Grooved analog disc) (ID#: krasner_l_161)
Oversize 5 Berg violin concerto I: Andante allegretto conclusion; Berg violin concerto II: Allegro, adagio [disc 2 of 3] undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_139)
Oversize 5 Berg violin concerto I: Andante allegretto parts 1 and 2 [disc 1 of 3] undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_138)
Oversize 5 Berg violin concerto II: Allegro, adagio conclusion; Berg violin concerto II: Allegro, adagio part 2 [disc 3 of 3] undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_140)
Oversize 4 Berg: Concerto [disc 3 of 3] 12/30/1945 - side 4 and 6 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_108)
Oversize 3 Berg: Concerto for violin and orchestra [disc 1 of 3] 12/30/1945 - side 1 and 3 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_054)
Oversize 3 Berg: Concerto for violin and orchestra [disc 2 of 3] 12/30/1945 - side 2 and 5 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_055)
Oversize 3 Berg: Concerto for violin and orchestra, Chautauqua Symphony Orchestra, Walter Hendl, conductor, Louis Krasner, violinist undated - side 1: first movement; side 2: last movement (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_056)
Oversize 3 Berg: Concerto for violin, piano and 13 wind instruments, parts 1 and 2 05/21/1948 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_044)
Oversize 3 Berg: Concerto for violin, piano and 13 wind instruments, parts 3 and 4 05/21/1948 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_045)
Oversize 3 Berg: Concerto for violin, piano and 13 wind instruments, parts 5 and 6 05/21/1948 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_046)
Oversize 3 Berg: Concerto for violin, piano and 13 wind instruments, parts 7 and 8 05/21/1948 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_047)
Oversize 4 Berg: Concerto for violin, piano and 13 wind instruments, parts 9 and 10 05/21/1948 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_048)
Oversize 5 Berg: Violin concerto, Louis Krasner, violin, Webern, conductor [disc 1 of 8] undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_141)
Oversize 5 Berg: Violin concerto, Louis Krasner, violin, Webern, conductor [disc 2 of 8] undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_142)
Oversize 5 Berg: Violin concerto, Louis Krasner, violin, Webern, conductor [disc 3 of 8] undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_143)
Oversize 5 Berg: Violin concerto, Louis Krasner, violin, Webern, conductor [disc 4 of 8] undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_144)
Oversize 5 Berg: Violin concerto, Louis Krasner, violin, Webern, conductor [disc 5 of 8] undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_145)
Oversize 5 Berg: Violin concerto, Louis Krasner, violin, Webern, conductor [disc 6 of 8] undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_146)
Oversize 5 Berg: Violin concerto, Louis Krasner, violin, Webern, conductor [disc 7 of 8] undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_147)
Oversize 5 Berg: Violin concerto, Louis Krasner, violin, Webern, conductor [disc 8 of 8] undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_148)
Oversize 5 Berg: Violin concerto, Louis Krasner, violin, Wood, conductor [disc 1 of 7] undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_149)
Oversize 5 Berg: Violin concerto, Louis Krasner, violin, Wood, conductor [disc 2 of 7] undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_150)
Oversize 5 Berg: Violin concerto, Louis Krasner, violin, Wood, conductor [disc 3 of 7] undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_151)
Oversize 5 Berg: Violin concerto, Louis Krasner, violin, Wood, conductor [disc 4 of 7] undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_152)
Oversize 5 Berg: Violin concerto, Louis Krasner, violin, Wood, conductor [disc 5 of 7] undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_153)
Oversize 5 Berg: Violin concerto, Louis Krasner, violin, Wood, conductor [disc 6 of 7] undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_154)
Oversize 5 Berg: Violin concerto, Louis Krasner, violin, Wood, conductor [disc 7 of 7] undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_155)
Oversize 3 Berg: Violinkonsert, Fritz Busch, director, Louis Krasner, violin, parts 1 and 2 20/4/38 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_023)
Oversize 3 Berg: Violinkonsert, Fritz Busch, director, Louis Krasner, violin, parts 3 and 4 20/4/38 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_024)
Oversize 3 Berg: Violinkonsert, Fritz Busch, director, Louis Krasner, violin, parts 5 and 6 20/4/38 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_025)
Oversize 3 Berg: Violinkonsert, Fritz Busch, director, Louis Krasner, violin, parts 7 and 8 20/4/38 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_026)
Oversize 3 Berg: Violinkonsert, Fritz Busch, director, Louis Krasner, violin, parts 9 and 10 20/4/38 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_027)
Oversize 4 Brahms: Violin Concerto, parts 1 and 5 [disc 1 of 4] 1/18/50 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_113)
Oversize 4 Brahms: Violin Concerto, parts 2 and 6 [disc 2 of 4] 1/18/50 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_114)
Oversize 4 Brahms: Violin Concerto, parts 3 and 7 [disc 3 of 4] 1/18/50 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_115)
Oversize 4 Brahms: Violin Concerto, parts 4 and 8 [disc 4 of 4] 1/18/50 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_116)
Box 4 Carlisle Floyd: The Mystery undated (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 30:00) (ID#: krasner_l_182)
Oversize 3 Cello, slow movement with orchestra, Joe Schuster [?] undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_051)
Oversize 5 Chausson; Poeme Op. 25; Bach Violin Concerto No.2 in E Major undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_131)
Oversize 3 Concerta for violin and orchestra, part 6 undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_053)
Oversize 3 Concerta for violin and orchestra, parts 1 and 3 undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_049)
Oversize 3 Concerta for violin and orchestra, parts 2 and 4 undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_050)
Oversize 3 Concerta for violin and orchestra, parts 5 and 7 undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_052)
Oversize 4 Foss: A parable of death undated - side 1 and 2 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_119)
Oversize 4 Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue; Vaughn: Folk song suite; Karel: Overture Franconia, Kenneth Moore, conductor, Oberlin College Band 04/17/1959 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_122)
Oversize 4 Haydn: String quartet G maj Op. 17 No. 5, Louis Krasner [disc 1 of 2] 8/1950 - side 1 and 2 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_106)
Oversize 4 Haydn: String quartet in D major, part 14 [disc 8 of 8] 11/28/1949 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_089)
Oversize 4 Haydn: String quartet in D major, parts 1 and 3 [disc 1 of 8] 11/28/1949 - announced as "String quartet in Cmaj, Haydn" (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_082)
Oversize 4 Haydn: String quartet in D major, parts 13 and 15 [disc 7 of 8] 11/28/1949 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_088)
Oversize 4 Haydn: String quartet in D major, parts 2 and 4 [disc 2 of 8] 11/28/1949 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_083)
Oversize 4 Haydn: String quartet in D major, parts 5 and 7 [disc 3 of 8] 11/28/1949 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_084)
Oversize 4 Haydn: String quartet in D major, parts 6 and 8 [disc 4 of 8] 11/28/1949 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_085)
Oversize 4 Haydn: String quartet in D major, parts 9 and 11 [disc 5 of 8] 11/28/1949 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_086)
Oversize 4 Haydn: Symphony Concertante 11/8/45 - side 1 and 3 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_110)
Oversize 4 Jewish pieces, Cantor Lerner concert at Levy Hill School 1950 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_123)
Side 1: Baal shem (Nigun): 1 Vidui; 2 Nigun (Improvisation); 3 Simchas Torah (Rejoicing); side 2: Caprice hebraique, Op. 24; unknown piece.
Oversize 3 Kol Nidre, Joseph Schuster, cello, parts 1 and 2 10/06/1940 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_043)
Oversize 3 Krasner Chamber Ensemble [disc 1 of 9] [copy 1] 10/03/1947 - side 1 and 2 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_034)
Full contents: Gibbons: Fantasies No. 1, 3 and 4 from Nine Fantasies for strings, compositions arranged together by Edmund H. Fellowes.
Oversize 3 Krasner Chamber Ensemble [disc 1 of 9] [copy 2] 10/02/1947 - side 1 and 2 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_057)
Full contents: Gibbons: Fantasies No. 1, 3 and 4 from Nine Fantasies for strings, compositions arranged together by Edmund H. Fellowes.
Oversize 3 Krasner Chamber Ensemble [disc 2 of 9] [copy 1] 10/03/1947 - side 3 and 4 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_035)
Full contents: Gibbons: Fantasies No. 1, 3 and 4 from Nine Fantasies for strings; Bach: Musical Offering: Ricercar a 3; Gibbons compositions arranged together by Edmund H. Fellowes; Bach compositions arranged together by Hans T. David.
Oversize 3 Krasner Chamber Ensemble [disc 2 of 9] [copy 2] 10/02/1947 - side 3 and 4 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_058)
Full contents: Gibbons: Fantasies No. 1, 3 and 4 from Nine Fantasies for strings; Bach: Musical Offering: Ricercar a 3; Gibbons compositions arranged together by Edmund H. Fellowes; Bach compositions arranged together by Hans T. David.
Oversize 3 Krasner Chamber Ensemble [disc 3 of 9] [copy 1] 10/02/1947 - side 5 and 6 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_036)
Full contents: Bach: Musical Offering: Ricercar a 3, "Grave" canon perpetuus; compositions arranged together by Hans T. David.
Oversize 3 Krasner Chamber Ensemble [disc 3 of 9] [copy 2] 10/03/1947 - side 5 and 6 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_059)
Full contents: Bach: Musical Offering: Ricercar a 3, "Grave" canon perpetuus; compositions arranged together by Hans T. David.
Oversize 3 Krasner Chamber Ensemble [disc 4 of 9] [copy 1] 10/02/1947 - side 7 and 8 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_037)
Full contents: Bach: Musical Offering: Larghetto canon a 2 augmentation, Allegro canon a 2 per Tonas.
Oversize 3 Krasner Chamber Ensemble [disc 4 of 9] [copy 2] 10/03/1947 - side 7 and 8 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_060)
Full contents: Bach: Musical Offering: Larghetto canon a 2 augmentation, Allegro canon a 2 per Tonas.
Oversize 3 Krasner Chamber Ensemble [disc 5 of 9] [copy 1] 10/02/1947 - side 9 and 10 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_038)
Full contents: Bach: Musical Offering: Largo sonata a 3, Allegro sonata a 3.
Oversize 3 Krasner Chamber Ensemble [disc 5 of 9] [copy 2] 10/03/1947 - side 9 and 10 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_061)
Full contents: Bach: Musical Offering: Largo sonata a 3, Allegro sonata a 3.
Oversize 3 Krasner Chamber Ensemble [disc 6 of 9] [copy 1] 10/02/1947 - side 11 and 12 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_039)
Full contents: Bach: Musical Offering: Allegro sonata a 3, Andante sonata a 3.
Oversize 3 Krasner Chamber Ensemble [disc 6 of 9] [copy 2] 10/03/1947 - side 11 and 12 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_062)
Full contents: Bach: Musical Offering: Allegro sonata a 3, Andante sonata a 3.
Oversize 3 Krasner Chamber Ensemble [disc 7 of 9] [copy 1] 10/03/1947 - side 13 and 14 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_040)
Full contents: Bach: Musical Offering: Allegro sonata a 3, Allegro Canon perpetuus, Presto canon a 2, Allegro canon a 2.
Oversize 3 Krasner Chamber Ensemble [disc 7 of 9] [copy 2] 10/02/1947 - side 13 and 14 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_063)
Full contents: Bach: Musical Offering: Allegro sonata a 3, Allegro Canon perpetuus, Presto canon a 2, Allegro canon a 2.
Oversize 3 Krasner Chamber Ensemble [disc 8 of 9] [copy 1] 10/02/1947 - side 15 and 16 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_041)
Full contents: Bach: Musical Offering: Vivace Canon a 2, Allegro fuga canonici in epidiapente.
Oversize 3 Krasner Chamber Ensemble [disc 8 of 9] [copy 2] 10/03/1947 - side 15 and 16 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_064)
Full contents: Bach: Musical Offering: Vivace Canon a 2, Allegro fuga canonici in epidiapente.
Oversize 3 Krasner Chamber Ensemble [disc 9 of 9] [copy 1] 10/03/1947 - side 17 and 18; Bach: Musical Offering: Largo Ricercar a 6 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_042)
Oversize 3 Krasner Chamber Ensemble [disc 9 of 9] [copy 2] 10/02/1947 - side 17 and 18 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_065)
Full contents: Bach: Musical Offering: Largo Ricercar a 6.
Oversize 4 Londonderry Air, Louis Krasner, violin, Adrienne Galimir; Bruch, violin solo [copy 1] 2/24/45; 4/3/45 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_109)
Oversize 5 Mahler: Symphony No. 2, 2nd movement, Schoenberg, conducting NBC Symphony, part 2; Schoenberg: Gurrelieder, part 2 4/7/1934 (Grooved analog disc) (ID#: krasner_l_175)
Oversize 5 Mahler: Symphony No. 2, 2nd movement, Schoenberg, conducting NBC Symphony, parts 1 and 3 4/7/1934 (Grooved analog disc) (ID#: krasner_l_174)
Oversize 5 Mozart violin concerto No. 4 , parts 1 and 2 undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_130)
Oversize 4 Mozart: Sinfonia Concertante in A Major, K. 320e, New York Philharmonic 11/08/1955 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_124)
Oversize 4 Mozart: String quintet G major, parts 10 and 12 [disc 6 of 8] 11/28/1949 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_087)
Oversize 4 Mulfinger: Quintette in B minor, Krasner Quartette, George Mulfinger, piano, parts 1 and 2 [disc 1 of 2] undated - side 1: 1st movement allegro moderato; side 2: 2nd movement intermezzo (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_102)
Oversize 4 Mulfinger: Quintette in B minor, Krasner Quartette, George Mulfinger, piano, parts 3 and 4 [disc 2 of 2] undated - side 1: scherzo; side 2: finale (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_103)
Oversize 4 New suite for old music, 1st movement [disc 2 of 2] 12/7/1948 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_118)
Oversize 4 New suite for old music, 2d and 3d movements [disc 1 of 2] 12/7/1948 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_117)
Oversize 4 O. F. Soule interview of Dimitri Mitropoulos and Louis Krasner, parts 1 and 2 [copy 1] 12/15/51 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_080)
Oversize 4 O. F. Soule interview of Dimitri Mitropoulos and Louis Krasner, parts 1 and 2 [copy 2] 12/15/51 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_081)
Oversize 4 Piston: Violin Sonata, Louis Krasner, violin, Adrienne Krasner, piano; And all the stars looked down; To People Who Have Gardens 11/24/39 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_120)
Oversize 3 Recital: Dvorak Mazurek, Op. 49, Louis Krasner, violin and Adrienne Krasner, viola undated - sides 16 and 17 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_012)
Oversize 3 Recital: Josef Suk: Burleska Op. 17 No. 4; Claude Debussy: Preludes No. 12 Book 1, Minstrels, Louis Krasner, violin and Adrienne Krasner, viola undated - sides 18 and 19 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_013)
Oversize 3 Recital: Mozart Concerto, Louis Krasner, violin and Adrienne Krasner, viola, part 1 undated - sides 7 and 8 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_008)
Oversize 3 Recital: Mozart Concerto, Louis Krasner, violin and Adrienne Krasner, viola, parts 2 and 3 undated - sides 9 and 10 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_009)
Oversize 3 Recital: Mozart Concerto, part 3; Stravinksy Duo concerto, Louis Krasner, violin and Adrienne Krasner, viola undated - sides 11 and 12 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_010)
Oversize 3 Recital: Stravinksy Duo concerto, Louis Krasner, violin and Adrienne Krasner, viola undated - sides 13 and 14 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_011)
Oversize 3 Recital: Vivaldi Double concerto, Louis Krasner, violin and Adrienne Krasner, viola undated - sides 1 and 2; includes commentary WAER for Crouse auditorium concert. Galimir, Arthur Poister, Louis Krasner (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_005)
Oversize 3 Recital: Vivaldi Double concerto, Louis Krasner, violin and Adrienne Krasner, viola undated - sides 3 and 4 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_006)
Rehearsal: Schoenberg violin concerto, Louis Krasner, violin, part 2 11/29/1945 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_004)
Rehearsal: Schoenberg violin concerto, Louis Krasner, violin, parts 1 and 3 11/29/1945 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_003)
Oversize 3 Saint-Saëns: Danse Macabre undated - side 1 and 2 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_020)
Oversize 4 Saint-Saens: Havanaise, Louis Krasner, violin [disc 1 of 2] 3/14/45 - side 1 and 3 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_104)
Oversize 4 Saint-Saens: Havanaise, Louis Krasner, violin [disc 2 of 2] 3/14/45 - side 2 and 4: Partita for Violin Solo No. 1 in B Minor, BWV 1002 Sarabande, by J.S. Bach (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_105)
Oversize 5 Schnabel: Symphony No. 1 [disc 1 of 6] 12/12/46 - side 1 and 4; rehearsal for world Broadcast by KUOM, U of Minnesota, interview Mitropoulos (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_132)
Oversize 5 Schnabel: Symphony No. 1 [disc 2 of 6] 12/12/46 - side 2 and 5; rehearsal for world Broadcast by KUOM, U of Minnesota (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_133)
Oversize 5 Schnabel: Symphony No. 1 [disc 3 of 6] 12/12/46 - side 3 and 6; rehearsal for world Broadcast by KUOM, U of Minnesota (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_134)
Oversize 5 Schnabel: Symphony No. 1 [disc 4 of 6] 12/12/46 - side 7 and 10; rehearsal for world Broadcast by KUOM, U of Minnesota (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_135)
Oversize 6 Schnabel: Symphony No. 1 [disc 5 of 6] 12/12/46 - side 8; rehearsal for world Broadcast by KUOM, U of Minnesota (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_136)
Oversize 6 Schnabel: Symphony No. 1 [disc 6 of 6] 12/12/46 - side 9; rehearsal for world Broadcast by KUOM, U of Minnesota (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_137)
Oversize 4 Schoenberg: Concerto, 2nd movement for violin and orchestra, Louis Krasner, violin, Edward Steuermann, piano undated - side 1 and 2 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_067)
Oversize 5 Schoenberg: Gurrelieder, part 1 4/7/1934 (Grooved analog disc) (ID#: krasner_l_176)
Oversize 5 Schoenberg: Gurrelieder, parts 3 and 4 4/7/1934 (Grooved analog disc) (ID#: krasner_l_177)
Oversize 4 Schoenberg: Quartet No. 2, parts 1 and 3 [disc 1 of 4] undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_094)
Oversize 4 Schoenberg: Quartet No. 2, parts 2 and 4 [disc 2 of 4] undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_095)
Oversize 4 Schoenberg: Quartet No. 2, parts 5 and 7 [disc 3 of 4] undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_096)
Oversize 4 Schoenberg: Quartet No. 2, parts 6 and 8 [disc 4 of 4] undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_097)
Oversize 4 Schoenberg: Violin concerto, Louis Krasner, violin, Mrs. Krasner [Adrienne Galimir], piano 1953[?] - side 1: allegro; side 2: adagio gracioso, allegro (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_066)
Oversize 4 Schoenberg: Violin concerto, Louis Krasner, violin, N.Y. Philharmonic, Mitropoulos, conductor [disc 1 of 2] undated - announced as 1st broadcast performance (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_111)
Oversize 4 Schoenberg: Violin concerto, Louis Krasner, violin, N.Y. Philharmonic, Mitropoulos, conductor [disc 2 of 2] undated - announced as 1st broadcast performance (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_112)
Oversize 4 Schoenburg: Concerto, part 5 [disc 5 of 5] 11-29-45 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_072)
Oversize 4 Schoenburg: Concerto, parts 1 and 6 [disc 1 of 5] 11-29-45 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_068)
Oversize 4 Schoenburg: Concerto, parts 2 and 7 [disc 2 of 5] 11-29-45 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_069)
Oversize 4 Schoenburg: Concerto, parts 3 and 8 [disc 3 of 5] 11-29-45 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_070)
Oversize 4 Schoenburg: Concerto, parts 4 and 9 [disc 4 of 5] 11-29-45 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_071)
Oversize 5 Schoenburg: String Quartet no 4; Kolisch Quartet, part 8 1/28/1937 - piece performed at N.Y. Public Library (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_129)
Oversize 4 Schoenburg: String Quartet no 4; Kolisch Quartet, parts 1 and 6 1/28/1937 - piece performed at N.Y. Public Library (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_125)
Oversize 4 Schoenburg: String Quartet no 4; Kolisch Quartet, parts 2 and 4 1/28/1937 - piece performed at N.Y. Public Library (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_126)
Oversize 5 Schoenburg: String Quartet no 4; Kolisch Quartet, parts 3 and 5 1/28/1937 - piece performed at N.Y. Public Library (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_127)
Oversize 5 Schoenburg: String Quartet no 4; Kolisch Quartet, parts 7 and 9 1/28/1937 - piece performed at N.Y. Public Library (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_128)
Oversize 4 Sessions: Concerto for violin and orchestra, parts 1 and 5 [disc 1 of 4] 12/8/1947 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_090)
Oversize 4 Sessions: Concerto for violin and orchestra, parts 2 and 8 [disc 2 of 4] 12/8/1947 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_091)
Oversize 4 Sessions: Concerto for violin and orchestra, parts 3 and 7 [disc 3 of 4] 12/8/1947 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_092)
Oversize 4 Sessions: Concerto for violin and orchestra, parts 4 and 6 [disc 4 of 4] 12/8/1947 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_093)
Oversize 4 Symphonic Variations, George and Betty Mulfinger, parts 1 and 2 11/04/1947 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_121)
Oversize 3 Syracuse University Symphony, Louis Krasner, director [disc 1 of 2] 3/2/58 - side 1 and 2 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_014)
Recording contains: Mozart Concerto in C major, Op. 299 for flute and harp, John Oberbrunner, flute, Lanalee Litz, harp.
Oversize 3 Syracuse University Symphony, Louis Krasner, director [disc 1 of 2] 11/24/57 - side 1 and 2 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_016)
Program lists following pieces performed: Prelude and Allegro for organ and strings by Walter Piston; Concerto for violin, No. 3, in B minor by Saint Saens; Concerto for piano, no. 5, in E flat by Beethoven; Symphony No. 5, in E minor, Op. 64 by Tschaikowsky [sic].
Oversize 3 Syracuse University Symphony, Louis Krasner, director [disc 1 of 2] 4/7/57 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_018)
Recording contains: side 1: J. S. Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G major for string orchestra; Verdi: Il lacerato spirito from Simon Boccanegra; Puccini: Vissi d'arte from Tosca; side 2: Verdi: Duet: "Dite alla giovine" from La Traviata; Rachmaninoff: Concerto No. 2 in C minor for piano and orchestra.
Oversize 3 Syracuse University Symphony, Louis Krasner, director [disc 2 of 2] 3/2/58 - side 1 and 2 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_015)
Recording contains: Beethoven: Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op. 67, Louis Krasner, conductor.
Oversize 3 Syracuse University Symphony, Louis Krasner, director [disc 2 of 2] 11/24/57 - side 3 and 4 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_017)
Program lists following pieces performed: Prelude and Allegro for organ and strings by Walter Piston; Concerto for violin, No. 3, in B minor by Saint Saens; Concerto for piano, No. 5, in E flat by Beethoven; Symphony no. 5, in E minor, Op. 64 by Tschaikowsky [sic].
Oversize 3 Syracuse University Symphony, Louis Krasner, director [disc 2 of 2] 4/7/57 - side 1 and 2; Dvorak: Symphony No. 5 in E minor (from the New World) recorded on both sides of disc (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_019)
Oversize 3 Syracuse University Symphony, Louis Krasner, director, Louis Francini, violinist [disc 1 of 2] 1/13/1957 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_021)
Side 1: Copland: An Outdoor Overture; Saint-Saens: Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso Op. 28 for violin and orchestra; side 2: Foote: Suite in E major Op. 63 for string orchestra.
Oversize 3 Syracuse University Symphony, Louis Krasner, director, Louis Francini, violinist [disc 2 of 2] 1/13/1957 - sides 3 and 4: Brahms: Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_022)
Oversize 3 Syracuse University Symphony, Louis Krasner, director, Shirley Kidder Ransom, pianist [disc 1 of 2] 03/03/1957 - side 1: Beethoven: Symphony No. 8 in F major, Op. 93; side 2: Kenneth Costa: A Classical Overture (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_030)
Oversize 3 Syracuse University Symphony, Louis Krasner, director, Shirley Kidder Ransom, pianist [disc 2 of 2] 03/03/1957 - Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue for piano and orchestra; Emmanuel Chabrier: Espana Rhapsody for Orchestra (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_031)
Box 4 Tanglewood [tape 1 of 5] undated (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: krasner_l_183)
Recording contains: tape 1 of 1st session: silent after 2 min. of Lenhoff's prepared paper; tape 2 of 1st session: Lenhoff cont. Kritzen, Erl, Erle, Bender, [illegible note]. Includes printed note.
Box 4 Tanglewood [tape 2 of 5] undated (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: krasner_l_184)
Recording contains: tape 3 of 1st session; tape 1 of 2nd session: Porbelt [?]; Totenberg, Boatwright, Applebaum, Britton. Includes printed note.
Box 4 Tanglewood [tape 3 of 5] undated - tape 2 of 2nd session; tape 1 and 2 of 3rd session (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: krasner_l_185)
Box 4 Tanglewood [tape 4 of 5] undated - tape 3 of 3rd session; tape 1 and 2 of 4th session: Pat (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: krasner_l_186)
Box 4 Tanglewood [tape 5 of 5] undated - contains: tape 3 and 4 of 4th session: Pat (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: krasner_l_187)
Oversize 5 Tchaikovsky concerto, Nathan Milstein, parts 1 and 3 4/7/1934 (Grooved analog disc) (ID#: krasner_l_170)
Oversize 5 Tchaikovsky concerto, Nathan Milstein, parts 2 and 4 4/7/1934 (Grooved analog disc) (ID#: krasner_l_171)
Oversize 5 Tchaikovsky concerto, Nathan Milstein, parts 5 and 7 4/7/1934 (Grooved analog disc) (ID#: krasner_l_172)
Oversize 5 Tchaikovsky Concerto, Nathan Milstein, parts 6 and 8 4/7/1934 (Grooved analog disc) (ID#: krasner_l_173)
Oversize 3 Tchaikovsky: Mozartiana [disc 1 of 2] 11/08/1945 - side 1 and 3 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_032)
Oversize 3 Tchaikovsky: Mozartiana [disc 2 of 2] 11/08/1945 - side 2 and 4 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_033)
Oversize 5 [Untitled] undated (Vinyl record) (ID#: krasner_l_178)
Oversize 5 [Untitled] undated (Grooved analog disc) (ID#: krasner_l_180)
Oversize 5 [Untitled] undated (Grooved analog disc) (ID#: krasner_l_181)
Box 4 [Untitled] undated (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: krasner_l_189)
Box 4 Veronica Tochum undated (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: krasner_l_188)
Oversize 3 Vivaldi concerto in A minor (end); Mozart concerto 4 in D major, Louis Krasner, violin, Adrienne Galimir, violin, Arthur Poister, organ undated - mislabeled: "Stravinsky ending, communication, sides 5 & 15" (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_007)
Oversize 3 Webern: Concerto for 3 instruments, 3rd movement [disc 2 of 2] undated - side 1 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_029)
Oversize 3 Webern: Concerto for 9 instruments, 1st movement [disc 1 of 2] undated - side 1 and 2 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: krasner_l_028)
Scores
Manuscripts
Oversize 1 Erickson, Robert: String quartet undated - several parts, also photocopy of full score
Oversize 1 Erickson, Robert: Quartet for strings 1956
Oversize 2 George, Earl: Genevieve (…Another Fourth of July) undated - an opera in two scenes
Oversize 1 Harris, Donald: Fantasy for violin and piano 1957
Oversize 2 Hrisanide, Alexandru: Musik für mehrere violinen undated - French, English and German
Oversize 2 Hrisanide, Alexandru: Concerto per clavicembalo e orchestra 1973 - German
Oversize 2 Hrisanide, Alexandru: Soliloquium x 11 1971
Oversize 2 Huggler, John: Music in two parts for large orchestra (Op. 64) 1964-1965 - "for Erich Leinsdorf and the Boston Symphony Orchestra"
Oversize 2 Maneri, Joseph: Piano concerto undated
Oversize 1 Swift, Richard: Concerto for piano and chamber ensemble II 1980
Oversize 1 Swift, Richard: Great praises for soprano and piano 1977 - poems by Richard Eberhart
Oversize 1 Swift, Richard: In the country of the blue (Trio II) 1988
Oversize 1 Swift, Richard: In this corner wearing trunks 1957-1958 - poem by Helen Rowland
Oversize 1 Swift, Richard: The valleys are asleep 1972
Oversize 1 Valente, William: Shakespeare songs 1986 - includes invitation to concert and program
Published
Oversize 1 Nowak, Lionel: Sonata for solo violin 1952
Oversize 1 Pinkham, Daniel: Easter cantata 1963 - signed and inscribed by Pinkham to Erich Leinsdorf
Oversize 1 Pinkham, Daniel: Concertante 1963 - signed and inscribed by Pinkham to Erich Leinsdorf
Subject files
Box 1 Let the People Sing competition 1972-1973 - NPR-sponsored choral competition
Box 1 Leventritt competition 1973
Box 1 Music Before 1600 1972 - WCNY program
Box 1 Music / musicians 1971-1973, undated - clippings relating to musicians, music education, music in general (2 folders)
Box 1 New Music and the Listener - includes "statement" on new music by Krasner
Box 1 Programs 1973-1974 - miscellaneous performances
Box 1 Proposals 1973 - proposals by Krasner for various projects
Box 1 Speculum Musicae 1971-1973 - clippings, programs, miscellaneous
Box 1 Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music 1971-1975, undated - programs, clippings, Krasner's notes (2 folders)
Szigreti, Joseph
Box 1 The Art of Joseph Szigreti 1973 - as presented on WCNY; clippings, notes, correspondence, etc.
Box 1 Interview transcript - interviewer, date and venue unknown
Box 1 Tribute to Szigeti, by Krasner 1973
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1973 - clippings, copies of correspondence from Szigeti, Krasner's notes, etc.
WCNY
Box 2 Press releases 1973, undated
See also Memorabilia : Press releases above, for WCNY press releases related to Krasner personally.
Box 2 Publications 1972-1975 - Preview magazine
Box 2 Workshop proposal 1973 - for summer workshop on media and music
Box 2 Miscellaneous 1971-1973 - memos, roughs of program lineups, Krasner's notes, etc.
What's With Music? - WCNY program hosted by Krasner
Box 2 General 1971-1974, undated - Krasner's notes for each program, sometimes biographical info about guests; Sep 1972 includes Krasner's mention of the Israeli Olympic athletes killed in Munich (2 folders)
Box 2 Schedules undated
Miscellaneous
Box 2 Index cards - unknown purpose, perhaps Krasner's inventory of his papers?
Box 2 Notebooks - three spiral notebooks filled with Krasner's notes (2 folders)

Return to top