Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Lane, Eastwood, 1879-1951.
Title:	Eastwood Lane Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1899-1994
Quantity:	4.0 linear ft.
Abstract:	Biographical material, correspondence-subject files, memorabilia, scores and writings of the New York State composer. Much of the material is undated.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Sidney Eastwood Lane (1879-1951), known professionally simply as Eastwood Lane, was an American composer and author from New York State. His compositions include piano suites, impressionist pieces, and ballet; perhaps his best-known piece is Adirondack Sketches.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Eastwood Lane Papers consists of biographical material, correspondence-subject files, memorabilia, scores and writings.

Biographical material includes biographical sketches, a biographical article by Norman Gentieu and notes about the Eastwood Family.

Correspondence-subject files most of which is undated, contains single letters from composers William Berwald, Charles Huerter, and Deems Taylor, contemporaries and friends of Lane. The largest group of correspondence is with soprano Modena Scovill Lane, his wife. Many of these were written from Lane's Adirondack home and discuss the natural surroundings as well as local events and news.

Memorabilia includes clippings, concert programs, photographs, promotional material for Lane's published music, modern recordings of his compositions, address books and an essay about the Adirondacks by his Aunt Ella Eastwood Wood.

Scores is by far the largest component of this collection. Some pieces are in sketch form, others in published format. Few of the handwritten scores are dated.

Writings includes diaries, notes for a play, letters to editors and articles.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence, memorabilia scores and writings are all arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to recordings requires advance notice to produce a use copy.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Eastwood Lane Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Norman Gentieu, 1982.

Gift of Mr. and Mrs. Franklin E. Dunham, 2013.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: CAD
Date: Jul 1986
Revision history: Jun 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC); 08 Sep 2017 - media ID numbers added and inventory updated (PJM); 12 June 2018 - reorganized and rehoused (PRB); 27 Sep 2022 - expanded description of recordings (IRP)

Return to top

Inventory

	Biographical material
Box 1		Biographical article "Eastwood Lane" by Norman Gentieu in Journal of jazz studies 1976
Box 1		Eastwood Family history undated
Box 1		Miscellaneous undated

	Correspondence subject files
Box 1		General correspondence 1902, 1911-1950, undated
Box 1		American Piano Company (AMPICO) 1924, 1927
Box 1		American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) 1925, 1938, 1942
Box 1		Benét, William Rose 1929
Box 1		Berwald, William 1929
Box 1		Crane, Nathalia 1929, undated
Box 1		Denishawn, The Ruth St. Denis and Ted Shawn School of Dancing 1924, 1927
Box 1		Huerter, Charles J. undated
Box 1		Menth, Herma 1911
Box 1		Scovill, Modena 1943-1946, undated
Box 1		Taylor, Deems undated

	Memorabilia
		Clippings
Box 1			About Eastwood lane 1920-1937, undated
Box 1			Miscellaneous 1912-1948, undated (3 folders)
		Concert programs
Box 1			Performances by Eastwood Lane 1924
Box 1			Performances by Modena Scovill 1919-1926
Box 1			Performances of Eastwood Lane works 1915-1933
Box 2			Miscellaneous 1910-1930
		Photographs
Box 2			Case, Anna 1911
Box 2			Denishawn: Ruth St. Denis and Ted Shawn undated
Box 2			Dietrich, George 1922
Box 2			Hollins, Alfred undated
Box 2			Kasner, Jacques 1913
Box 2			Lane, Eastwood undated
Box 2			McMahon, Aline 1914
Box 2			Noyes, Byron E. 1910
Box 2			Russell, Alexander 1910
Oversize 2			Scovill, Modena undated
Box 2			Sorrentine, Umberto undated
Box 2			Taylor, Deems 1918, 1920
Box 2			Werrenrath, Reinald 1920
Oversize 2			Miscellaneous unidentified undated
		Promotional material
Box 2			Ampico recordings of Eastwood Lane scores undated
Box 2			Fischer Editions 1916-1929, 1942, undated
Box 2			Hinds, Hayden & Eldredge 1915-1917, undated
		Recordings
Box 4			Piano Deco: Mike Polad plays American music of the 1920s (Audio cassette; running time 61:54) (ID#: lane_e_0001)
				Was still listed as part of M94-35, but was (and is) in Box 4.
				Side A: Persimmon Pucker (Lane) ; In a Mist (Beiderbecke) ; Adirondack Sketches (Lane): The Old Guide's Story ; The Legend of Lonesome Lake ; Down Stream ; The Land of the Loon ; A Dirge For Jo Indian ; Lumber-Jack Dance ; Candlelights (Beiderbecke) ; Sapphire (Bloom) ; Davenport Blues (Beiderbecke) ; Side B: Five American Dances (Lane): The Crap-Shooters ; Around the Hall ; A Gringo Tango ; North of Boston ; Powwow ; Flashes (Beiderbecke) ; Sea Burial (Lane) ; Girl on Tiptoe (Lane) ; In the Dark (Beiderbecke) ; Silhouette (Bloom).
Box 3			Piano Deco: Mike Polad plays American music of the 1920s (CD; running time 61:54) (ID#: lane_e_0002)
				Was still listed as part of M94-35, but was (and is) in Box 3.
				Contains: 1. Persimmon Pucker (Eastwood Lane) ; 2. In a Mist (Bix Beiderbecke) ; Adirondack Sketches (Eastwood Lane) ; 3. The Old Guide’s Story ; 4. The Legend of Lonesome Lake ; 5. Down Stream ; 6. The Land of the Loon ; 7. A Dirge For Jo Indian ; 8. Lumber-Jack Dance ; 9. Candlelights (Bix Beiderbecke) ; Five American Dances (Eastwood Lane) ; 10. The Crap-Shooters ; 11. Around the Hall ; 12. A Gringo Tango ; 13. North of Boston ; 14. Powwow ; 15. Flashes (Bix Beiderbecke) ; 16. Sea Burial (Eastwood Lane) ; 17. Girl on Tiptoe (Eastwood Lane) ; 18. In the Dark (Bix Beiderbecke) ; 19. Sapphire (Rube Bloom) ; 20. Silhouette (Rube Bloom) ; 21. Davenport Blues (Bix Beiderbecke).
		Miscellaneous
Box 3			Address books and notebooks 1918, undated
Box 3			Adirondack Wildlings by Ella Eastwood Wood undated
Oversize 2			Assorted mementos 1913, 1923-1926, 1940-1943, undated

	Scores
		Handwritten
Oversize 1			Abelard and Heloise from Pantomime undated
Box 2			Ann Rutledge (fragment) undated
Oversize 1			The Blue Robed Mandarin undated
Oversize 1			Boston Fancy (sketch) undated
Oversize 2			Calm Lake and Quiet Lovers from Central Park Suite undated
Box 2			Cande from Jesuits' Journey and Shropshire undated
Oversize 1			A Corporal's Ballad undated
Oversize 1			The Crap Shooter (A Negro Ballad) undated
Oversize 1			The Elfin Knight words by Langdon Warner undated
Oversize 1			Fourth of July Parade (sketches) undated
Oversize 1			Gay Occasion undated
Oversize 1			Gray Winds, Dream Laden words by Cathal O'Byrne undated
Oversize 1			Great White Way undated
Oversize 2			A Gringo Dance undated
Oversize 2			A Gringo Tango undated
Oversize 1			Harlem Town undated
Oversize 1			I'm in Love with a Girl from the Country undated
Oversize 2			In Sleepy Hollow undated
Oversize 1			Incidental Music to a Dream (sketches) undated
Oversize 1			Jesuits' Journey undated
Oversize 2			Joanne words by Joseph Wells Singleton undated
Oversize 1			Katrina's Waltz undated
Oversize 1			Knee High to a Grasshopper undated
Oversize 2			Lady Jane Grey undated
Box 2			The lady of the Palankeen undated
Oversize 1			Lines to Ann Rutledge undated
Oversize 1			Little Boys Sail Little Boats (unfinished) undated
Oversize 1			Liza: A Spring Pastoral undated
Box 2			Lovers by the Lake from Central Park Sketches undated
Box 2			March - Finale (sketch) undated
Oversize 1			A Mid-October Afternoon from In Sleepy Hollow undated
Box 2			Minuet for Betty Schuyler from Fourth of July Suite 1951
Oversize 1			Minuet to Betty Schuyler (unfinished sketch) undated
Oversize 1			North of Boston undated
Box 2			Notebook with sketches and fragments undated (2 folders)
Oversize 1			On Tapan Zee, A Boat Song undated
Box 2			Overlooking Harlem (fragment) undated
Oversize 1			Parade from Fourth of July Suite undated
Oversize 1			Persimmon Pucker undated
Oversize 1			Plymouth in Autumn undated
Box 2			Polonaise undated
Box 2			Prelude - Moon Section - Opening undated
Box 2			The Road to Old Japan 1913
Oversize 2			Round the Hall, A Dance Hall Ditty undated
Oversize 2			Sand Shuffle, An American Dance undated
Oversize 2			Sea Burial undated
Box 2			Scherzo undated
Box 2			Serenade for Mme. Chiang Kai Shek undated
Oversize 1			Shropshire Lass undated
Box 2			Sold Down the River (sketches) undated
Box 2			Swanee (fragment) undated
Oversize 1			The Time of Golden Dreams undated
Oversize 2			They've Hung Bill Jones, lyrics by Frank L. Stanton undated
Box 2			Tune to the Moon undated
Oversize 1			Watch on the Village Green from Fourth of July Suite (incomplete) undated
Oversize 1			Where the Whip Willer Sings undated
Box 2			Workbook: Sea Burial - early sketches, Persimmon Pucker 1910
Oversize 2			Unidentidfied sketches and fragments undated
		Published
Oversize 1			Songs for Piano 1919-1920
Oversize 2			Down Stream 1922
Box 2			Summer Glow 1919
		Source material
Box 3			Clippings, poems and artwork undated

	Writings
		Diaries 1899-1900, 1911-1913, 1917-1918 (7 folders)
Box 3		The Great and Glorious (notes for a play) undated
Box 3		Letters to editors 1923, 1937-1938, undated
Box 3		Musical America article 1914
Box 3		Opera News articles 1914-1915
Box 3		The Piano in Our Town Musicians Club Monthly 1915
Box 3		Poems undated
Box 3		Portrait of a Pioneer: Eulogy for William J. McAleese 1946
Box 3		Psycho-Pianism: A Contemporary Musical Fantasy Musical America 1914
Box 3		A Troubador En Route Musical America 1929
Box 3		Wind and Percussion undated
Box 3		Miscellaneous undated

Return to top