Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Title: | "Last Night of Sleep" Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | 2013 |
| Quantity: | 0.25 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Collaborative project between visual artist Angelbert Metoyer and musicna B L A C K I E (Michael LaCour); vinyl phonidisc and original art. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Angelbert Metoyer (1977- ) is an American visual artist whose work explores memory and social history through the media of drawing, painting, installations, and sound. Michael LaCour, stage name B L A C K I E, is an American rapper, songwriter, musician, and record producer. His style combines hop-hop, punk, noise, and electronic.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The "Last Night of Sleep" Collection contains one example of the collaborative project between artist Angelbert Metoyer and musician B L A C K I E. The two created the album by drawing on thousands of sound files creaed over many years. It was produced in a limited run of 52 copies, eash with original art covers. The disc can also be played at different speeds, providing different sound experiences.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Access to recordings requires advance notice to produce a use copy.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
"Last Night of Sleep" Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2024.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 10 Sep 2024
Revision history:
Inventory
| "Last Night of Sleep" | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Certificate of authenticity, 004_023 2013 - signed by artist | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Cover and liner note 2013 - album cover, signed and dated, decorated on both sides with original mixed-media art, mostly in reds and pinks with gold metallic accents; 2 pages liner notes with track listing and artwork | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Last Night of Sleep 2013 (Vinyl record) (ID#: last_night_sleep_001) | ||||||||||
| Side A - 1) Medicine for a nightmare, 2) London bread, 3) Mirrorism1; Side B - 1) 200 tracks melted down: Last Night of Sleep. From a limited edition of 52 pressings. | |||||||||||