Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Title: | Chol Soo Lee Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1978-1980 |
| Quantity: | 4 items |
| Abstract: | Recording and printed material related to the case of Chol Soo Lee, Korean immigrant convicted of murder |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Chol Soo Lee (1952-2014) was a Korean immigrant who was wrongfully convicted of first-degree murder of a San Francisco Chinatown gang leader. Lee was sentenced to life imprisonment in 1974, but investigative reporting and the work of the Free Chol Soo Lee Defense Committee eventually led to his acquttal, and he was released in 1983.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Chol Soo Lee Collection consists of a 45-rpm recording of "The ballad of Chol Soo Lee," and several pieces of printed material reltaed to the cae
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Access to recordings requires advance notice to produce a use copy.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Chol Soo Lee Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2024.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 10 Sep 2024
Revision history:
Inventory
| Printed material | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Miscellaneous 1978-1980 - poster for benefit; chronology; newsletter of the Asian Law Alliance | ||||||||||
| Recordings | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | The ballad of Chol Soo Lee 1978 - created by Chol Soo Lee Defense Committee; sleeve includes lyrics (Vinyl record) (ID#: lee_cs_coll_001) | ||||||||||