Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Suggest a change or correction |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Title: | Liechtenstein Music Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1664-1695 |
| Quantity: | 1.0 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Microfilm copies of 980 religious and secular compositions collected by Karl II von Liechtenstein-Kastelkorn during his tenure as Prinz-Bishop of Olomouc (Olmütz) in the Czech Republic. Approximately 100 composers are represented as well as works by native Moravians and Bohemians. |
| Language: | Latin |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Ave., Suite 600 Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center/university-archives |
Biographical History
Karl II von Liechtenstein-Kastelkorn (1623-1695) was a Catholic priest and served as Prince-Bishop of Olmütz (Olomouc) in the Czech Republic from 1664-1695. He spent much of his time in the city of Kromeriz but maintained close ties to the imperial court in Vienna. He was an active supporter and patron of musicians.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Liechtenstein Music Collection (also known as the Czech Music Collection and Kromeriz Music Collection) consists of microfilm copies of 980 religious and secular compositions (on microfilm) collected by Karl II von Liechtenstein-Kastelkorn during his tenure as Prinz-Bishop of Olomouc (Olmütz) in the Czech Republic. Approximately 100 composers have been identified, including many associated with the imperial court of Leopold I. Works by native Moravians and Bohemians are also present. The compositions include complete settings of masses, vespers, litanies, ensemble sonatas, a requiem, and balleti.
Composers include Benedict Anton Aufschneider, Steffano Bernardi, Antonio Bertali, Heinrich Biber, Heinrich Aloys Brückner, Samuel Friedrich Capricornus (Bockshorn), Giacomo Carissimi, Arcangelo Corelli, Johannes Baptista Dolar, Antonio Draghi, Wolfgang Ebner, Johann Caspar Fischer, Francesco Foggia, Vincent Fux, Bonifazio Graziani (Gratiani), Andreas Hofer, Johann Kaspar Kerll, Albericus Mazak, Tarquini Merula, Adam Václav Michna z Otradovic, Marcin Mielczewski (Miltzovsky), Marco Gioseppe Peranda, Alessandro Poglietti, Joannes Petro Aloysio Praenestino, Ferdinand Tobias Richter, Philipp Jacob Ridler (Rittler), Giovanni Felice Sances, Johann Heinrich Schmelzer, Giovanni Valentini, Pavel Josef Vejvanovsky, Filippo Vismarri, and Pietro Andrea Ziani.
Master negatives comprise an additional 8 reels.
Other Related Finding Aids
A printed catalog, compiled by Craig A. Otto and published by Syracuse University Libraries in 1977, is also available: Seventeenth-century music from Kromeriz, Czechoslovakia : a catalog of the Liechtenstein music collection on microfilm at Syracuse University (call number ML136.S982 G45 1977).
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Liechtenstein Music Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Finding Aid Information
Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 13 Jul 1993
Revision history: 9 Apr 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC);
15 Sep 2025 - updated to include master negatives and to be more legible (MRC)
Inventory
| Missae (21 reels) | |||||||||||
| Reel I:6-8 | Numbers 6-8 | ||||||||||
| Reel I:9-13 | Numbers 9-13 | ||||||||||
| Reel I:14-23 | Numbers 14-23 | ||||||||||
| Reel I:25-30 | Numbers 25-30 | ||||||||||
| Reel I:31-42 | Numbers 31-42 | ||||||||||
| Reel I:43-45 | Numbers 43-45 | ||||||||||
| Reel I:46-49 | Numbers 46-49 | ||||||||||
| Reel I:50-60 | Numbers 50-60 | ||||||||||
| Reel I:61-69 | Numbers 61-69 | ||||||||||
| Reel I:70-77 | Numbers 70-77 | ||||||||||
| Reel I:78-84 | Numbers 78-84 | ||||||||||
| Reel I:86-103 | Numbers 86-103 | ||||||||||
| Reel I:104-133 | Numbers 104-133 | ||||||||||
| Reel I:136-163 | Numbers 136-163 | ||||||||||
| Reel I:164-179 | Numbers 164-179 | ||||||||||
| Reel I:180-192 | Numbers 180-192 | ||||||||||
| Reel I:193-210 | Numbers 193-210 | ||||||||||
| Reel I:213-230 | Numbers 213-230 | ||||||||||
| Reel I:231-259 | Numbers 231-259 | ||||||||||
| Reel I:262-282 | Numbers 262-282 | ||||||||||
| Reel I:283-296 | Numbers 283-296 | ||||||||||
| Offertoria (6 reels) | |||||||||||
| Reel II:1-64 | Numbers 1-64 | ||||||||||
| Reel II:67-104 | Numbers 67-104 | ||||||||||
| Reel II:107-133 | Numbers 107-133 | ||||||||||
| Reel II:134-205 | Numbers 134-205 | ||||||||||
| Reel II:206-265 | Numbers 206-265 | ||||||||||
| Reel II:266-322 | Numbers 266-322 | ||||||||||
| Vesperae (5 reels) | |||||||||||
| Reel III:2-44 | Numbers 2-44 | ||||||||||
| Reel III:45-69 | Numbers 45-69 | ||||||||||
| Reel III:71-92 | Numbers 71-92 | ||||||||||
| Reel III:93-115 | Numbers 93-115 | ||||||||||
| Reel III:116-125 | Numbers 116-125 | ||||||||||
| Sonatae (4 reels) | |||||||||||
| Reel IV:5-59 | Numbers 5-59 | ||||||||||
| Reel IV:60-106 | Numbers 60-106 | ||||||||||
| Reel IV:109-177 | Numbers 109-177 | ||||||||||
| Reel IV:178-231 | Numbers 178-231 | ||||||||||
| Litaniae (3 reels) | |||||||||||
| Reel V:9-87 | Litaniae 9-87 | ||||||||||
| Reel VI:1-6 | Salve Regina | ||||||||||
| Reel VII-XII | [Miscellaneous] | ||||||||||
| Alma Redemptoris (VII) Ave Regina Coeluri (VIII) Regine Coeli (IX) Hymni (X) Te Deum Laudamus (XI) |
|||||||||||
| Requiem (1 reel) | |||||||||||
| Reel XIII | [untitled] | ||||||||||
| Balletti (6 reels) | |||||||||||
| Reel XIV:1-73 | Numbers 1-73 | ||||||||||
| Reel XIV:74-99 | Numbers 74-99 | ||||||||||
| Reel XIV:100-126 | Numbers 100-126 | ||||||||||
| Reel XIV:127-184 | Numbers 127-184 | ||||||||||
| Reel XIV:186-235b | Numbers 186-235b | ||||||||||
| Reel XIV:236-XVI | Numbers 236 | ||||||||||
| Miscellaneous | |||||||||||
| Miscellaneous compositions | |||||||||||
| These may be found at the end of the last balleti reel, XIV:236-XVI. | |||||||||||
| Master negatives | |||||||||||
| Content information below is given as written on slip accompanying each reel. | |||||||||||
| Box 1, Reel 1 | "I 1-77" - missae | ||||||||||
| Box 1, Reel 2 | "I 78-84" - missae | ||||||||||
| Box 1, Reel 3 | "I 85-192" - missae | ||||||||||
| Box 1, Reel 4 | "I 193-296; II 1-133" - missae; offertoria | ||||||||||
| Box 1, Reel 5 | "II 134-322; III 2-44" - offertoria; vesperae | ||||||||||
| Box 1, Reel 6 | "III 45-125" - vesperae | ||||||||||
| Box 2, Reel 7 | "465-688; 927-954" - first set of numbers is likely the sonatae, the second likely the first of the litaniae | ||||||||||
| Box 2, Reel 8 | "No numbers" - presumably the rest of the litaniae followed by the remainder of the collection | ||||||||||