Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Meyer, Fred M., 1926-2004.
Title:	Fred M. Meyer Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1933-2005
Quantity:	57 linear ft.
Abstract:	Correspondence, fan material, International Wizard of Oz Club records, memorabilia, and printed material relating to Meyer's role as secretary of the International Wizard of Oz Club.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Fred M. Meyer (1926-2004) was a founding member (1957) of The International Wizard of Oz Club (IWOC) and served as secretary of the organization from 1961 to 1995. Meyer, a teacher, also edited The Baum Bugle and was a noted collector of books and artifacts related to L. Frank Baum and Oz.

Meyer was born in Kinderhook, Illinois in 1926. At the age of seven he received L. Frank Baum's The Wizard of Oz as a birthday gift and fell in love with the book. Meyer became a collector of all things Baum and Wizard of Oz, including first printings of the books. In the mid-1950s author Jack Snow, who wrote some Oz stories in the 1940s, provided Meyer with a list of other Oz fans. Meyer reached out to those fans, and in 1957 Meyer co-founded The Wizard of Oz Club with 13-year-old Justin Schiller. There were 16 original members, and Meyer was appointed secretary of the club. In 1958, with the growth of the organization, the club was renamed the International Wizard of Oz Club (IWOC).

Meyer took his role as secretary of the club seriously. He regularly corresponded with members, even when the club grew to more than two thousand, assisted with publishing the club's magazine, The Baum Bugle, collected dues, and organized conventions. Conventions featured costume contests, film showings, quiz competitions, lectures, and Oz collectible auctions.

Meyer was a social studies teacher in Escanaba, Michigan, but spent his summers at a family farm in his hometown of Kinderhook, Illinois. He was considered an expert of all things Oz, and fans and journalists consulted Meyer with any questions relating to the books.

After Meyer retired from teaching in the late 1980s he continued to serve as secretary of IWOC until health issues forced him to step down in 1995. Meyer's devotion to the club did not diminish, though, and he continued to attend events and correspond with members until his death in 2004.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Fred M. Meyer Papers consists of correspondence, fan material, International Wizard of Oz Club records, memorabilia, and printed material. His papers provide insight into the International Wizard of Oz Club (IWOC) and Wizard of Oz fandom.

Correspondence consists of incoming and outgoing correspondence. Incoming correspondence mainly relates to Meyer's role as secretary of IWOC. Notable correspondents include Baum family members, author Ray Bradbury, actor (and club member) Bronson Pinchot, club cofounder Justin Schiller, and long-term club members Martin Gardner, Ruth Berman, Douglas and David Greene, Russell MacFall, and Robert Pattrick. The correspondence also includes letters between author Ruth Plumly Thompson and John R. Neill, an illustrator for her books. Outgoing correspondence is club correspondence sent by Meyer to IWOC members. Meyer dutifully wrote each member individualized letters while he served as secretary of the club, which often resulted in thousands of unique letters each year, especially as club membership grew over the years.

Fan material comprises material created by Wizard of Oz fans. This includes articles and essays, both academic and amateur, artwork, fan fiction, and fanzines. Articles, essays, and fan fiction were submitted to Meyer for consideration for publication in the club's magazine, The Baum Bugle. Note that the majority of fan fiction are print, but one story by Deborah Holden is on floppy disk and another story by George Van Buren is on three audio tapes. Some of the fanzines are Oz-specific, but many relate to fantasy in general.

The International Wizard of Oz Club series contains the records of the club. These include financial statements, legal documents, ideas for new issues of club publications, lists, memos, minutes, official correspondence, and reports. Also included in the records are Meyer's personal handwritten notes about the club, committee work, and materials regarding club conventions.

Memorabilia contains a wide range of Oz-related material. This includes arts and crafts (such as coloring books), artwork, games, theater programs, and Oz-related promotional material (books, tv shows, and movies). Also included are photographs of Meyer and club events. Also worth noting are items from Meyer's military service, including his "chow pass."

Printed material comprises calendars, comic books, magazine and newspaper clippings, a miniature book, newsletters, and trade catalogs. All printed items are Oz-related including some newspaper clippings about IWOC and Meyer.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged alphabetically, except for outgoing correspondence, which is arranged chronologically. Articles and fan fiction are arranged by author.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

Please note that the collection is housed off-site, and advance notice is required to allow time to have the materials brought to the Reading Room on campus.

Access to recordings requires advance notice to produce a use copy.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Associated Titles

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Fred M. Meyer Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Fred Meyer, 2003.

Portions gift of Nancy Petrasko, 2006.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 22 Mar 2010
Revision history: 20 Oct 2022 - collection processed (DTF); 5 Sep 2024 - name in inventory corrected (DTF)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
		Incoming
Box 1			Abbe, Earl C. 1982-1995 (5 folders)
Box 1			Able, Will B. 1960, 1968, 1971-1977, undated (2 folders)
Box 1			Adams, Joan and Wally 1970-1977
Box 1			Ahlborn, George H. 1970-1973, 1978
Box 1			Ainge, Ruth 1971-1973
Box 1			Albright, Jane 1992-2004 (3 folders)
Box 2			Allemano, Peter 1972-1992, 2000 (3 folders)
Box 2			Anfuso, Dennis 1976
Box 2			The Animal Medical Center 1973-1976
Box 2			Antkowiak-Chronic, Albert E. 1972-2004, undated (7 folders)
Box 2			A, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (3 folders)
Box 3			A, miscellaneous 1956-2005 (5 folders)
Box 3			Baker, Brian A. 1968-1981, 1995, 1998-2002 (6 folders)
Box 4			Balili, Joseph 1997-2004 (2 folders)
Box 4			Balog, Todd 1978-1979
Box 4			Banaag, Mylen Anne 1997-1999
Box 4			Bargar, Gary W. 1965, 1977 (2 folders)
Box 4			Barlow, Nathanael 1987, 1992, 1997
Box 4			Bar-Hillel, Gili 1991-1995 (2 folders)
Box 4			Bass, Victoria 1972, 1978, 1983, 1992
Box 4			Baum, Andrea 1998-1999
Box 4			Baum, Harry and Brenda 1962
Box 4			Baum, Richard 1998, 2001, 2003
Box 4			Baum, Robert 1971, 1973, 1975, 1983-1990, 1995, 2000-2003, undated
Box 4			Baum, Stan 2002
Box 4			Bauman, Robert 1970-1972, 1976
Box 4			The Baum Bugle 1959, 1990
Box 4			Beem, William "Billy" 1981-2003 (2 folders)
Box 4			Bell, Catherine J. 1972-2002
Box 5			Bell, John L. 1998, 2002-2003
Box 5			Bellman, Jon 1970-1972
Box 5			Berezin, Marc 1985-2004 (5 folders)
Box 5			Berg, Margaret 1992-2004 (3 folders)
Box 6			Berman, Ruth 1956-2003, undated (10 folders)
Box 7			Bernhart, Frank R. 1964-1965, 1969-1979, 1985
Box 7			Berning, Anna Ruth 1964, 1983
Box 7			Bertrum, Mary E. 1983-1998, undated (2 folders)
Box 7			Beyond the Rainbow 1995-1997, 1999 - a charitable organization that assists families affected by catastrophic illness or injury
Box 7			Bieber, Judy 1978, 1990, 1996 (2 folders)
Box 7			Bienvenue, Paul 1979, 2000-2003 (2 folders)
Box 7			Bindig, Bob 1986-1987, 1990
Box 7			Blair, John and Francis 1987, 1991-1992, 2000
Box 7			Blossom, Henry 1964-1983
Box 7			Blystone, Peter 1982, 1990-1991, 1996-2002
Box 7			Boller, Paul Franklin 1970, 1974, 1984
Box 7			Borbon, Rosita 1980, 1983, 1989-1992, undated
Box 7			Bosworth, Michael 1971-1976
Box 7			Brabner, Ian 1982-1984
Box 7			Boothroyd, H.J. 1972-1973
Box 7			Bradbury, Ray 1962
Box 7			Brandt, Langley Brooks 1970-1976, 1983, 1990-1994
Box 7			Bright, Ron 1968, 1971, 1973, 1985
Box 7			Brockway, Jean 1973-1978, 1981, 1990-1992
Box 8			Brockway, Jean 1973-1992
Box 8			Brody, Ed 1978, 1982-1984, 1998
Box 8			Brown, Peter 1966-1968
Box 8			Brown, Ron 1993-1995
Box 8			Brown, Sonia and James 1965-1993 (8 folders)
Box 8			Buckley, Mary 1970-1983
Box 8			Buechner, Fred 1964-1972, 1983, 1991-1995
Box 8			Burdick, Loraine 1967, 1971, 1989, 1991
Box 9			B, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (11 folders)
Box 10			B, miscellaneous 1956-2005 ( 7 folders)
Box 10			Calhoun, Howell 1977-1981, 1994
Box 10			Call, Justin D., M.D. 1974, 1979, 1989
Box 10			Canfield, Rae 1989, 1992-1998
Box 10			Cardem, Chris 1980-1984, 1986-1987
Box 11			Carrasco, Jewel and Jenny 1994-1998
Box 11			Carson, Theo 1993, 1995-1996, 2000
Box 11			Castle Club, Inc. 1970-1983, undated (2 folders)
Box 11			Chappell, Russell 1982-1983, 1991
Box 11			Chicago Tribune 1955-1956
Box 11			Chittenango Foundation, Inc. 1996
Box 11			Collins, Richard and Suzanne 1961, 1982, 2000
Box 11			Colon, Carlos 1974, 1983, 1986, 1993
Box 11			Conklin, Bruce Jr. 1966, 1968, 1971, 1979-1980
Box 11			Cott, Dorothy 1971-1982
Box 11			Covell, Virginia 1968, 1971-1972, 1977
Box 11			Cox, Dan 1972-1979, undated
Box 11			Crampton, Janet 1972-1979
Box 11			Cummings, Scott 1983-1989, 2001
Box 11			Cuneo, Mary Louise 1997
Box 11			Curtiss, Louis 1974-1976, 1982-1983
Box 11			C, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (2 folders)
Box 12			C, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (9 folders)
Box 13			C, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (3 folders)
Box 13			Dahl, Robert 1961, 1965-1968, 1971-1972, 1980
Box 13			Dal Busco, Jennie 1980-1984
Box 13			Davison, Katrina 1967, 1970-1972
Box 13			DeBus, Allen 1965-1971, 1981-1987, 1995, 2000-2001
Box 13			Del Fava, Arlene 1982-1994
Box 13			Delkin, Jay 1965-1998 (5 folders)
Box 14			Delkin, Jay 1998-2000, undated
Box 14			Denk, Judy 1974-1976
Box 14			Dennis, Roger 1971-1972, 1984
Box 14			DeQuoy, Amy 1976-1978
Box 14			Devine, Chuck 1961
Box 14			Dobbins, L.C. 1963-1980 (6 folders)
Box 14			Dorow, Carolyn 1986-1989
Box 14			Douglas, Chris 2001-2002
Box 14			Dover Publications, Inc. 1962, 1972-1973
Box 14			Duffley, Sean 1979-1991, 1994-1997
Box 15			Dyson, Lowell 1965-1966, 1992
Box 15			D, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (9 folders)
Box 15			Ebringer, John 1980, 1982, 1988, 1996-1999
Box 15			Elliot, Margaret 1966-1970, 1974, 1979-1981
Box 16			Elliot, Margaret 1984, 1988, 1993, 1997
Box 16			Engel, Susan 1993-2004 (4 folders)
Box 16			England, Pat 1972-1973
Box 16			Erisman, Fred 1962-1968
Box 16			Eubank, Bill 1963-2000, undated (4 folders)
Box 16			E, miscellaneous 1956-2004
Box 17			E, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (4 folders)
Box 17			Farr, Rodger and Julie 1968-1972
Box 17			Farmer, Philip 1967, 1975-1981
Box 17			Fell, Dorothy 1962-1972
Box 17			Filoteo, Jessica Anne 1997-2003 (2 folders)
Box 17			Fischer, Janet 1980-1987
Box 17			Fisher, Dorothy 1962-1991, undated (3 folders)
Box 17			Fisher, Irene 1964-1985
Box 17			Fleming, Katie 1995-2001
Box 18			Floyd, Mark 1979-1982
Box 18			Ford, Alla 1962-1993, undated (4 folders)
Box 18			Ford, Jennifer A. 1980-1981
Box 18			Ford, Marvin L. 1982, 1988, 1993-1994
Box 18			Fortner, Nancy 1988, 1991
Box 18			Fowler, Virginia 1972-1982 (4 folders)
Box 19			Fowler, Virginia 1982-2001 (10 folders)
Box 20			France, Martin 2002, undated
Box 20			Frank, Richard A. 1971, 1982
Box 20			Fricke, John 1966-1997 (6 folders)
Box 20			F, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (5 folders)
Box 21			F, miscellaneous 1956-2004 ( 3 folders)
Box 21			Gambong, Leah Mae 1995-2000
Box 21			Gambong, Liezel D. 1995-1999
Box 21			Gambong, Minah Amor 1998-2003, undated
Box 21			Gardner, Martin 1955-2000 (5 folders)
Box 21			Gardner, Shirley 1976-1981
Box 22			Gessel, Michael 1971-2002 (3 folders)
Box 22			Gire, Kathy 1976-1977, 1994-1995, undated
Box 22			Gjovaag, Eric 1980, 1987-1996 (2 folders)
Box 22			Glendening, Virginia 1975-1986 (2 folders)
Box 22			Goodfellow, William 1971-1973
Box 22			Gould, Geoffrey 1977-1983
Box 22			Grandi, Roberta 1993-2003 (4 folders)
Box 23			Grandi, Roberta 2004, undated
Box 23			Graves, Norbert 1968-1974
Box 23			Greene, David 1965-1994 (8 folders)
Box 23			Greene, Douglas 1956-1970 (4 folders)
Box 24			Greene, Douglas 1971-1994, 2002, undated (5 folders)
Box 24			Gressley, Gene 1964-1966, 1978
Box 24			Grossman, Alan 1965-1988
Box 24			Groth, Bert 1959-1975
Box 24			Gunderman, Philip 1976-1981, 1989
Box 24			G, miscellaneous 1956-2004
Box 25			G, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (8 folders)
Box 26			Haff, James 1962-1981, undated (6 folders)
Box 26			Halacz, Jim 1982-1983
Box 26			Haladay, Nicole 2000-2004
Box 26			Hanff, Pete 1963-1983 (5 folders)
Box 27			Hanff, Pete 1983-2004, undated (3 folders)
Box 27			Hardie, David 1968-1972, 1987
Box 27			Harmetz, Aljean 1974-1981, 1995
Box 27			Harris, Gerry 1970-2003 (2 folders)
Box 27			Harris, Kevin 1968-1974, 1991, 1997
Box 27			Hearn, Michael 1961-2003, undated (5 folders)
Box 28			Heffernan, Marge 1978-1981
Box 28			Hedges, Carrie 1965-2003
Box 28			Heller, Ruth 1983-1993
Box 28			Henry Regnery Company Publishers 1962-1974 (2 folders)
Box 28			Henry, Russell Andy 1968-1972
Box 28			Hepler, Elizabeth 1992-1995
Box 28			Herson, Roger J. 1967-1968, 1991, 1998-2001, undated
Box 28			Hertzberg, Father Francis 1985-1991
Box 28			Hess, Robin 1979-2002
Box 28			Higbee, Susan 1992-2002
Box 28			Hinke, Carl and Margaret 1980
Box 28			Hofer, David and Joyce 1968, 1980, 1991, 1993
Box 28			Hoyt, Katherine 1976, 1983
Box 28			Hollis, Tim 1975-1998 (2 folders)
Box 28			Hollister, C. Warren 1961-1967
Box 29			Hollister, C. Warren 1967-1994, undated
Box 29			Hopewell, Elizabeth 1991-1992
Box 29			Hopkins, Marie 1997-2000
Box 29			Houck, Clara 1970, 1987-1999
Box 29			Howell, Merlyn 1986-1994
Box 29			Huber, Roger and Harriet 1974-1976
Box 29			The Hudson Review 1973
Box 29			Hulan, David 1962, 1994-2004 (2 folders)
Box 29			Hutchins, Scott 1994-1998 (2 folders)
Box 30			H, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (9 folders)
Box 31			H, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (4 folders)
Box 31			Impiombato, Nathan 1997-1999 (2 folders)
Box 31			Indick, Ben 1970-2003, undated (6 folders)
Box 32			Ingersoll, Glenn 1981-1985, undated (3 folders)
Box 32			Irwin, Inez 1950-1951
Box 32			I, miscellaneous 1956-2004
Box 32			Jeff, Stephen 1976-1982
Box 32			Jones, George 1964-1985
Box 32			Jones, Tyler 1991-1995
Box 32			Jones, Vernon H. 1971-1972, 1981-1982
Box 32			Juhl, Robert and Margaret 1976, 1981, 1989, 1992
Box 32			J, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (3 folders)
Box 33			J, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (2 folders)
Box 33			Kamhi, Victor 1980-1982, 1991-1994
Box 33			Karr, Phyllis 1975-1982
Box 33			Kaufman, Shara 1982-1983, 1989
Box 33			King, Tekoa 1965-1966
Box 33			Klim, Stefan and Rita 1997-1998
Box 33			Kocher, Michael D. 1997-2002 (2 folders)
Box 33			Koelle, Barbara 1966-1976 (3 folders)
Box 34			Koelle, Barbara 1976-2004 (8 folders)
Box 34			Krolik, Day 1964-1968
Box 34			K, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (3 folders)
Box 35			K, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (6 folders)
Box 35			Lanza, Vito 1982-1995
Box 35			Larsen, Bernhard 1972-1992
Box 35			Lauer, Robert (Robbie) Jr 1971-1980, undated (2 folders)
Box 35			Laumer, Keith and March 1965-1979 (4 folders)
Box 36			Laumer, Keith and March 1980-1982
Box 36			Lauterbach, Ed 1965-1972
Box 36			Lee, William 1961-1968 (2 folders)
Box 36			Leonhardt, William 1972, 1976, 1984, 1992, undated
Box 36			Liberal Convention and Tourism Bureau 1985
Box 36			Library of Congress 1969-1979, 2000
Box 36			Leihe, Martha 1964-1996, undated (3 folders)
Box 36			Linker, Dana 1978-1979, undated
Box 36			Lummis, Frank 1961-1974, 1995
Box 36			Lundwall, Sam 1975-1994
Box 37			L, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (9 folders)
Box 37			MacFall, Russell P. 1955-1962 (2 folders)
Box 38			MacFall, Russell P. 1962-1977, undated (3 folders)
Box 38			Machin, Tad 1981-1982, 1992-1995, undated
Box 38			MacVeigh, Robert 1969-1983 (3 folders)
Box 38			Mannix, Daniel P. 1964-1997 (6 folders)
Box 39			Martell, Terence 1973
Box 39			Martin, Dick 1958-1987 (9 folders)
Box 39			Matilda Joslyn Gage Foundation 2000-2003 (2 folders)
Box 40			Maund, Patrick 1976-2003, undated (4 folders)
Box 40			Maxam, Blake E. 1956-1967 (2 folders)
Box 40			Maxine, David 1977-1984
Box 40			McClain, Mary 1956-1959
Box 40			McCord, Evan 1989, 1995, 2000
Box 40			McGehee, Caroline 1964-1981
Box 40			McGraw, Eloise 1971, 1979-1981, 1991, 1999
Box 40			McNeive, Jane 1972-1976, 1983
Box 40			Mebes, Marcus 1987-1993
Box 40			Mendel, Jerome 1968-1983
Box 40			Mendheim, Beverly 1977-1995
Box 41			Miller, Kenneth 1974-1991
Box 41			Mills, Richard 1967-1972 (2 folders)
Box 41			Mongold, Harry 1964-1970, 1980-1983, 1992-1994
Box 41			Moore, Raylen 1971-1973
Box 41			Morena, Gita 1994-2003
Box 41			Morris, Raymond 1971-1978
Box 41			Moyer, David 1976-2004, undated (6 folders)
Box 41			Musser, Laura Jane 1971-1983 (2 folders)
Box 42			M, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (10 folders)
Box 43			M, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (6 folders)
Box 43			Nagel, Rosemary 1964-1968
			Neill, John R.
				See Thompson, Ruth Plumly.
Box 43			Neimeyer, Peter 1981-1982
Box 43			Newman, Lois 1965-1973
Box 43			Nishimura, Takao 1994-1995
Box 43			N, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (2 folders)
Box 44			N, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (2 folders)
Box 44			Olderman, Robin 1973-1983, 1991-1996 (2 folders)
Box 44			Olsen, Scott 1968-1988, undated (2 folders)
Box 44			The Oogaboo Review 1980-1984
Box 44			Orr, Annett and Don 1991, 1999-2003
Box 44			Orth, Edward 1969-1974
Box 44			Orzechowski, Carol and Dave 1980-1981, 1993-1995, 2002
Box 44			Otto, Frederick 1966-1991 (3 folders)
Box 45			Oz Research Group 1987-2000
Box 45			O, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (2 folders)
Box 45			Pachon, Stanley 1965-1978
Box 45			Padmanabhan, RA 1964-1982, 1999, undated
Box 45			Palmer, David R. 1976-1981
Box 45			Passalaqua, Lee 1966-1971
Box 45			Patten, Frederick 1965-1969, 1976-1981 (2 folders)
Box 45			Patterson, Robert 1956, 1970, 1972, 1980
Box 45			Pattrick, Elizabeth and John 1959-1963 (4 folders)
Box 46			Pattrick, Elizabeth and John 1963-1985 (10 folders)
Box 47			Pattrick, Elizabeth and John undated (7 folders)
Box 47			Pattrick, Robert 1958-1960 (3 folders)
Box 47			Pellegrini, Margaret 1990-2003
Box 48			Perryman, Garrett 1995
Box 48			Petrasko, Nancy and Richard 1975, 1980-1981, 1994, 2003
Box 48			Pigney, Jane 1956-1983, 1988, 1992, 2001
Box 48			Pike, Judy 1963-2004 (4 folders)
Box 48			Pinchot, Bronson 1971-1985, undated (3 folders)
Box 49			Plummer, John P. 1982-1983
Box 49			Powell, Ray 1962-1980, undated (7 folders)
Box 49			Pumperdink Press 1981-1983
Box 49			P, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (2 folders)
Box 50			P, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (6 folders)
Box 50			Phillips, Patricia 1968-1970, 1996, 2000-2002, undated
Box 50			Parrett, Garry 1990-1992
Box 50			Quigley, Patrick 2002-2003
Box 50			Quijano, Sampaguita 1991-1997
Box 50			Q, miscellaneous 1956-2004
Box 51			Ralph, Gary 1966-1975 (3 folders)
Box 51			Rasmussen, Tamara and Gayle Paul 1971-1973
Box 51			Reckford, Kenneth, Sammy, and Rachel 1971-1972, 1980, 1991, 2000
Box 51			Reilly and Lee Company 1956-1968
Box 51			Rice, Ruthelen 1975-1984, 1994-1996, undated
Box 51			Richardson, Marie 1993-1994, 2004
Box 51			Riley, Michael 1961-1964, 1978, 1995-2004 (2 folders)
Box 51			Ritz, Paul 1973-1983, 1989-1995
Box 51			Rossman, Douglas 1966-1984, 1999 (2 folders)
Box 51			Roy, Rob 1982-1990
Box 52			Royal Club of Oz 1991-1994
Box 52			Rutter, Richard 1978-2003 (2 folders)
Box 52			R, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (6 folders)
Box 53			Samuelson, Jean-Piere 1979-1985
Box 53			Sanger, Jonnie 1991-1992
Box 53			Sato, Takako 1975-1983, undated
Box 53			Sawyer, Alice M. 1966, 1971
Box 53			Schiller, Justin 1955-1989, undated (7 folders)
Box 53			Schlick, Lawrence 1975-1989
Box 53			Schlow, Stephen 1964
Box 53			Schrader, Albert W. 1976-2000
Box 53			Schultz, Carol 1976-1980
Box 53			Scott, Mary 1971-1975
Box 54			Scott, Mary 1975-1982
Box 54			Seaman, Noah 1972-1974
Box 54			Shanower, Eric 1984-2004 (2 folders)
Box 54			Shephard, Ken 1986-1989
Box 54			Smith, Cheryl 1961-1964
Box 54			Smith, Daniel 1982-1983, 1990
Box 54			Smith, Stephen undated
Box 54			Smyers, Richard P. 1961-1976
Box 54			Speth, Lee 1964, 1976-1979, 1983, 1989
Box 54			Stillman, William 1984-2003 (2 folders)
Box 54			Stokovaz, Diana 1963-1970
Box 54			Stroff, William 1974-1976, 1992
Box 54			Stromee, Chris 1962-1972, 1985
Box 54			Swartz, Mark 1987-1997
Box 54			Sweetland, Dan 1997-1999
Box 54			S, miscellaneous 1956-2004
Box 55			S, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (10 folders)
Box 56			S, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (4 folders)
Box 56			Tacang, Leise 1976-1979
Box 56			Tan, Athena 1995-2002
Box 56			Teller, Stephen J. 1968, 1987-1994
Box 56			Theriot, Dennis and Lee 1973-2003 (2 folders)
Box 56			Thomas, Kevin 2002-2003
Box 56			Thompson, Ruth Plumly 1933-1941, 1960 - correspondence is with John R. Neill and a "Mrs. Ford"
Box 56			Thorburn, Lois 1971-1979
Box 56			Tichelaar, Tyler 1988-1991
Box 56			Tobias, Jerry and Patricia 1966-1979, 1991-1995 (2 folders)
Box 57			Tolmach, Andrew 1971-1973
Box 57			Tower, John C. 1962-1979
Box 57			Tracy, Marilyn 1979-1981, 1988-1990
Box 57			Trimble, Bjo 1964-1972
Box 57			Trozzi, Tricia 1989-2004 (2 folders)
Box 57			T, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (7 folders)
Box 58			University of Minnesota, The Children's Literature Research Collections 1971-1979
Box 58			U, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (2 folders)
Box 58			Van Buren, George 1969-1981, 2004, undated (2 folders)
Box 58			Van Camp, John 1970-2002 (4 folders)
Box 58			Vander Noot, Jim 1985-2002
Box 58			Van Wissink, Charles 1964, 1977-1981
Box 59			Vincent, Jack 1964, 1976-1983, 2001-2003
Box 59			V, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (2 folders)
Box 59			Wagenknecht, Edward 1955-2000
Box 59			Walt Disney Productions 1962-1964, 1984-1989, undated
Box 59			Wantz, William 1976-1987
Box 59			Wegemer, Norman 1980-1981, 1993
Box 59			Weiss, Henry 1981-1995
Box 59			Weltman, Manuel 1961-1968
Box 59			Welsh, Helen 1972, 1980, 1992-1995
Box 59			Werre, Jack 1972-1977
Box 59			Whitman, Digby Butler 1963, 1967, 1970, 1976-1978
Box 59			Wick, Nancy 1974-1986, 1999
Box 59			Wickwar, Virginia 1977-2004
Box 59			Wiegand, Frederick 1976-1991
Box 59			Wilder, Edwin 1991-1994
Box 59			Williams, David 1970-1973, 1984
Box 60			Williams, Martin 1964-1980 (2 folders)
Box 60			Winarski, Leah 2002, undated
Box 60			Worden, Stanley 1977-1987
Box 60			Wyllie, Stanley C. 1968-1976, undated (2 folders)
Box 60			W, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (5 folders)
Box 61			W, miscellaneous 1956-2004 (4 folders)
Box 61			The Yellow Brick Road 1979-1996, undated (3 folders)
Box 61			Ypilan, Lenny, Cindy, Cherry, and Atriu 1995-2003, undated (2 folders)
Box 61			Yussman, Andrea 1994-2002 (2 folders)
Box 61			XYZ, miscellaneous 1956-2004
Box 62			XYZ, miscellaneous 1956-2004
Box 62			First name only 1956-2004 (7 folders)
Box 63			First name only 1956-2004 (4 folders)
Box 63			Illegible or no name 1956-2004 (2 folders)
		Outgoing
Box 64			Club secretary Aug 1956-Dec 1959 (15 folders)
Box 65			Club secretary Jan 1960-Jun 1963 (15 folders)
Box 66			Club secretary Jul 1963-Feb 1965 (17 folders)
Box 67			Club secretary Mar 1965-Aug 1966 (15 folders)
Box 68			Club secretary Aug 1966-Jul 1968 (14 folders)
Box 69			Club secretary Aug 1968-Dec 1969 (13 folders)
Box 70			Club secretary Jan 1970-Apr 1971 (12 folders)
Box 71			Club secretary Sep 1972-Nov 1974 (14 folders)
Box 72			Club secretary Dec 1974-Dec 1975 (13 folders)
Box 73			Club secretary Jan 1976-Jul 1977 (13 folders)
Box 74			Club secretary Jul 1977-Jun 1978 (14 folders)
Box 75			Club secretary Jun 1978-Jun 1979 (14 folders)
Box 76			Club secretary Jul 1979-Aug 1980 (13 folders)
Box 77			Club secretary Aug 1980-Aug 1981 (12 folders)
Box 78			Club secretary Aug 1981-Aug 1982 (13 folders)
Box 79			Club secretary Aug 1982-Oct 1985 (13 folders)
Box 80			Club secretary Oct 1985-Apr 1987 (14 folders)
Box 81			Club secretary May 1987-Jul 1987 (3 folders)
Box 81			Club secretary Oct 1990-Jul 1991 (11 folders)
Box 82			Club secretary Aug 1991-May 1992 (12 folders)
Box 83			Club secretary May 1992-Mar 1993 (12 folders)
Box 84			Club secretary Apr 1993-Feb 1994 (13 folders)
Box 85			Club secretary Feb 1994-Feb 1995 (14 folders)
Box 86			Club secretary Feb 1995-Oct 1997 (13 folders)
Box 87			Club secretary Oct 1997-Dec 1998 (10 folders)

	Fan material
		Articles and essays
Box 87			Ashby, Lou 1999
Box 87			Averill, Thomas Fox 1989
Box 87			Barlow, Nate 1994
Box 87			Bauska, Barry 1976
Box 87			Berman, Ruth undated (3 folders)
Box 87			Boggs, Redd undated
Box 87			Daegan, Mary Jo 1989
Box 87			Douglas, Christopher C. 2001
Box 88			Dundas 1981
Box 88			Gardner, Martin 1991
Box 88			Haff, James undated
Box 88			Hess, Robin undated
Box 88			Hollister, C. Warren undated
Box 88			Hulan, David undated
Box 88			Hutchins, Scott undated (4 folders)
Box 88			Knight, Kathryn Lasky 1989
Box 88			Mannix, Daniel P. undated
Box 88			Maxine, David undated
Box 88			Maund, Patrick undated
Box 88			McMaster, Juliet 1992
Box 88			Mendheim, Beverly undated
Box 88			Mitrokhina, Xenia 1997
Box 88			Meyer, Fred undated
Box 88			Morey, Anne 1995-1996
Box 88			Pattrick, Robert undated
Box 88			Raff, Katherine 1980
Box 88			Rushdie, Salman 1991
Box 88			Stich, Sally 1990
Box 88			Vincent, Michael undated
Box 88			Wagenknecht, Edward undated
Box 88			Williams, Martin undated
Box 88			Yussman, Andrea undated
Box 88			Unknown undated (3 folders)
Box 111			Unknown undated
		Artwork
Box 102			Wizard of Oz - fan drawn art
Oversize 1			Wizard of Oz - fan drawn art
		Fan fiction
Box 89			Baum, Maud G.
Box 89			Berg, Margaret
Box 89			Berman, Ruth (3 folders)
Box 89			B, miscellaneous
Box 89			Carter, Lin (2 folders)
Box 89			C, miscellaneous
Box 89			Denslow, W.W.
Box 89			D, miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 89			Edwards, Alexander H. (2 folders)
Box 90			Edwards, Alexander H.
Box 90			E, miscellaneous
Box 90			Fleming, Katie
Box 90			Foltman, Mary Ann
Box 90			Forkner, John
Box 90			G, miscellaneous
Box 90			Hess, Robin (9 folders)
Box 90			Hoffman, W. Randy
Box 91			Hoffman, W. Randy
Box 112			Holden, Deborah, Green Pearl of Oz 1996 (Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch) (ID#: meyer_fm_001)
Box 112			Holden, Deborah, Que Sera, Que Sera (Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch) (ID#: meyer_fm_004)
Box 91			Hollis, Tim
Box 91			Hulan, David
Box 91			H, miscellaneous
Box 91			I, miscellaneous
Box 91			Johnson, Toby
Box 91			Kassabian, Robert
Box 91			K, miscellaneous
Box 91			Lauer, Robert (Robbie) Jr
Box 91			Liehe, Martha
Box 91			McClennon, Robert
Box 91			Mebes, Marcus
Box 91			Mongold, Harry
Box 91			M, miscellaneous
Box 91			Neill, John R.
Box 91			N, miscellaneous
Box 92			Oshe, Charlotte
Box 92			Otto, Frederick
Box 92			Pattrick, Robert
Box 92			Palmer, Mildred L. (3 folders)
Box 92			Pike, Judy
Box 92			Pitheus, Damon Z.
Box 92			Powell, Ray (3 folders)
Box 92			Rakestraw, Mary
Box 92			Ralph, Gary (3 folders)
Box 92			Richards, Jeff
Box 93			R, miscellaneous
Box 93			Seeger, Ann
Box 111			Seeger, Ann
Box 93			Shaller, Sandy Stuart (3 folders)
Box 93			Shanower, Eric
Box 93			S, miscellaneous
Box 93			Thompson, Ruth Plumly (5 folders)
Oversize 1			Thompson, Ruth Plumly - illustrated
Box 93			T, miscellaneous
Box 94			Van Buren, George
Box 112			Van Buren, George, Oz Storys [sic], Tape 1 - tape box is covered with handmade drawing, a content list, and a story plot (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: meyer_fm_005)
Box 112			Van Buren, George, Oz Storys [sic], Tape 2 - tape box is covered with handmade drawing, a content list, and a story plot (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: meyer_fm_006)
Box 112			Van Buren, George, Oz Storys [sic], Tape 3 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: meyer_fm_007)
Box 94			Van Camp, John
Box 94			Vander Noot, Jim
Box 94			Volkov, Alexander (5 folders)
Box 94			V, miscellaneous
Box 94			Waara, Ruth
Box 94			Ward, Vincent
Box 94			Wickwar, Gina (4 folders)
Box 95			Wickwar, Gina
Box 95			Wickwar, Virginia
Oversize 1			Unknown author, "Button Bright and the wizard of oz"
Box 112			Unknown author, Scatterbrained Scarecrow of Oz - audio book (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: meyer_fm_002)
Box 95			Unknown authors, miscellaneous (5 folders)
Box 95			Various - a compilation of Oz stories by different authors (2 folders)
		Fanzines
Box 95			All Mimsy 1958-1960
Box 95			Fantasy fanzines, miscellaneous 1988
Box 95			Neolithic undated (2 folders)
Box 96			Tolkien fanzines, miscellaneous undated
Box 96			Wizard of Oz fanzines, miscellaneous undated
Box 96			Miscellaneous undated (2 folders)

	International Wizard of Oz Club
Box 111		Articles of incorporation
Box 96		Awards
Box 96		The Baum Bugle
Box 96			Index to
Box 96			Mockups
Box 111			Mockups
Box 96			Notes (4 folders)
Box 96		Board of directors
Box 96		Bylaws
		Committees
Box 97			Centennial (2 folders)
Box 97			Membership and publicity
Box 97			Special publications
Box 111		Conferences (2 folders)
Box 97		Conventions
Box 97			Munchkin (3 folders)
Box 112			OzCon - contains documents for the 1992 OzCon convention, including a map1.44MB/DOS3.0 (Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch) (ID#: meyer_fm_003)
Box 97			Winkies (2 folders)
Box 97			Miscellaneous
Box 97		Correspondence - official correspondence from the club sent to members (5 folders)
Box 98		Financial statements
Box 98		Invoices
Box 98		L. Frank Baum Memorial Award
Box 98		Legal material
Box 98		Membership directories (3 folders)
Box 98		Minutes
Box 98		Membership list (2 folders)
Box 98		News from Oz and elsewhere - news that Meyer shared with members
Box 98		Notes, miscellaneous - Meyer's handwritten notes on fragments of paper (5 folders)
Box 99		Notes, miscellaneous - Meyer's handwritten notes on fragments of paper (7 folders)
Box 99		Oz centennial
Box 99		Oz gazette - a children's newletter published by the club
Box 99		Oziana, mockups - the club's magazine featuring Oz short fiction and poetry (3 folders)
Box 99		Ozmapolitan - special convention and newsletters
Box 99		Oz Observer - club newsletter
Box 99		Oz quiz - quiz questions for conventions
Box 100		Oz quiz - quiz questions for conventions (2 folders)
Box 100		Oz research group
Box 100		Oz story circle - club members that selected fan fiction for publication in The Baum Bugle (5 folders)
Box 100		Oz trading post
Box 100		Questionnaires - questionnaires about the club that were sent to members (2 folders)
Box 101		Question sheet report - report about questionnaire results
Box 101		Secretary's report - Meyer's report to club members
Box 101		Miscellaneous - memos, new members, reports (10 folders)
Box 102		Miscellaneous - memos, new member introductions, and reports (5 folders)

	Memorabilia
Box 102		Arts and crafts - coloring books, sewing kits, etc. (6 folders)
Box 112		BBC Radio 4: Wizards 2000 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: meyer_fm_008)
Box 103		Games - Oz-related games
Box 111		Military service items - chow pass, recipe, stories
		Photographs
Box 103			Negatives
Box 103			Prints - conventions, collectibles, homes, and Meyer (5 folders)
Box 103			Slides
Box 103			Miscellaneous
Box 103		Photograph scrapbook
Box 103		Postcards, blank
		Programs
Box 103			Conventions and special events (2 folders)
Box 104			Theatre (5 folders)
Box 104		Promotional material - books, tv shows, and movies
Box 104		Tributes, Judy Garland and Liza Minnelli
Box 104		TV and video events, Oz-related - advertisements, Oz appearances, list of shows, etc.
Box 104		Miscellaneous - bookmarks, notebooks, maps, pins, and other ephemera (4 folders)
Box 105		Miscellaneous - bookmarks, notebooks, maps, pins, and other ephemera (10 folders)

	Printed material
Box 105		Articles about Oz and IWOC
Box 105		Catalogs
Oversize 1		Calendars
Box 105		Calendars
Box 109		Calendars, International Wizard of Oz Club 1984-2002 - calendars published by the club (4 folders)
		Clippings
Box 106			Fred Meyer and International Wizard of Oz Club 1963-1989, undated (4 folders)
Box 106			Oz Fest, Chittenango 1990-1999 (5 folders)
Box 106			Oz in the news - clippings that were sent to Meyer for publication in The Baum Bugle (3 folders)
Box 106			Reilly and Lee Company undated
Box 107			Wizard of Oz 1955-2002, undated (15 folders)
Box 108			Wizard of Oz 1960-1979 (11 folders)
Oversize 1			Wizard of Oz 1964-1968 (2 folders)
Box 106		Comic - Return to Oz (2 folders)
Box 106		Comic books - Oz-themed (2 folders)
Box 109		Miniature book, Musical fantasies of L. Frank Baum 1969 - 2 copies
Box 106		Newsletters, miscellaneous - IWOC and Oz-themed (3 folders)
Box 109		Oziana 1983-2003 - the club's magazine featuring Oz short fiction and poetry (2 folders)
Box 109		Trade catalogs - Wizard of Oz collectibles (6 folders)
Box 110		Trade catalogs - Wizard of Oz collectibles (13 folders)

Return to top