Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	United States Navy Band.
Title:	U. S. Navy Band Showcase Recordings
Inclusive Dates:	circa 1970
Quantity:	13 items
Abstract:	26 programs of the United States Navy Band Showcase on long-playing phonodiscs
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

The United States Navy Band has been the official musical organization of the U. S. Navy since 1925. Based in the Washington Navy Yard in Washington, D.C. the band performs at various events, including presidential inaugurations, state arrival ceremonies, state memorial services at Arlington National Cemetery, state dinners, special events, and public concerts. They have also released recordings over the years. The band consists of six primary performing ensembles – the Concert Band, the Ceremonial Band, the Commodores (jazz), the Country Current (country-bluegrass), the Cruisers (contemporary entertainment), and the Sea Chanters (chorus), as well as several smaller groups.

The ensembles represent the Navy, inspire patriotism, preserve the Nation's musical heritage, meet public demand, and support the Navy's recruiting needs. The United States Navy Band aims for military and musical excellence and has recruited some of the best musicians in the county who perform a wide range of music genres, such as classical, rock, jazz, and country.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The U. S. Navy Band Showcase Recordings consists of 13 long-playing vinyl phonodiscs containing 26 programs. Most likely the recordings were used for recruiting purposes during the Vietnam era. Programs 1 through 6 (the first three discs) have handwritten information on their sleeves.There is no content information for the rest.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Recordings are organized sequentially according to program number.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to audiovisual material requires advance notice to produce a use copy.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also Your Navy Presents Recordings.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

U. S. Navy Band Showcase Recordings,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

There is no information on how the collection was obtained and its provenance.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: IRP
Date: 25 Jun 2024
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

	Recordings
Oversize 1		Navy Band Showcase, Program No. 1 and Program No. 2 circa 1970 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: navy_band_show_001)
			Program 1: Before the Mast; Chiki Chihuahua by Donald Stauffer; Flute Cocktail, Flute Trio; Bravada (Paso Doble), by F. Curzon; Program 2: Trepak from Nutcracker Suite; Brave Matador Trumpet, Trumpet Trio; Greensleeves; El Rancho Grande.
Oversize 1		Navy Band Showcase, Program No. 3 and Program No. 4 circa 1970 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: navy_band_show_002)
			Program 3: Purple Carnival March, H. Alford; Girl In Satin, L. Anderson; The Huntsman, Frank Scimonella, Past Horn; March from 1st suite in Eb, Holst; Program 4: Playfellow March, Filmre; Blue Tango, Anderson; Flight of the Bumble Bee, Chas. Seation [?] N. R. Korsokoff; Jubilee, Snaybinte Suite, C. William.
Oversize 1		Navy Band Showcase, Program No. 5 and Program No. 6 circa 1970 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: navy_band_show_003)
			Program 5: Dance from Bartered Bride, Smetana; Miami Beach Rhumba, Fields, Marimba Group; Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy, P. Tchaikovsky; King Cotton March, Sousa; Program 6: Funiculi funicula; Holiday For Trombones, Trombones; Song of the Bells, L. Anderson; El Capitan, Sousa.
Oversize 1		Navy Band Showcase, Program No. 7 and Program No. 8 circa 1970 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: navy_band_show_004)
Oversize 1		Navy Band Showcase, Program No. 9 and Program No. 10 circa 1970 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: navy_band_show_005)
Oversize 1		Navy Band Showcase, Program No. 11 and Program No. 12 circa 1970 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: navy_band_show_006)
Oversize 1		Navy Band Showcase, Program No. 13 and Program No. 14 circa 1970 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: navy_band_show_007)
Oversize 1		Navy Band Showcase, Program No. 15 and Program No. 16 circa 1970 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: navy_band_show_008)
Oversize 1		Navy Band Showcase, Program No. 17 and Program No. 18 circa 1970 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: navy_band_show_009)
Oversize 1		Navy Band Showcase, Program No. 19 and Program No. 20 circa 1970 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: navy_band_show_010)
Oversize 1		Navy Band Showcase, Program No. 21 and Program No. 22 circa 1970 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: navy_band_show_011)
Oversize 1		Navy Band Showcase, Program No. 23 and Program No. 24 circa 1970 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: navy_band_show_012)
Oversize 1		Navy Band Showcase, Program No. 25 and Program No. 26 circa 1970 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: navy_band_show_013)

Return to top