Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	O'Donnell, Thomas C. (Thomas Clay), 1881-1962.
Title:	Thomas Clay O'Donnell Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1900-1962
Quantity:	5.0 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American editor, author of books on upstate New York folklore and children's literature. Correspondence, incoming and outgoing (1900-1962); notebooks (1920-1957); scrapbooks; manuscript books, essays, lectures, plays, and poems, as well as research material; published articles, books, and plays; and memorabilia, including photographs. Correspondents include Conrad Aiken, C.W. Anderson, Richard Atwater, Marjorie Barrows, Henry Bedford-Jones, Maxwell Bodenheim, Padraic Colum, Albert B. Corey, Homer Croy, James W. Earp, Walter D. Edmonds, and Vincent Starrett.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Thomas Clay O'Donnell (1881-1962) was an American magazine editor and author of books on upstate New York history and folklore.

Born on 29 July 1881 in a lumber camp near Saginaw, Michigan to George and Vesta O'Donnell, he received his early education in Vestaburg, Michigan, and later attended a business college in London, England, where he married another Michigander, Bertha May Smith, in 1905.

After returning to the United States, he lived from 1909-1919 in Battle Creek, Michigan where he taught at Battle Creek College before beginning his varied career as a magazine editor at Good Health, a magazine of the Battle Creek Sanitarium. Later he edited Cartoons magazine in Chicago. From 1923 to 1927 he was editor of The Writer's Digest in Cincinnati, where he also wrote and produced for radio station WLW, the Crosley Radio Corporation station there. An active Freemason for most of his life, he was for many years the editor of the monthly New York Masonic Outlook for the Grand Lodge of Masons of the State of New York. He edited the magazines Outing and Wayside Tales as well. From 1943 to 1945 he was production manager of Robert M. McBride & Company, publishers in New York City.

During his retirement, first in Boonville, New York, and then in Winter Park, Florida, O'Donnell wrote on the history of upstate New York. The publication in 1948 of The Sapbush Run: An Informal History of the Black River & Utica Railroad was followed by Snubbing Posts: An Informal History of the Black River Canal (1949) and Tip of the Hill: An Informal History of the Fairfield Academy and the Fairfield Medical College (1953). Of an intended trilogy on the history of the Black River, two books were completed: Birth of a River: An Informal History of the Headwaters of the Black River (1952) and The River Rolls On: A History of the Black River from Port Leyden to Carthage (1959).

His other works include several children's books, The Ladder of Rickety Rungs (1923) and The "Tell Me Again" Bible (1936), as well as plays for children and children's verse. Among his writings on the home are the books The Family Food (1911), A Garden for You (editor, 1946), and The Healthful House (1917, written with Lionel Robertson). O'Donnell wrote under numerous pseudonyms, including James Radley. He died at the Masonic Home in Utica, New York, on 11 November 1962, survived by his wife of 57 years and three children.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Thomas C. O'Donnell Papers comprise correspondence, memorabilia, notebooks, scrapbooks, writings in both manuscript and published form, and two small sections of biographical material and other writers' manuscripts. Principal items in the papers date from 1900 to 1962, with the years 1919 to 1955 most heavily represented.

Biographical material includes news clippings and other printed items about O'Donnell.

Correspondence dates from 1900 to 1962 and amounts to 556 letters, both incoming and outgoing. The earliest letters date from 1900 and are signed by "Clay" to his mother; the 37 family letters in these papers, mostly written by O'Donnell, extend to 1956. Besides 502 incoming letters from 1915 to 1962, there are 17 outgoing letters (mostly retained carbons) from 1915 to 1957.

Prominent among the correspondents are literary figures with whom he was associated, especially during the 1920s. Notable correspondents include Samuel Hopkins Adams (1), Conrad Aiken (7), C. W. Anderson (5), Richard Atwater (4),Marjorie Barrows (26), Henry Bedford-Jones (5), Ralph Bergengren (2), John Peale Bishop (1), Maxwell Bodenheim (5), Harold Brighouse (2), Abraham A. Brill (1), John Burroughs (1), Carl Carmer (1), Padraic Colum (4, including annotated typescript of the poem "Shall I Go Bound & You Go Free"), Albert B. Corey (19), Homer Croy (5), Jay Norwood ("Ding") Darling (3), John Drury (3), James W. Earp (13), Walter D. Edmonds (24), Edna Ferber (1), Richard Austin Freeman (2), John Merriman Gaus (2), Charles Dana Gibson (1), Arthur Edward Hamilton (14), Cassius Jackson Keyser (2), Alfred Kreymborg (2), George Barr McCutcheon (1), Thomas F. O'Donnell (1), Manuel Rosenberg (7), Vincent Starrett (10), and John Van Alstyne Weaver (2).

A name index and a topical index to the correspondenec are provided at the end of this inventory.

Manuscripts submitted to magazines edited by O'Donnell contains four items. The undated typescripts of the three Conrad Aiken poems "Clear Evening," "The Old House," and "Red Petals" were submitted to Cartoons, and Cassius Jackson Keyser (1862-1947), the Columbia University mathematician, contributed to Outlook the essay "How To Think Mathematically." Besides those manuscripts, there is in the correspondence section the annotated typescript of a Padraic Colum poem, "Shall I Go Bound and You Go Free," an enclosure in an undated letter of Colum.

Memorabilia includes advertisements and promotional brochures, photographs, and five folders of miscellanea. A group of eight caricature portraits includes several of O'Donnell, one of Padraic Colum that is inscribed with one of his poems, and four drawn by Manuel Rosenberg. Other photographs and caricatures will be found in the scrapbooks. There are three poems by Edwin Markham that are inscribed to O'Donnell, one of which, "Our Israfel," contains annotations in the poet's hand. Among the miscellanea are invitations, membership cards, other ephemera, and fragments.

The five Notebooks in Box 3 are undated, but contain material from the 1920s through 1957. Each of the four notebooks in small format contains diary fragments, clippings, quotations, and jottings; entries signed "Nicodemus" are O'Donnell's own. The first notebook is a commonplace book with lists of names and phrases. The second has on pages 58-87 and 90-91 a 1953 autobiographical sketch of his early years. The third contains sketches, dated 1927, for a children's book "The Road to Cuddledown," idea notes from 1946 to 1957, and the carbon of his letter of 9 January 1956 to Thomas F. O'Donnell. The fourth notebook, mostly from the 1950s, carries quotations and reminiscences. The largest notebook is a ring binder with notes on canals, apparently research material for the book Snubbing Posts.

Loose Scrapbook pages of general items, Masonic material, and clippings of O'Donnell's writings are arranged in boxes 3 and 4. Many of these pages carry his annotations. Seven folders of general material from 1910 to ca. 1953 contain clippings, cartoon sketches, and photographs. Another folder contains a Masonic scrapbook of programs and clippings. Approximately one hundred magazine articles, often written under pseudonyms, were clipped from magazines and mounted on pages that once constituted a scrapbook; arrangement of these printed articles is alphabetical by title for those from Cartoons, as is the arrangement of those from other magazines. Copies of published editorials and plays, also from the author's scrapbooks, complete the section.

Writings in manuscript contains manuscript version of both published and unpublished works. Many of these manuscripts carry notes of circa 1953 by the author. Of his books there are three folders of research notes and one folder of miscellaneous material for Birth of a River; the undated, unpublished typescript of A Jazz History of the United States, a whimsical account of some events in colonial American history; and the annotated typescript of a lengthy, unpublished autobiographical work (possibly with the working title"Aged in Wood") that centers on the lumber camp life of the author's childhood in northern Michigan. The typescripts of seventeen plays include a dramatic version of The Ladder of Rickety Rungs dated 1921. A complete file of the author's verses and poems -- published and unpublished -- are mostly typescript carbons, often annotated. An alphabetical list of all 250+ poems is available in the Manuscripts Division.

Writings, published include articles, books and plays, contributions to anthologies, Masonic writings in the Transactions of the American Lodge of Research of Free and Accepted Masons, and poetry. There is also a Masonic songster to which he contributed lyrics. These copies, presumably the author's own, occasionally carry his holograph corrections. A few odd items of published material follow at the end of the collection. (For a larger selection of the author's articles, see the scrapbook pages in box 4.)

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically; undated items are at the end, arranged alphabetically by correspondent. Manuscripts submitted to magazines edited by O'Donnell are arranged alphabetically by author. Memorabilia is arranged alphabetically by type. Notebooks are in no particular order, being undated. Scrapbooks are in alphabetical order by subject matter. Writings are arranged alphabetically by type and within that alphabetically by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Thomas Clay O'Donnell Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mrs. Kathleen O'Donnell Springer, 1964-1968.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: EL
Date: Oct 1977
Revision history: 3 Aug 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC); 5 Jan 2017 - separated name and topic indexes, recoded (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Biographical material
Box 1		Clippings about Thomas C. O'Donnell various dates
Box 1		Obituary notices 1962
Box 1		Sketch entitled "Thomas C. O'Donnell" by Thomas F. O'Donnell, North Country Life Fall 1954

	Correspondence
Box 1		[General] 1900, 1915-1962 (19 folders)
Box 1		Undated (2 folders)
Box 1		No year

	Manuscripts submitted to magazines edited by O'Donnell
Box 1		Aiken, Conrad / 3 poems
			"Clear Evening," 1 p., typescript, undated "The Old House," 1 p., typescript, undated "Red Petals," 1 p., typescript, undated
Box 1		Keyser, Cassius Jackson / "How To Think Mathematically" undated - 10 pp., holograph

	Memorabilia
Box 2		Advertisements undated - mostly for O'Donnell's books and Cartoons magazine
Box 2		Clippings
Box 2		Copyright certificates 1943-1949
Box 2		Family mementos 1894 1956-1958
		Literary mementos
Box 2			Broadside of Edwin Markham's poem "Lincoln, the Man of the People," inscribed to T. C. O'Donnell Sept. 1928
Box 2			Broadside of Edwin Markham's poem "The Man with the Hoe," inscribed to O'Donnell Sept. 1928
Box 2			Edwin Markham's poem "Our Israfel" (New York, Eugene R. Trott Co., 1925), with holograph corrections by the author, inscribed to O'Donnell Sept. 1928
Box 2		Masonic pin and medal
Box 2		Photographs
Box 2		Portrait sketches (4 folders)
Oversize 1		Portrait sketches, oversize
Box 2		Reviews of books by O'Donnell (4 folders)
Box 2		Miscellanea (2 folders)
Box 3		Miscellanea (3 folders)

	Notebooks
Box 3		Nos. 1-2 undated
Box 3		Nos. 3-4 undated
Box 3		Number 5 undated

	Scrapbooks
Box 3		General (6 folders)
Box 4		General
Box 4		Masonic scrapbook 1929-1947
		Writings of T. C. O'Donnell as arranged in scrapbooks
Box 4			Articles, general, arranged by title (3 folders)
Box 4			Articles for Cartoons magazine, arranged by title (4 folders)
Box 4			Editorials
Box 4			Plays

	Writings in manuscript
		Books
			Birth of a River
Box 4				Research notes (3 folders)
Box 4				Miscellaneous material
Box 5			A Jazz History of the United States undated - typescript
Box 5			Untitled autobiographical work undated - annotated typescript (2 folders)
		Essays
Box 5			"My Bridge" and "On Coming Home" circa 1912, undated - annotated typescripts
		Lectures
Box 5			"The Black River Story" 1952
Box 5			"Folklore and History" 1949
Box 5			"Folklore of the Black River Valley" circa 1950
Box 5			"Outline of a New Approach to the Morgan Mystery" 1937
		Music lyrics
Box 5			Miscellaneous, various dates
		Plays
Box 5			Typescripts, assorted (5 folders)
				"Christmas at Santa Claus's," typescript, undated "David Meets Goliath," typescript, undated "Grandpa Maypole," annotated typescript copy, undated "In the Treesical Woods," annotated typescript, undated "Jack in the Pulpit's Green Suit," annotated typescript, undated "Just as Thankful...!" annotated typescript, undated "Just the Biggest Apple...!" annotated typescript, undated "The Ladder of Rickety Rungs," annotated typescript copy, 1921 "The Last Beanstalk," annotated typescript, undated "Little Boy Blue Bird," annotated typescript, undated "A Magic Journey," annotated typescript, 1923 "The Moon Tree," annotated typescript, undated "Pumpkin Peter's Hallowe'en, " annotated typescript, undated and typescript copy, undated (2 copies) "Santa's False Whiskers," typescript, undated "Santa's Magic Beard," annotated typescript copy, undated "Solomon's Dream," typescript, undated "Table-Topsy Dollies," annotated typescript, undated and annotated typescript copy, undated (2 copies) Fragments
		Stories
Box 5			"How the Spoon Came Back" undated - annotated typescript
Box 5			"Jimmy and the Sky Pirates" undated - annotated typescript
Box 5			"The Odyssey" 1956 - annotated typescript
Box 5			"Spoolikins in Dollipop Land" undated - annotated typescript
Box 5			"Wooly Lamb in Dollikin Land" undated - annotated typescript
		Verse
Box 5			Arranged by title, A-Z (6 folders)
Box 5			Untitled and multiple poems
		Miscellaneous writings
Box 5			Gags from the "On the Satiring Line" feature in Cartoons magazine undated

	Writings, published
Box 6		Articles by O'Donnell
Box 6		Books and plays by O'Donnell
Box 7		Contributions to anthologies
Box 7		Masonic writings
Box 7		Poetry and verse
Box 7		Miscellaneous items

Return to top

Selected index to correspondence - Names

• Adkins, Leon M. Jr. : Sep 12, 1958 (to); Apr 23, 1963 (to); Sep 10, 1965 (from); Sep 17, 1965 (to); Oct 21, 1965 (to); Mar 21, 1966 (from)
• Allen, James E. Jr. : Jun 28, 1963 (to); Jul 3, 1963 (from); Jan 17, 1964 (to); Oct 2, 1964 (to); Feb 28, 1966 (from); Jun 27, 1966 (to); Jul 12, 1966 (from)
• Armbruster, Christian H. : Apr 4, 1966 (to)
• Associated Executive Committee of Friends on Indian Affairs : May 26, 1960 (from); Jun 13, 1960 (to); Jun 16, 1960 (from)
• Associated Industries of New York State, Inc. : Jul 8, 1960 (from); Jul 12, 1960 (to); Jul 29, 1960 (from); Aug 3, 1960 (to)
• Association for the Study of Abortion, Inc. : Mar 1, 1966 (from)
• Bachman, C. Charles : Mar 11, 1957 (from); Mar 16, 1957 (to); Mar 22, 1957 (to); Mar 26, 1957 (from); Apr 1, 1957 (to)
• Biederstedt, F.H. : Nov 15, 1960 (to)
• Bodo, John : Mar 10, 1966 (from); Mar 17, 1966 (to)
• Bordley, James III : Mar 9, 1963 (from); Mar 21, 1963 (to)
• Brade, Madeleine : Jan 13, 1956 (to)
• Bronston, Jack E. : Feb 9, 1965 (from)
• Brossman, Donald G. : Jul 21, 1966 (from); Jul 22, 1966 (to); Jul 27, 1966 (to); Sep 8, 1966 (from); Sep 13, 1966 (to)
• Brydges, Earl W. : Mar 28, 1966 (to)
• Burke, Rev. Carl F. : Jan 8, 1965 (from); Jan 25, 1965 (from); Jan 28, 1965 (to)
• Butler, Rix Pierce : Apr 26, 1967 (from); May 1, 1967 (to); May 5, 1967 (from); May 8, 1967 (to)
• Carothers, J. Edward : Dec 10, 1959 (to); Dec 23, 1959 (from)
• Cederberg, George S. : Mar 12, 1963 (from); Mar 20, 1963 (to)
• Chinn, Harvey N. : Mar 14, 1966 (from); Mar 21, 1966 (to); Aug 1, 1966 (from); Aug 5, 1966 (to)
• Clark, Stephen C. : Jan 26, 1953 (from); Jan 30, 1953 (to); Dec 26, 1953 (to); Jan 15, 1954 (from); Jan 20, 1954 (to); Jan 26, 1954 (from)
• Corbin, Sol Neil : Jan 10, 1965 (to); Apr 09, 1965 (to); Apr 15, 1965 (to); May 25, 1965 (to); May 28, 1965 (to); Jun 7 1965 (to); Jun 12, 1965 (to); Jun 17, 1965 (to); Jun 23, 1965 (to); Jul 07, 1965 (to)
• Cox, David F. : Jun 30, 1966 (from); Jul 5, 1966 (to)
• Dahlberg, Edwin T. : Jul 15, 1959 (from); Jul 17, 1959 (to); Jul 24, 1959 (from); May 28, 1962 (to); Jun 5, 1962 (from); Jun 8, 1962 (to); Jun 12, 1962 (from); Jan 18, 1963 (to); Jan 28, 1963 (from); Feb 4, 1963 (to)
• Davie, J. Ralph : Oct 28, 1954 (from); Nov 1, 1954 (to); Jun 14, 1956 (from); Oct 29, 1956 (from); Oct 31, 1956 (to); Nov 30, 1956 (from); Dec 5, 1956 (to); Dec 26, 1956 (from); Jan 7, 1957 (to); Jan 18, 1957 (from); Jan 22, 1957 (to); Mar 8, 1958 (from); Mar 14, 1958 (to); Mar 25, 1958 (to); Mar 20, 1958 (from); Aug 8, 1958 (from); Aug 12, 1958 (to)
• Debevoise, Eli Whitney : Nov 30, 1959 (to); Dec 17, 1959 (from); Dec 21, 1959 (to); Aug 24, 1967 (to)
• Dick, James M. : Sep 21, 1967 (from); Sep 26, 1967 (to)
• Dirks, Howard M. : Mar 30, 1956 (to); Apr 3, 1956 (from); Sep 26, 1955 (from)
• Douglass, Robert R. : Apr 4, 1966 (to); Apr 6, 1966 (to); Apr 22, 1966 (to); May 2, 1966 (to); May 5, 1966 (to); Jun 6, 1966 (to); Jun 13, 1966 (to); Jun 28, 1966 (to)
• East Harlem Protestant Parish : Dec 5, 1960 (from)
• Edgar, Richard P. : Dec 20, 1965 (from); Mar 7, 1966 (from); Mar 11, 1966 (to); Dec 20, 1966 (from); Dec 29, 1966 (to); Jan 10, 1967 (from)
• Farley, James A. : Jul 5, 1966 (to); Jul 22, 1966 (to); Jul 27, 1966 (to); Aug 2, 1966 (to); Aug 12, 1966 (to); Aug 26, 1966 (to)
• Flick, Hugh C. : Nov 15, 1960 (to)
• Fowell, Myron W. : Feb 18, 1966 (from); Mar 8, 1966 (to)
• Gatland, Franklin, Z. : Apr 5, 1965 (from); Apr 12, 1965 (to)
• Gemmer, Robert : May 19, 1966 (from); May 27, 1966 (to); May 31, 1966 (from); Jun 8, 1966 (to)
• Gordon, Harold : Sep 23, 1958 (from); Jun 28, 1963 (to); Aug 1, 1963 (to); Aug 2, 1963 (from)
• Greenberg, Lester : Jun 23, 1966 (from); Jun 27, 1966 (to)
• Hale, John P. : Sep 14, 1966 (from); Sep 19, 1966 (to)
• Harrington, Donald Szantho : Apr 12, 1967 (from); Jul 5, 1967 (from); Jul 17, 1967 (to)
• Hecht, Burton : Apr 5, 1965 (from)
• Hesson, Samuel M. : Jul 25, 1967 (to)
• Hodges, Graham R. : Nov 15, 1960 (to); May 8, 1967 (from); May 15, 1967 (to); Aug 10, 1967 (from); Aug 14, 1967 (to)
• Holland, Hugh P. : Apr 10, 1965 (from); Apr 15, 1965 (to)
• Holt, Lawrence J. : Jan 16, 1964 (to); Feb 4, 1966 (from); Feb 7, 1966 (to); May 26, 1966 (from); Jul 27, 1966 (from); Aug 2, 1966 (to); Sep 7, 1966 (from); Mar 27, 1967 (to); Sep 13, 1967 (to)
• Houck, Rodney E. : Nov 4, 1965 (to)
• Howe, Lee A. Jr. : Jan 27, 1960 (from); Jun 7, 1960 (from); Jun 10, 1960 (to); Nov 14, 1960 (from); Nov 18, 1960 (to); Nov 23, 1960 (from); Dec 2, 1960 (to); Nov 22, 1961 (to)
• Hughes, John H. : Aug 14, 1964 (from); Aug 25, 1964 (to)
• Hunter, William H. : May 2, 1966 (from); May 5, 1966 (to)
• Hurley, Thomas F. : May 22, 1953 (from); Jul 16, 1953 (to); Jul 22, 1953 (to); Aug 13, 1953 (to); Aug 14, 1953 (from); Nov 12, 1953 (to)
• Isham, Howard E. : Jun 2, 1958 (to); Aug 18, 1958 (to)
• Javits, Sen. Jacob K. : Jul 26, 1960 (from)
• Johnson, Douglas : Dec 31, 1958 (from)
• Joint Legislative Committee to Study the Publication and Dissemination of Offensive and Obscene Material : Oct 8, 1965 (to)
• Keating, Sen. Kenneth B. : Jun 29, 1960 (from)
• Kelly, H. Hugh : May 15, 1967 (from); May 16, 1967 (to)
• Kennedy, Sen. Robert F. : Jul 30, 1966 (to); Aug 16, 1966 (repro. of letter to A. Milain Smith, Lottery-Comm. of 100,000 Against the Lottery); Oct 13, 1966 (from)
• King, Martin Luther, Jr. : Sep 3, 1963 (to); Oct 6, 1963 (from); Oct 11, 1963 (to); Sep 14, 1964 (to); Sep 17, 1964 (from); Sep 29, 1964 (to)
• Lamb, Charles F. : Jan 16, 1964 (from); Feb 6, 1964 (to); Feb 19, 1964 (from); Feb 28, 1964 (to)
• Lassoe, John V.P., Jr. : Mar 3, 1965 (from); Mar 10, 1965 (from); May 24, 1965 (from); Jun 1, 1965 (to); Jun 4, 1965 (from); Jun 10, 1965 (from); Jun 15, 1965 (to); Jun 21, 1965 (from); Jul 6, 1965 (to); Sep 14, 1965 (to); Oct 1, 1965 (to); Oct 13, 1965 (to); Oct 25, 1965 (from); Oct 29, 1965 (to); Jan 5, 1966 (from); Aug 18, 1966 (from); Aug 23, 1966 (to); Dec 29, 1966 (from); Apr 25, 1967 (from); May 1, 1967 (to); Aug 30, 1967 (from)
• Levitt, Arthur : Dec 29, 1964 (from); Jan 4, 1965 (to)
• Little, M.V. : Jan 4, 1961 (from); Jan 9, 1961 (to); Dec 22, 1961 (from)
• Lombardi, Tarky, Jr. : Feb 14, 1966 (from); Feb 17, 1966 (to)
• MacMackin, Stuart : Jun 9, 1959 (from); Nov 24, 1959 (to); Dec 4, 1959 (from); Dec 9, 1959 (to); May 13, 1960 (to); Oct 23, 1961 (from); Mar 23, 1964 (from); Apr 7, 1964 (to); Jun 22, 1965 (from); Oct 13, 1965 (to); May 6, 1966 (from); May 13, 1966 (to); Dec 19, 1969 (from)
• Mahoney, Francis J. : Nov 24, 1959 (to); Jan 18, 1960 (to); Nov 15, 1960 (to); Dec 7, 1960 (from); Dec 12, 1960 (to); Dec 23, 1965 (from); Dec 31, 1965 (to)
• Mahoney, Walter J. : Dec 4, 1963 (to); Dec 11, 1963 (from); Dec 18, 1963 (to); Jul 22, 1966 (to); Jul 26, 1966 (from); Jul 29, 1966 (to)
• Marshall, Thurgood : Oct 29, 1964 (to); Nov 12, 1964 (from)
• Martin, Rev. J. Dean : Mar 12, 1963 (from); Mar 21, 1963 (to)
• Metcalf, George R. : Dec 20, 1958 (from); Feb 19, 1965 (to); Nov 14, 1966 (from); Nov 28, 1966 (to)
• Mielke, Arthur : Apr 9, 1965 (to); Apr 9, 1965 (from); Nov 22, 1966 (from); Nov 22, 1966 (to); Nov 29, 1966 (to); May 10, 1967 (to); May 12, 1967 (from)
• Modisher, Donald E. : Feb 6, 1967 (from); Feb 21, 1967 (to)
• Moore, Frank : Jul 14, 1966 (to); Jul 30, 1966 (to); Aug 3, 1966 (from); Aug 8, 1966 (to); Sep 1, 1966 (to); Sep 8, 1966 (to); Sep 12, 1966 (from); Sep 15, 1966 (to)
• Moore, James A.G. : Dec 10, 1959 (to); Feb 28, 1967 (from); Mar 21, 1967 (from); Mar 27, 1967 (to); May 10, 1967 (from); Oct 14, 1967 (from); Dec 1, 1967 (from)
• Moore, Robert E. : Dec 29, 1960 (from); Jan 4, 1961 (to); Jan 10, 1961 (from)
• Murphy, George A. : Jan 9, 1965 (from); Jan 25, 1965 (to); Mar 12, 1966 (from); Mar 21, 1966 (to)
• National Council of Churches : Jan 29, 1963 (to); Sep 22, 1965 (from); Sep 29, 1965 (to)
• Nevin, Hugh G. Jr. : Jan 21, 1965 (from); Jan 28, 1965 (to)
• New York Farm Bureau : Aug 2, 1963 (from); Aug 9, 1963 (to)
• New York State Congress of Parents & Teachers 1966 : Jun 13, 1966 (from); Jun 27, 1966 (to)
• New York State Council on Crime and Delinquency : Jul 24, 1967 (from); Aug 3, 1967 (to); Aug 6, 1967 (from)
• New York State Dept. of State, Division of Corporations : Apr 8, 1954 (to); Apr 12, 1954 (from)
• New York State Grange : Aug 4, 1963 (from); Aug 9, 1963 (to)
• New York State Youth Commission : Dec 1, 1958 (to); Dec 8, 1958 (from); Dec 11, 1958 (to); Dec 17, 1958 (from); Dec 23, 1958 (to); Dec 31, 1958 (to)
• New York Temperance Civic League, Inc. : Jun 19, 1963 (from); Nov 20, 1963 (from); Aug 26, 1965 (from); Aug 30, 1965 (to)
• Nickles, Earle : Mar 11, 1963 (from); Mar 20, 1963 (to)
• Nixon, Allan : May 2, 1967 (to)
• Norton, F. Paul : Sep 8, 1966 (from); Sep 12, 1966 (from); Sep 15, 1966 (to); Sep 28, 1966 (from)
• Peabody, Rt. Rev. Malcolm : Feb 7, 1955 (to); Dec 31, 1956 (from); Jan 9, 1957 (to); Dec 22, 1958 (from); Dec 14, 1959 (to)
• Peters, Robert F.R. : Jun 22, 1966 (from); Jun 27, 1966 (to)
• Peterson, Dutton S. : Dec 30, 1957 (to); Dec 31, 1957 (from); Sep 11, 1958 (from); Sep 12, 1958 (to); Sep 30, 1958 (to); Oct 30, 1958 (to); Oct 20, 1958 (to); Nov 21, 1958 (from); Nov 21, 1958 (to); Nov 25, 1958 (from); Dec 2, 1958 (from); Oct 8, 1960 (from); Oct 18, 1960 (to); Oct 21, 1960 (from); Oct 24, 1960 (to); Jun 19, 1963 (from); Jun 26, 1963 (to); Oct 29, 1963 (from); Jan 17, 1964 (to)
• Poulton, Fred N. : May 3, 1965 (to); May 10, 1965 (from); May 10, 1965 (to); May 17, 1965 (to); May 20, 1965 (from); May 24, 1965 (to); Oct 4, 1965 (from); Oct 13, 1965 (to); Dec 6, 1965 (from); Nov 7, 1966 (from)
• Powell, Lewis N. : Jun 18, 1959 (from); Aug 19, 1959 (from); Aug 20, 1959 (to)
• Quinlivan, Dr. James J. : Apr 15, 1957 (to)
• Rishell, Paul W. : Jan 30, 1957 (from); Feb 1, 1957 (to); Mar 10, 1965 (to); May 3, 1965 (from); Jun 17, 1965 (to); Jun 26, 1965 (from); Jul 2, 1965 (to); Aug 16, 1965 (to); Aug 28, 1965 (from); Sep 6, 1965 (from); Oct 16, 1965 (from); Oct 21, 1965 (to); Feb 7, 1966 (to); Feb 12, 1966 (from); Feb 17, 1966 (to); Mar 5, 1966 (from); Mar 12, 1966 (from); Mar 18, 1966 (to); May 3, 1966 (from); Sep 12, 1966 (from)
• Roadarmel, Kenneth : May 1, 1953 (from); May 22, 1953 (to); Nov 20, 1956 (from); Dec 5, 1957 (to)
• Rockefeller, Nelson A. : Dec 10, 1959 (to); Jan 18, 1960 (to); Dec 11, 1963 (to); Dec 26, 1963 (to); Jan 4, 1965 (to); Jan 7, 1965 (from); May 28, 1965 (to); Jun 14, 1965 (from); Jun 18, 1965 (to); Jun 23, 1965 (from); Jun 28, 1965 (from); Jul 7, 1965 (to); Aug 7, 1967 (from); Aug 14, 1967 (to); Aug 22, 1967 (from); Apr 8, 1968 (from); Apr 23, 1968 (to); May 17, 1968 (from)
• Ronan, William J. : Nov 17, 1960 (from)
• Root, Oren : Nov 17, 1960 (from)
• Schrock, Robert C. : Jan 11, 1963 (from); Jan 21, 1963 (to)
• Scott, Philip Gordon : Jan 5, 1962 (from); Jan 10, 1962 (to)
• Smith, William E. : Apr 1, 1959 (from); Apr 7, 1959 (to); Dec 30, 1959 (from); Jan 5, 1960 (from)
• Sockman, Ralph : Jun 2, 1958 (to); Aug 18, 1958 (to); Oct 31, 1958 (to); Nov 7, 1958 (from); Nov 18, 1958 (to); Nov 21, 1958 (from); Nov 28, 1958 (to); Dec 8, 1958 (to)
• Stevenson, Adlai E. : Nov 14, 1960 (from); Nov 14, 1960 (to)
• Strohbeck, Charles W. : Feb 14, 1967 (from); Feb 21, 1967 (to)
• Terry, John H. : Apr 7, 1966 (from); Apr 22, 1966 (to); Dec 27, 1966 (from); Jan 5, 1967 (to); Jan 17, 1967 (to)
• The Home Advisory Council of New York, Inc. : Feb 2, 1956 (from)
• The Protestant Council of the City of New York : Oct 8, 1965 (from)
• Tobin, Charles J. Jr. : Jun 28, 1963 (to); Jul 2, 1963 (from)
• Travia, Anthony J. : Jan 10, 1959 (to); Jan 3, 1966 (to); Mar 28, 1966 (to); May 13, 1966 (to)
• Twentieth Century Fund : Jun 18, 1958 (from); Jun 24, 1958 (to); Jun 30, 1958 (from); Jul 5, 1958 (to); Jul 10, 1958 (from); Jul 15, 1958 (to); Jul 16, 1958 (to)
• Wagner, Robert F. : Aug 30, 1967 (from)
• Ward, W. Ralph : Sep 24, 1964 (from); Dec 16, 1964 (from); Dec 21, 1964 (to)
• Webb, James M. : Apr 20, 1965 (to)
• Westchester Citizens Committee of the National Council on Crime and Delinquency : Mar 9, 1965 (from); Oct 15, 1965 (from); Oct 20, 1965 (to)
• Whitehead, A. Pennington : Sep 24, 1953 (from); Sep 30, 1953 (to); Oct 2, 1953 (from); Oct 15, 1953 (to); Oct 19, 1953 (from); Nov 11, 1953 (to); Nov 12, 1953 (from); Mar 10, 1954 (to); Mar 10, 1954 (from); Mar 11, 1954 (from); Mar 24, 1954 (from); Apr 6, 1954 (to); Apr 7, 1954 (from)
• Wiediger, Edward H. : Apr 27, 1966 (from); May 2, 1966 (to)
• Wilson, Jerome L. : Dec 24, 1958 (to); Feb 19, 1965 (to); Jan 3, 1966 (to); Apr 25, 1966 (from)

Return to top

Selected index to correspondence - Topics

• Abortion : Feb 14, 1967; Feb 21, 1967
• Aging : Dec 10, 1959; Dec 23, 1959; Jul 8, 1960; Jul 12, 1960; Jul 29, 1960; Aug 3, 1960; Dec 1, 1967
• Alcoholic Beverage Control : Sep 23, 1958; Jan 11, 1963; Jan 21, 1963; Jun 19, 1963; Jun 26, 1963; Jun 28, 1963; Jul 2, 1963; Aug 1, 1963; Aug 2, 1963; Aug 4, 1963; Aug 9, 1963; Oct 29, 1963; Nov 20, 1963; Aug 14, 1964; Aug 25, 1964
• Baptist Commission : Oct 28, 1954; Nov 1, 1954; Jun 14, 1956; Oct 29, 1956; Oct 31, 1956; Nov 30, 1956; Dec 5, 1956; Dec 26, 1956; Jan 7, 1957; Jan 18, 1957; Jan 22, 1957; Mar 8, 1958; Mar 14, 1958; Mar 20, 1958; Mar 25, 1958; Aug 8, 1958; Aug 12, 1958
• Birth control : Jun 9, 1959
• Champlain Valley 350th (1963) : Jun 18, 1959; Jul 15, 1959; Aug 19, 1959; Aug 20, 1959
• Church-State, Parochial Schools : Apr 1, 1959; Apr 7, 1959
• Churchmen's International : May 3, 1965; May 10, 1965; May 17, 1965; May 20, 1965; May 24, 1965; Oct 4, 1965; Oct 13, 1965; Dec 6, 1965; Nov 7, 1966
• Civilian Defense Chaplains : May 22, 1953; Jul 16, 1953; Jul 22, 1953; Aug 13, 1953; Aug 14, 1953; Nov 12, 1953
• Constitutional Convention : Jun 22, 1966; Jun 23, 1966; Jun 27, 1966; Jul 27, 1966; Aug 2, 1966; Nov 14, 1966; Nov 22, 1966; Nov 28, 1966; Nov 29, 1966; Dec 29, 1966; Feb 6, 1967; Feb 21, 1967; Feb 28, 1967; Mar 21, 1967; Mar 27, 1967; Apr 12, 1967; Apr 25, 1967; Apr 26, 1967; May 1, 1967; May 2, 1967; May 5, 1967; May 8, 1967; May 10, 1967; May 12, 1967; May 15, 1967; May 16, 1967; Jul 5, 1967; Jul 17, 1967; Jul 24, 1967; Jul 25, 1967; Aug 3, 1967; Aug 6, 1967; Aug 10, 1967; Aug 14, 1967; Aug 30, 1967; Sep 21, 1967; Sep 26, 1967; Oct 14, 1967
• Cooperstown Proposal : Jan 26, 1953; Jan 30, 1953; May 1, 1953; Sep 24, 1953; Sep 30, 1953; Oct 2, 1953; Oct 15, 1953; Oct 19, 1953; Nov 11, 1953; Nov 12, 1953; Dec 26, 1953; Jan 15, 1954; Jan 20, 1954; Jan 26, 1954; Mar 10, 1954; Mar 11, 1954; Mar 24, 1954; Apr 6, 1954; Apr 7, 1954
• Denominational-Interdenominational : Sep 24, 1964; Oct 2, 1964; Dec 16, 1964; Dec 21, 1964
• Family justice : Oct 1, 1965; Oct 13, 1965
• Finance promotion data : Feb 7, 1955; Mar 30, 1956; Apr 3, 1956; Dec 31, 1956; Jan 9, 1957; Dec 22, 1958; Dec 14, 1959
• Home Advisory Council of New York, Inc. : Feb 2, 1956
• Hospital employees : Mar 9, 1963; Mar 11, 1963; Mar 12, 1963; Mar 20, 1963; Mar 21, 1963
• Human Rights Commission : Aug 7, 1967; Aug 14, 1967; Aug 22, 1967; Aug 24, 1967; Apr 8, 1968; Apr 23, 1968; May 17, 1968
• Legislative Commissions : Jan 10, 1959; Jan 29, 1963; Jan 7, 1965; Jan 8, 1965; Jan 9, 1965; Jan 10, 1965; Jan 21, 1965; Jan 25, 1965; Jan 28, 1965; Feb 9, 1965; Mar 3, 1965; Mar 9, 1965; Mar 10, 1965; Apr 5, 1965; Apr 9, 1965; Apr 10, 1965; Apr 12, 1965; Apr 15, 1965; Apr 20, 1965; May 24, 1965; May 25, 1965; May 28, 1965; Jun 1, 1965; Jun 4, 1965; Jun 7 1965; Jun 10, 1965; Jun 12, 1965; Jun 14, 1965; Jun 15, 1965; Jun 17, 1965; Jun 18, 1965; Jun 21, 1965; Jun 22, 1965; Jun 23, 1965; Jun 28, 1965; Jul 6, 1965; Jul 7, 1965; Aug 26, 1965; Aug 30, 1965; Sep 10, 1965; Sep 14, 1965; Sep 17, 1965; Sep 22, 1965; Sep 29, 1965; Oct 8, 1965; Oct 13, 1965; Oct 15, 1965; Oct 20, 1965; Oct 21, 1965; Oct 25, 1965; Oct 29, 1965; Nov 4, 1965; Dec 23, 1965; Dec 31, 1965; Jan 3, 1966; Jan 5, 1966; Feb 4, 1966; Feb 7, 1966; Feb 14, 1966; Feb 17, 1966; Feb 28, 1966; Mar 1, 1966; Mar 12, 1966; Mar 21, 1966; Mar 28, 1966; Apr 4, 1966; Apr 6, 1966; Apr 7, 1966; Apr 22, 1966; Apr 25, 1966; May 2, 1966; May 5, 1966; May 6, 1966; May 13, 1966; May 26, 1966; Jun 6, 1966; Jun 13, 1966; Jun 27, 1966; Jun 28, 1966; Aug 18, 1966; Aug 23, 1966
• Legislative Seminars : Jan 13, 1956; Dec 30, 1957; Dec 31, 1957; Dec 1, 1958; Dec 8, 1958; Dec 11, 1958; Dec 17, 1958; Dec 20, 1958; Dec 23, 1958; Dec 31, 1958; Jul 17, 1959; Jul 24, 1959; Nov 24, 1959; Nov 30, 1959; Dec 4, 1959; Dec 9, 1959; Dec 17, 1959; Dec 21, 1959; Jan 18, 1960; Oct 8, 1960; Oct 18, 1960; Oct 21, 1960; Oct 24, 1960; Nov 14, 1960; Nov 15, 1960; Nov 17, 1960; Dec 7, 1960; Dec 12, 1960; Dec 29, 1960; Jan 4, 1961; Jan 9, 1961; Jan 10, 1961; Dec 22, 1961; May 28, 1962; Jun 5, 1962; Jun 8, 1962; Jun 12, 1962; Jan 18, 1963; Jan 28, 1963; Feb 4, 1963; Apr 23, 1963; Jun 28, 1963; Jul 3, 1963; Sep 3, 1963; Oct 6, 1963; Oct 11, 1963; Dec 4, 1963; Dec 11, 1963; Dec 18, 1963; Dec 26, 1963; Jan 16, 1964; Jan 17, 1964; Sep 14, 1964; Sep 17, 1964; Sep 29, 1964; Oct 29, 1964; Nov 12, 1964; Dec 29, 1964; Jan 4, 1965; Feb 19, 1965; Sep 13, 1967; Dec 19, 1969
• Lottery, Committee of 100,000 : Dec 20, 1966; Dec 27, 1966; Dec 29, 1966; Jan 5, 1967; Jan 10, 1967; Jan 17, 1967
• Lottery, State Commission Against : Feb 18, 1966; Mar 8, 1966; Mar 12, 1966; Mar 18, 1966; May 3, 1966; May 19, 1966; May 27, 1966; May 31, 1966; Jun 8, 1966; Jun 27, 1966; Jul 5, 1966; Jul 12, 1966; Jul 14, 1966; Jul 21, 1966; Jul 22, 1966; Jul 26, 1966; Jul 27, 1966; Jul 29, 1966; Jul 30, 1966; Aug 2, 1966; Aug 3, 1966; Aug 8, 1966; Aug 12, 1966; Aug 26, 1966; Sep 1, 1966; Sep 7, 1966; Sep 8, 1966; Sep 12, 1966; Sep 13, 1966; Sep 14, 1966; Sep 15, 1966; Sep 19, 1966; Sep 28, 1966
• Lottery : Mar 10, 1965; May 3, 1965; Jun 17, 1965; Jun 26, 1965; Jul 2, 1965; Aug 16, 1965; Aug 28, 1965; Sep 6, 1965; Oct 16, 1965; Oct 21, 1965; Dec 20, 1965; Feb 7, 1966; Feb 12, 1966; Feb 17, 1966; Mar 5, 1966; Mar 7, 1966; Mar 10, 1966; Mar 11, 1966; Mar 14, 1966; Mar 17, 1966; Mar 21, 1966; Apr 27, 1966; May 2, 1966; Jun 30, 1966; Jul 5, 1966; Jul 30, 1966; Aug 1, 1966; Aug 5, 1966; Aug 16, 1966 (repro. of letter to A. Milain Smith, Lottery-Comm. of 100,000 Against the Lottery); Sep 12, 1966; Oct 13, 1966
• Matrimonial and family laws : Dec 30, 1959; Jan 5, 1960
• Meetings, Annual Assembly : Jan 27, 1960; May 13, 1960; May 26, 1960; Jun 13, 1960; Jun 16, 1960; Jun 29, 1960; Jul 26, 1960; Nov 14, 1960; Nov 18, 1960; Nov 23, 1960; Dec 2, 1960; Nov 22, 1961; Jan 5, 1962; Jan 10, 1962
• Meetings, Trustees : Apr 8, 1954; Apr 12, 1954
• Narcotics : Dec 5, 1960
• New York Board of Rabbis : Sep 11, 1958; Sep 12, 1958; Sep 30, 1958; Nov 21, 1958
• Obscene literature : Oct 23, 1961
• One Hundred Club : Jun 2, 1958; Aug 18, 1958; Oct 20, 1958; Oct 30, 1958; Oct 31, 1958; Nov 7, 1958; Nov 18, 1958; Nov 21, 1958; Nov 25, 1958; Nov 28, 1958; Dec 2, 1958; Dec 8, 1958; Dec 24, 1958
• Prayer in the schools : Jan 16, 1964; Feb 6, 1964; Feb 19, 1964; Feb 28, 1964; Mar 23, 1964; Apr 7, 1964
• Public Relations & Development : Sep 26, 1955; Nov 20, 1956; Dec 5, 1957; Jun 18, 1958; Jun 24, 1958; Jun 30, 1958; Jul 5, 1958; Jul 10, 1958; Jul 15, 1958; Jul 16, 1958; Dec 31, 1958
• Roswell Park : Mar 11, 1957; Mar 16, 1957; Mar 22, 1957; Mar 26, 1957; Apr 1, 1957; Apr 15, 1957
• Study Committee : Jun 7, 1960; Jun 10, 1960
• Youth in the courts : Jan 30, 1957; Feb 1, 1957

Return to top