Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Patterson, Eleanor Medill, 1881-1948
Title:	Eleanor Medill Patterson Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1924-1936
Quantity:	0.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American newspaper editor, publisher of the Washington (D.C.) Times-Herald. Correspondence, incoming and outgoing; manuscripts; and published material by and/or about Arthur Brisbane and William Randolph Hearst.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Eleanor Medill Patterson was born on November 7, 1884 in Chicago, Illinois and died in July, 1948 at "Dower House", the seventeenth century Maryland manor house that once housed the Earls of Calvert and Baltimore. She was the granddaughter of Joseph Medill, founder of the Chicago Tribune, daughter of Robert Wilson Patterson, editor of the Chicago Tribune and sister of Joseph Medill Patterson, editor and publisher of the New York Daily News. Miss Patterson was educated in Boston at Miss Hersey's School. Her first husband was Count Joseph Gizycka and her second husband was Elmer Schlesinger. At the time of her death she was editor, publisher and sole owner of the Washington (D.C.) Times-Herald. She was survived by her daughter Felicia Gizycka and granddaughter Ellen Cameron Pearson Arnold, child of columnist Drew Pearson.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Eleanor Medill Patterson Papers include correspondence, subject files, manuscripts, and published material. It also includes correspondence of Arthur Brisbane and William Randolph Hearst.

Correspondence includes incoming and outgoing correspondence. The incoming correspondence is arranged alphabetically by author, the outgoing correspondence is arranged chronologically.

Subject file includes notes and promotion material arranged alphabetically by subject.

Manuscripts includes manuscripts of speeches and notes and a speech of another person, arranged alphabetically by type.

Published material contains a newspaper clipping.

Arthur Brisbane material includes incoming correspondence arranged alphabetically by author and outgoing correspondence arranged chronologically. It includes published material arranged by type and two short manuscripts of statements.

William Randolph Hearst material includes incoming correspondence arranged alphabetically by author and outgoing correspondence arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Eleanor Medill Patterson Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: Oct 1966
Revision history: 20 Apr 1967 - photograph added (-); 30 Oct 2006 - converted to EAD (AMCon); 23 Jan 2025 - collection rehoused, descriptions updated (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
		Incoming
Box 1			Brisbane, Arthur 1924, 1927-1935, undated (8 folders)
				See also Arthur Brisbane material, below.
Box 1			Farley, James A.
Box 1			H - W, unidentifiable
Box 1			Hearst, William Randolph 1930-1935, undated (3 folders)
				See also William Randolph Hearst material, below.
Box 1			Miscellaneous 1930-1936, undated
		Outgoing
Box 1			1930-1936, undated (3 folders)

	Subject file
Box 1		Notes
Box 1		Promotion
Box 1		Photograph

	Manuscripts
Box 1		Notes - re Washington (D.C.) newspaper competition
Box 1		Speech
Box 1		Of others - speech

	Published material
Box 1		Newspaper clipping about

	Arthur Brisbane material
Box 1		Incoming correspondence
Box 1		Outgoing correspondence1932-1935, undated
Box 1		Manuscripts
		Published material
Box 1			Articles about
Box 1			Articles by

	William Randolph Hearst material
Box 1		Incoming correspondence
Box 1		Outgoing correspondence 1931-1935, undated
		Subject file
Box 1			Menus
Box 1		Manuscripts
Box 1		Published material about

Return to top