Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Polk, P. H., 1898-1984. |
| Title: | P.H. Polk Photographs |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1930s |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | Five portrait photographs (silver gelatin prints) taken by Black American photographer P.H. (Prentice Henry) Polk |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
P.H. (Prentice Henry) Polk (1898-1984) was a Black American photographer. He studied photography at the Tuskegee Institute, where he later became a teacher, official photographer, and finally head of its Department of Photography. He is known particularly for his black-and-white portraits of both famous (Langston Hughes, Paul Robeson, George Washington Carver) and working-class/rural (his series "Old Characters" focused on formerly enslaved men and women from Macon County, Alabama).
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The P.H. Polk Photographs consists of five 8x10 portrait photographs (silver gelatin prints). Two are identified ("Mrs Cot and son" and "Mr George Moore") while the other three (a family, a couple outside their cabin, and two elderly individuals picking cotton). All but one are signed by Polk.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
P.H. Polk Photographs,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2021
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 4 May 2021
Revision history: