Collection inventory

---

Return to finding aids search

---

Associated American Artists Galleries Records

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: PRB
Date: Jul 1995

Revision history:
1 Jul 2005	EAD file created (MRR)
17 Apr 2013	box number typo fixed (MBD)
26 Aug 2014	catalogs added; bio updated (MRC)
12 May 2022	Grant Wood original item identified (MRC)
23 May 2022	Collection title changed (DTF)

Biographical History

Associated American Artists is an art gallery and business established in 1934 in New York City by Reeves Lewenthal. It focused on popularizing and marketing fine art prints to the middle classes.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Clippings, exhibition catalogs, and photographs pertaining to the organization's history and to specific artists including Howard Baer (1941-1946); Thomas Hart Benton (1939-1946); Arbit Blatas (1943-1951); Aaron Bohrod (1939-1942); John Steuart Curry (1942-1947); Adolf Dehn (1941-1948); George Grosz (1941-1950); Joe Jones (1942-1948); Luigi Lucioni (1939-1951); Grant Wood (1935-1950), and others.

Arrangement of the Collection

Artists contains material relating to Howard Baer, Thomas Hart Benton, Arbit Blatas, Aaron Bohrod, John Steuart Curry, Adolf Dehn, George Grosz, Joe Jones, Luigi Lucioni, and Grant Wood.

Clippings and exhibition catalogs document the Association's History - General, including print sales and Stonelain Pottery projects, client promotions for American Tobacco Company, Lowenstein, Ohrbachs, and Riverdale as well as promotional material for the gallery.

Catalogs contains catalogs for prints, etchings, lithographs, and gifts spanning nearly forty years, including sale catalogs, Patrons Supplements, Print Collector newslettter/catalog, and catalogs features individual artists.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

See also the Aaron Bohrod Papers, Luigi Lucioni Papers.

Subject Headings

Persons

Baer, Howard, 1906-
Benton, Thomas Hart, 1889-1975.
Blatas, Arbit.
Bohrod, Aaron.
Curry, John Steuart, 1897-1946.
Dehn, Adolf, 1895-1968.
Grosz, George, 1893-1959.
Jones, Joe, 1909-1963.
Lucioni, Luigi, 1900-1988.
Wood, Grant, 1891-1942.

Corporate Bodies

Associated American Artists.

Subjects

Art -- Exhibitions.
Art galleries, Commercial -- New York (State) -- New York.
Art galleries, Commercial -- United States.
Art, American -- 20th century.
Artists -- United States.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Exhibition catalogs.
Photographs.

Occupations

Painters.
Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Associated American Artists Galleries Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

24 scrapbooks, gift of Archives of American Art, 1966.

All catalogs in Box 8, gift of Gibbes Museum of Art, 2010.

Table of Contents

Artists

History - General

Catalogs

Inventory