Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Adult Education Research Conference (AERC) Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: -
Date: Oct 1976

Biographical History

The Adult Education Research Conference (AERC) was originally the National Seminar on Adult Education Research, organized in 1960 as a forum for adult education researchers to share research ideas and materials. After meeting annually for six years, it adopted the AERC name and a more formal structure. The 12th annual Adult Education Research Conference, which much of the collection revolves around, was held in New York in 1971.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Adult Education Research Conference (AERC) Records contains conference material, correspondence, and general files. Conference files contain correspondence on arrangements for the conference, evaluations of the conference submitted by the participants, lists of registrants, and other data. Correspondence includes symposia and executive committee material. Correspondents whose letters are of the greatest number and depth include Virginia Griffin, Arden Grotelueschen, Roy J. Ingham, Allen Menlo, and Allen Tough. General files include letterheads, memoranda, abstracts of papers, and programs.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Roy Ingham Papers

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings

Persons

Bruce, Robert L.
Copeland, Harlan G.
Griffin, Virginia (Virginia R.)
Grotelueschen, Arden D.
Ingham, Roy John, 1925-
Menlo, Allen
Tough, Allen M.

Corporate Bodies

Adult Education Research Conference.
National Seminar on Adult Education Research.

Subjects

Adult education -- Research.
Adult education teachers -- Training of.
Adult education.
Continuing education.

Genres and Forms

Abstracts (summaries)
Correspondence.
Drafts (documents)
Mailing lists.
Memorandums.
Programs (documents)

Occupations

Adult education teachers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Adult Education Research Conference (AERC) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Conference files

Correspondence

General files

Inventory