Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

American Society of Newspaper Editors Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: DB
Date: 16 Feb 1978

Biographical History

The American Society of Newspaper Editors was founded in 1922. The first president was Casper Yost of the St. Louis Globe-Democrat.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The American Society of Newspaper Editors Records consists of Correspondence relating entirely to the organization's 1966 annual meeting in Montreal, Canada.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is subdivided into three groups: Panel discussions, Preparation and publicity, and Speakers. Within these three subseries, material is arranged alphabetically by name and/or topic.


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings


Diefenbaker, John G., 1895-1979.
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973.
McNamara, Robert S., 1916-
Pearson, Lester B.

Corporate Bodies

American Society of Newspaper Editors.


Journalism, Societies, etc.
Newspaper editors, United States, Societies, etc.

Genres and Forms


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

American Society of Newspaper Editors Records
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Acquired in 1966.

Table of Contents