Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

American Chicle Company Records

An inventory of their records at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: circa 1968

Biographical History

The American Chicle Company was an American chewing gum company, incorporated in 1899. The company had operations in Brooklyn, Cleveland, Chicago, Louisville (Kentucky), and Toronto, as well as factories and forest land in Yucatan. Its products eventually grew to include breath mints, antacids, cough drops and other items. American Chicle was acquired by Warner-Lambert in 1962, which in turn was acquired by Pfizer in 2000.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The American Chicle Company Records contains general files, merchandise, and financial records from the American Chicle Company as well as subsidiary and/or partner companies, such as the Crawford Gum Company and the Mexican Exploitation Company.

General files includes a range of corporate records. The bulk relate to legal matters (labor, copyright, licensing, contracts, etc.), patents, and stocks. Other material includes board meetings, advertisements, foreign contracts and operations, and so on.

Merchandise contains three World War I-era fabric items.

Financial records contains bound volumes pertaining to financial transactions. These include cash books, journals, invoice registers, daily financial statements, disburdements, and so on.

Arrangement of the Collection

Lacking a company history or organizational chart, general files and financial records have been arranged alphabetically by company name and then by topic (e.g., Bylaws, Correspondence, etc.).

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

American Chicle Company.

Subjects

Candy industry -- Accounting.
Candy industry -- United States -- History.
Chewing gum -- United States -- History.
Chicle industry -- Mexico.
Confectionery -- United States -- History.
World War, 1914-1918 -- Collectibles.

Genres and Forms

Advertisements.
Banners.
Contracts.
Correspondence.
Journals (accounts)
Ledgers (account books)
Legal documents.
Legal files.
Minutes (administrative records)
Patents.
Reports.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

American Chicle Company Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Merchandise items, gift of Linda Peterson, 2021.

Rest of collection, unspecified, 1967.

Table of Contents

General files

Merchandise

Financial papers

Inventory