Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Flora J. Arnstein Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: May 1987

Biographical History

Poet Flora J. Arnstein was born August 10, 1885. She was educated at the University of California and also at the San Francisco State College. She taught poetry, music, and dancing at the elementary-school level for nearly 18 years. Her book Adventure Into Poetry was published in 1951 by Stanford University Press. Poetry in the Elementary Classroom appeared in 1962.

Flora Arnstein's poetry has appeared in the New York Times, London Mercury, Poetry (Chicago), Antioch Review, Accent, Prairie Schooner, and Poetry World.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Flora Arnstein Papers consist of manuscripts and published materials. The Manuscripts section contains typescripts of poems and one holograph poem, all arranged alphabetically by title. The Published material includes her two books, a booklet, a magazine article, and printed copies of poems as they appeared in various journals.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Arnstein, Flora J.

Subjects

American poetry -- 20th century.
American poetry -- Women authors.
Poets, American -- 20th century.
Women poets, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Poems.

Occupations

Poets.
Teachers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Flora Arnstein Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Flora J. Arnstein.

Table of Contents

Manuscripts

Published material

Inventory