Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Grace Shattuck Bail Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: Jul 1967

Biographical History

Grace Shattuck Bail (1898-1996) was an American pianist, violinist, musicologist, and poet. A member of the American Poetry League, N.L.A.P.W., Eugene Field Society, Mark Twain Society, Chaparral Poets, and many other professional organizations, Bail's published works included compositions, songs, poems, and books. Her work appeared in periodicals such as Evening Star (Washington, D.C.), Etude, Arizona Highways, Listen, The American Bard, and The Pen Women, as well as occasionally in such non-mainstream publications as the horror/fantasy monthly Weirdbook.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Grace Shattuck Bail Papers are comprised of two separate accessions which have not been integrated.

The original accession contains two series: Correspondence, 1944-1965, and a few Subject files (awards, copies of poems, published pieces, clippings).

The 1980 accession consists of four series. Correspondence contains correspondence from 1942-1979. Memorabilia includes biographical information, a photograph, and other items. Published material contains reviews and clippings. Writings is the largest series and contains books, music, songs, and poetry.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically. Subject files are arranged alphabetically by topic. Memorabilia and writings are arranged alphabetically by type; writings are further arranged alphabetically by title. Note that since the two accessions have not been integrated, box numbers are not unique; please specify box number and accession when requesting material.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Bail, Grace Shattuck Archives.

Subjects

American poetry -- 20th century.
Church music.
Sacred vocal music.
Women composers, United States.
Women poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Musical scores.
Poems.

Occupations

Composers.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Grace Shattuck Bail Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Grace Shattuck Bail, 1967-1984.

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject files

Correspondence (1980 additions)

Memorabilia (1980 additions)

Published material (1980 additions)

Writings (1980 additions)

Inventory