Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Juliet Brooke Ballard Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: Jan 1967

Biographical History

Juliet Ballard (1913-) attended Mary Baldwin Seminary, Stuart Hall, Randolph-Macon Women's College, and the Richmond School of Social Work. For a time she was a social worker, but soon made poetry her main interest. A member of the American Poetry League, her published poems include Under a Tropic Sun and Winter has Come, and she was a frequent contributor to magazines including Wings, Nature, Canadian Poetry Magazine, and many others.

She was also interested in psychic and occult phenomena and was the author of several books based on Edgar Cayce's work, including The Hidden Laws of Earth and Treasures from Earth's Storehouse..

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Juliet Brooke Ballard Papers include correspondence, subject files, manuscripts, and published material.

Correspondence contains both incoming and outgoing letters, as well as some correspondence filed by subject; the latter consists of fragments which Ballard cut from incoming correspondence which give opinions of her work.

Subject files contains a notice of an award, a calendar, membership cards for the American Poetry League, a photograph of Ballard, and a program.

Manuscripts contains an undated typescript copy of The Shadow and the Sun and Other Poems, and a typescript of a 1956 interview.

Published material contains articles and poems about and by Ballard and others, books by Ballard, and newspaper clippings by and about her and others.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically (incoming) or chronologically (outgoing). Subject files and published material are arranged alphabetically by type.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Ballard, Juliet Brooke Archives.
Cayce, Edgar, 1877-1945.

Subjects

American poetry -- 20th century.
Conduct of life.
Occultism.
Women authors, American.
Women poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Poems.
Scrapbooks.

Occupations

Authors.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Juliet Brooke Ballard Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject files

Manuscripts

Published material

Inventory