Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Konrad Bercovici Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 22 Apr 2010

Biographical History

Konrad Bercovici (1882-1961) was a Romanian-American author whose works included biography, travel, history (particularly of Eastern Europe) and fiction. He published his memoirs, It's the Gypsy In Me, in 1941.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Konrad Bercovici Collection consists of writings, memorabilia, and published books.

Writings range from handwritten manuscripts of short stories to galley proofs of novels. Included are several scripts for stage, radio and television production, some of which contain roles performed by Bercovici himself.

Memorabilia contains correspondence, clippings of newspaper and magazine articles, photographs, and flyleaf inscriptions. Correspondence consits of incoming letters from friends and relatives, including Menachem Begin and Louis Nizer..

Arrangement of the Collection

Series are arranged in alphabetical order.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

The collection originally included copies of books written or edited by Bercovici, ranging from Crimes of Passion (1917) to the late 1940s. These have been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging; please refer to Libraries Search to locate these items.

The Internet Archive has a freely downloadable copy of It's the Gypsy In Me, available at http://www.archive.org/details/itsthegypsyinmet010056mbp.

Subject Headings

Persons

Bercovici, Konrad, 1882-1961.

Subjects

Authors, American.
Authors, Romanian.
Travel writers.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Galley proofs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Konrad Bercovici Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Rare Books, 1983.

Table of Contents

Writings

Memorabilia

Inventory