Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Ted Berrigan Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: June 1987

Biographical History

Born in 1934 in Providence, Rhode Island, poet Ted Berrigan attended the University of Tulsa in Oklahoma. He was a second-generation member of the New York school of poets, and along with Ron Padgett, published a small literary magazine, C, during 1963 and 1964. He taught at Yale University, the Iowa Writers Workshop, the University of Michigan, and Essex University in England, and also served as poet-in-residence at the City College of New York. Among his published volumes of poetry are The Sonnets (1964), Bean Spasms: Collaborations by Ted Berrigan and Ron Padgett (1967), In the Early Morning Rain (1971), The Drunken Boat (1974), and So Going Around Cities (1980). He died in 1983.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ted Berrigan Papers consist entirely of the files for C, a journal of poetry which Berrigan edited during 1963 and 1964. The papers include a Subject file containing copyright certificates, distribution lists, financial records, and an essay written about the journal by Berrigan. The Editorial files contain incoming correspondence from both financial and literary contributors to the journal, and a collection of manuscripts which were submitted to the editor for publication. The Production records include the dummy sheets for no. 1-7, May 1963-Feb. 1964 for C.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Ashbery, John, 1927-
Baraka, Imamu Amiri, 1934-
Benedikt, Michael, 1935-2007.
Berrigan, Ted.
Brodey, Jim.
Ceravolo, Joseph, 1934-
Dash, Robert.
Denby, Edwin, 1903-1983.
Greenwald, Ted.
Guest, Barbara.
Krauss, Ruth.
Malanga, Gerard.
Markopoulos, Gregory J.
O'Hara, Frank, 1926-1966.
Padgett, Ron.
Schjeldahl, Peter.
Schuyler, James.
Thomas, Lorenzo, 1944-2005.
Torregian, Sotère.
Towle, Tony, 1939-
Wieners, John, 1934-

Associated Titles

C, a journal of poetry.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
American poetry -- 20th century.
Periodical editors -- United States.
Periodicals -- Publishing.
Poets, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Editors.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ted Berrigan Papers,
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1964.

Table of Contents

Subject file

Editorial files

Production records

Inventory