Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Lynn Z. Bloom Collection Relating to Benjamin Spock

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: circa 1978

Biographical History

Dr. Benjamin Spock (1903-1998) was an American pediatrician, author, and peace activist. He is the author of the worldwide best-selling book Baby and Child Care.

Lynn Z. Bloom is an American author and professor of English at the University of Connecticut. She is a scholar in the areas of literary biography and biographers, and is the author of numerous books including a biography of Dr. Benjamin Spock.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Lynn Z. Bloom Collection Relating to Benjamin Spock consists of research material amassed by Dr. Bloom for and during the writing of her 1972 biography of Dr. Benjamin Spock. The collection consists of general files, writings, news clippings, notes, biography, published material and audio recordings.

General files contain notes, copies of correspondence, and interviews which cover both Dr. Spock's years as a pediatrician and his work as a political activist.

Writings contain published essays about child care and files recounting the evolution and publication of Dr. Spock's more influential books.

News clippings mostly cover crucial political events of the late 1960s and early 1970s, such as Vietnam War, anti-war protests, civil rights, dissent, and Dr. Spock's Boston conspiracy trial.

Bloom's Notes include 8 spiral-bound notebooks and other material generated while working on her book, while typescripts of the Biography comprise sixteen folders.

Published material contains pamphlets and books, mostly concerning baby care the Vietnam War.

Recordings, audio contain one box of taped interviews with Dr. Spock, Mrs. Jane Spock, and others with intimate insight into Dr. Spock's personal, professional and public life. The collection also includes a tape machine for playing back the tapes.

Arrangement of the Collection

Within the series listed above, material is arranged in alphabetical order by title or topic.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to audiorecordings requires advance notice for production of a use copy.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

See also the Benjamin Spock Symposium Collection and the Benjamin Spock Papers.

Some of the audio recordings in this collection have been digitized. Please contact the repository for more information.

Subject Headings

Persons

Bloom, Lynn Z., 1934-
Morgan, Mary, 1943-
Spock, Benjamin, 1903-1998.

Subjects

Pediatricians -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Audiotapes.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.
Research notes.

Occupations

Biographers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Lynn Z. Bloom Collection Relating to Benjamin Spock,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Lynn Z. Bloom, 1972, 1978.

Table of Contents

General files

Writings

News clippings

Notes

Biography

Published material

Recordings, audio

Inventory