Collection inventory

---

---

Howard Bond Negatives

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 21 Sep 2018

Revision history:

Biographical History

Howard Bond is an American photographer. His photographs are in the collections of more than 30 museums in the United States and Europe, and he has had over 60 one-man and 40 group exhibitions. The recipient of a Michigan Council for the Arts Creative Artist Grant, he has published 2 books and 23 limited edition portfolios of prints. His educational activities include 24 years of writing for Photo Techniques magazine and 34 years of teaching workshops that have been attended by over 2000 photographers from 5 continents. [Information taken from Howard Bond's website.]

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Howard Bond Negatives consists of negatives for 17 of Bond's 23 limited edition portfolios. Many are accompanied by Bond's extensive notes and annotations on subject, technique, etc. The negatives have been removed from their glassine envelopes for preservation, but the envelopes have been preserved. Each envelope precedes all the negatives originally contained within it.

Note: In some cases a pair of negatives will be found taped together; this appears to have been deliberate on the part of the photographer, and they should not be separated.

Arrangement of the Collection

As received from donor.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has copies of Bond's limited edition portfolios in its Rare Books holdings. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.

Subject Headings

Persons

Bond, Howard.

Subjects

Cathedrals -- England -- Pictorial works.
Landscape photographers -- United States.
Nature photography.
Photographers -- United States.
Photography, Abstract.
Photography, Artistic.

Places

Alps, Swiss (Switzerland) -- Pictorial works.
Arizona -- Pictorial works.
Greece -- Pictorial works.
Hocking Hills (Ohio) -- Pictorial works.
Huron River (Oakland County-Monroe County, Mich.) -- Pictorial works.
Kings Canyon National Park (Calif.) -- Pictorial works.
Kyklades (Greece) -- Pictorial works.
New Zealand -- Pictorial works.
Ontario -- Pictorial works.
San Juan Mountains (Colo. and N.M.) -- Pictorial works.
Utah -- Pictorial works.
West (U.S.) -- Pictorial works.
White River (Colo. and Utah) -- Pictorial works.

Genres and Forms

Negatives (photographs)

Occupations

Photographers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Howard Bond Negatives,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Howard Bond, 2018.

Table of Contents

Negatives

Inventory