Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Ida H. Bond Papers

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 3 Jul 2012

Biographical History

Ida Hopkins Bond (1851-1943) was the daughter of Barton Marsh Hopkins and Margaret MacDougall of Onondaga County, New York. She was a teacher in the public school system and was for many years the principal of Jackson School, where "She was among the first educators to believe in discipline as a constructive rather than a punitive measure, and her work with difficult cases in the school is still recalled and warmly praised by older members of the school system." Her husband William H. Bond was a hardware merchant in Syracuse. She retired to Skaneateles, where she lived in a home in East Genesee Street that was built by her grandfather, Dr. Judah B. Hopkins, in 1822. At the time of he death in 1943 at age 92 she was the oldest member of the Portfolio Club (a women's study circle formed in 1875 in Syracuse, New York) and of the Plymouth Congregational Church in Syracuse. [Taken from Ida Bond's obituary in the Syracuse Herald-Journal, June 10, 1943.]

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ida H. Bond Papers consists of papers written for the Portfolio Club, a women's study circle formed in 1875 in Syracuse, New York, of which Bond was a long-time member, and a small amount of miscellaneous material.

Portfolio Club papers span nearly thirty years and includes essays by Bond on topics ranging from the history of China to religious practices in New York City. Most, though not all, are annotated with "read at the Portfolio Club" and the date. Some include clippings related to the topic.

Miscellaneous material includes papers written by Bond for other purposes, clippings, a commonplace book filled with poems and saying collected or hand-copied by Bond, a paper by "Florence" on attending the King and Queen's Garden Party in London in 1924, and assorted other items.

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically by title or topic.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

See also the Portfolio Club Records (Ida was a member of the Portfolio Club for many years in the early 1900s) and the Polly Koerner Papers (Polly was a member in the 1980s-2000s).

Subject Headings

Persons

Bond, Ida H.

Corporate Bodies

Portfolio Club (Syracuse, N.Y.)

Subjects

Elementary school principals -- New York (State) -- Syracuse.
Women -- New York (State) -- Syracuse.
Women -- Non-formal education.
Women -- Recreation.
Women -- Societies and clubs.
Women teachers -- New York (State) -- Syracuse.

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.) -- History -- Sources.
Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Intellectual life.
Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Social life and customs.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Commonplace books.
Correspondence.
Essays.
Minutes (administrative records)
Photographs.
Programs (documents)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ida H. Bond Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Jean Graham, 2009.

Originally, gift of Arthur Bond to the Skaneateles Library, date unknown.

Table of Contents

Portfolio Club papers

Miscellaneous

Inventory