Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Douglas Borgstedt Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MB
Date: May 1980

Biographical History

Douglas Borgstedt was an American editorial cartoonist.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Douglas Borgstedt Papers comprise 2 series: Correspondence and Cartoons.

Correspondence contains just one folder, holding photocopies of two letters from the Nixon White House, 1971.

Cartoons constitute the bulk of the collection. These are political cartoons originally drawn for the Philadelphia Bulletin, and syndicated with King Features Syndicate, Inc. The cartoons span the years 1964 to 1974, most of them falling in the years 1968 through 1973. The cartoons are subdivided by topic, and then chronologically arranged within each topic.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings

Persons

Borgstedt, Douglas, 1911- Archives.

Corporate Bodies

King Features Syndicate.

Associated Titles

Evening and Sunday Bulletin (Philadelphia, Pa.).

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons, United States.
Cartoonists, United States.
Editorial cartoons, Pennsylvania, Philadelphia.
Editorial cartoons, United States.

Places

Philadelphia (Pa.), Politics and government, Caricatures and cartoons.
United States, Politics and government, 1963-1969, Caricatures and cartoons.
United States, Politics and government, 1969-1974, Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)

Occupations

Cartoonists.
Editorial cartoons.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Douglas Borgstedt Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mr. Borgstedt, 1967-1974.

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Cartoons

Inventory