Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

John Brick Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: circa 1967

Biographical History

John Brick (1922-1973) was an American author of historical novels and children's books. Born in Newburgh, New York he attended Newburgh Free Academy and later studied creative writing at Columbia University.

His first published novel was Troubled Spring in 1950; other works include The Raid (1951), Homer Crist (1952), The Rifleman (1953), and Jubilee (1956). In addition to his writing, Brick was managing editor of Export Trade (1945-49), a staff writer for Life magazine (1960-61), assistant to the president of University of Toledo, Ohio (1962-63), and a professional staff member of United States Senate Permanent Investigations Subcommittee (from 1963).

John Brick was a member of the Authors Guild, P.E.N., and the Authors League.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Brick Papers consist of incoming and outgoing correspondence, subject files, manuscripts, and published material.

Incoming correspondence and Outgoing correspondence consist of letters to Brick or written by him, respectively, and includes that of both individuals and organizations.

Subject files include book jackets, bulletins, business transactions, certificates, lists, notes, photographs, and so on.

Manuscripts contains original and typescript copies of novels and stories, as well as one speech.

Published material contains printed matter: galley proofs of some of Brick's books, magazine articles by and about him, newspaper clippings by and about him, and reviews of his books.

Arrangement of the Collection

Incoming correspondence is arranged alphabetically by sender; outgoing is arranged chronologically. Subject files are arranged alphabetically by topic. Manuscripts are arranged alphabetically by title. Published material is arranged alphabetically by type and then, if applicable, by title.

One box (Box 12) was added to the collection in 1967 but has not been physically integrated into it.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Brick, John, 1922-

Associated Titles

Borne on the wind.
Panther mountain.
Richmond raid.
Rogue's kingdom.
Strong men.
Tyger.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
Authors, American.
Novelists, American.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Galley proofs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Brick Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Incoming correspondence

Outgoing correspondence

Subject files

Manuscripts

Published material

Inventory