Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Jean Burden Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: –
Date: ca. 1985

Biographical History

Jean Burden (1914- ) is an American poet, essayist, anthologist, teacher and editor. Born in Waukegan, Illinois, she attended the University of Chicago, graduating in 1936. She has been West Coast editor of Faith Today and of Yankee magazine, where she later (1955) took a position as poetry editor. She has published books of poetry and of essays, and her work has appeared in numerous national magazines including Poetry, Atlantic, American Scholar, Trace, Saturday Review, Virginia Quarterly Review, Better Homes and Gardens, Mademoiselle, Prairie Schooner, Southern Review. She has also published several books on pet care,

In addition to her writing, for nearly ten years (1956-1965) Ms Burden served as administrative officer for the Meals for Millions Foundation in Los Angeles, California. She has taught both privately and in workshops, and since 1966 has done freelance public relations work.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jean Burden Papers consists of correspondence and audiovisual recordings.

Correspondence-subject files. Correspondents include artists, authors, editors, and publishers, as well as friends and family. Notable correspondents include Russell Banks, Eric Barker, Robert Bly, Arna Bontemps, William Stanley Braithwaite, Gwendolyn Brooks, John Ciardi, Norman Cousins, Peter De Vries, August Derleth, Ivan Doig, Helene Hanff, Archibald Macleish, Rollo May, Christopher Morley, Alfred Neumann, May Sarton, Charles M. Schulz, John Tagliabue, Laurens Van der Post, Alan Watts, Thornton Wilder, and many more.

Recordings include interviews, radio appearances, poetry readings, memorial services, panel discussions, and more. Most feature Burden prominently, but a few are recordings of others such as episodes of Joseph Campbell's The Power of Myth.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence-subject files are arranged alphabetically by correspondent. Recordings are arranged alphabetically by title, as written on the item.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to audiovisual material requires advance notice to produce a use copy.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Abbe, George, 1911-1989.
Adler, Carol (Poet)
Akers, Dana Kneeland.
Allen, Sara Van Alstyne.
Ames, Amyas.
Ames, Evelyn Perkins.
Armour, Anobel, 1908-
Aronin, Ben, 1904-1980.
Athill, Diana.
Baker, Phyllis.
Banks, Russell, 1940-
Barker, Eric, 1905-1973.
Barker, Lucy Munro.
Baskett, Lois R.
Blackwell, Betsy Talbot.
Block, Allan, 1923-2013.
Bly, Robert.
Boggs, W. Arthur.
Bond, Harold, 1939-
Bontemps, Arna, 1902-1973.
Borgatta, Isabel Case.
Braithwaite, William Stanley, 1878-1962.
Brasier, Virginia.
Brooks, Gwendolyn, 1917-2000.
Broomell, Myron Henry, 1906-
Bullock, Marie, 1911-1986.
Bunche, Ralph J. (Ralph Johnson), 1904-1971.
Burden, Jean.
Carpenter, Margaret.
Carruth, Hayden, 1921-2008.
Chambers, John, -1801.
Cherwinski, Joseph, 1915-
Ciardi, John, 1916-1986.
Ciletti, Jim.
Claytor, Gertrude.
Cole, Lucretia.
Congdon, Kirby.
Cousins, Norman.
Coze, Paul.
Dayton, Irene, 1922-
De Vries, Peter, 1910-1993.
Derleth, August, 1909-1971.
Deutsch, Babette, 1895-1982.
Dickey, James.
Dillon, George, 1906-1968.
Dooley, Thomas A. (Thomas Anthony), 1927-1961.
Eberhart, Richard, 1904-2005.
Exman, Eugene.
Farber, Norma.
Fitzell, Lincoln, 1903-1958.
Flanner, Hildegarde, 1899-1987.
Flanner, Janet, 1892-1978.
Frank, Nancy (Nancy K.), 1954-
Frumkin, Gene.
Funk, Peter, 1921-2016.
Garrett, Eileen J. (Eileen Jeanette), 1893-1970.
Gould, Jean, 1909-1993.
Gullans, Charles B.
Haag, John.
Hale, Judson D.
Hall, Donald, 1928-2018.
Hallinan, Nancy.
Harlow, Michael.
Honig, Edwin.
Howard, Frances Minturn.
Inez, Colette.
Jacobsen, Josephine.
Jerome, Judson.
Joost, Nicholas.
Junkins, Donald, 1931-
Kahn, Hannah.
Kaufman, Mervyn D.
Keith, Joseph Joel.
Kellogg, Hansen.
Kornitzer, Bela.
Kretz, Thomas S.
Kunitz, Stanley, 1905-2006.
Liebler, H. B.
MacLeish, Archibald, 1892-1982.
Masters, Marcia Lee.
Mathewson, William.
May, Rollo.
Mayerson, Charlotte, 1927-
Miles, Josephine, 1911-1985.
Miller, Sigmund Stephen.
Miranda, Gary.
Moore, Merrill, 1903-1957.
Morehouse, Kathleen.
Morley, Christopher, 1890-1957.
Nemerov, Howard.
Neumann, Alfred, 1895-1952.
Nims, John Frederick, 1913-1999.
Noyes, Sandy.
O'Hehir, Diana, 1929-
Oakes, Maud, 1903-1990.
Oliver, Mary, 1935-2019.
Owings, Margaret.
Pedrick, Jean, 1922-
Pitter, Ruth, 1897-1992.
Powell, Lawrence Clark, 1906-2001.
Rago, Henry, 1915-1969.
Rajagopal, D.
Raymond, Richard C.
Richardson, Dorothy Lee.
Riggs, Dionis Coffin.
Robbins, Martin.
Roddan, Brooks.
Rollins, Leighton, 1900-1981.
Rose, Karen.
Roseliep, Raymond, 1917-1983.
Ross, Nancy Wilson, 1901-1986.
Sagendorph, Robb Hansell.
Sarton, May, 1912-1995.
Schevill, James, 1920-2009.
Schulz, Charles M. (Charles Monroe), 1922-2000.
Scott, Winfield Townley, 1910-1968.
Shapiro, Karl, 1913-2000.
Simpson, Louis, 1923-2012.
Smith, Hallett, 1907-1996.
Snow, Wilbert, 1884-1977.
Stafford, William, 1914-1993.
Stoloff, Carolyn.
Swenson, Karen.
Swenson, May.
Tagliabue, John, 1923-2006.
Triem, Eve, 1902-1992.
Untermeyer, Jean Starr, 1886-1970.
Van der Post, Laurens.
Watts, Alan, 1915-1973.
West, Cristy.
Wheelock, John Hall, 1886-1978.
White, Betty, 1924-
Wilder, Thornton, 1897-1975.
Worthington, Thomas.
Wright, Celeste Turner.
Zimmer, Paul.

Corporate Bodies

Meals for Millions, Inc.

Associated Titles

Yankee (Dublin, N.H.)

Subjects

American poetry -- 20th century.
American poetry -- Women authors.
Authors, American.
Pet food industry -- Public relations.
Poets, American -- 20th century.
Women authors, American.
Women poets, American.

Genres and Forms

16mm (photographic film size)
Audiocassettes.
Audiotapes.
Autobiographies (literary works)
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Diaries.
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.
Sound recordings.
VHS.
Video recordings (physical artifacts)

Occupations

Authors.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jean Burden Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Jean Burden, 1969-2009.

Table of Contents

Correspondence-subject files

Recordings

Inventory