Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Doris Caesar Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: ASE
Date: Oct 1993

Biographical History

American sculptor (1892-1971), specialized in the portrayal of the female figure and saints.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Arranged alphabetically, the Correspondence-subject files (Box 1) consists of incoming letters and outgoing holograph drafts, as well as other documents relating to artwork. Among the correspondents are architect James T. Canizaro; art associations (Atlanta Art Association, Audubon Artists, inc., National Association of Women Artists, Inc.); art dealers (Curt Valentin, Erhard Weyhe); art galleries and museums (Addison Gallery of American Art, Busch-Reisinger Museum of Germanic Culture, Dayton Art Institute, Des Moines Art Center, Grand Rapids Art Gallery, Kalamazoo Institute of Arts, Lawrence Art Museum, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Museu de Arte, Newark Museum, Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts, Philadelphia Museum of Art, Portland Museum of Art, Whitney Museum of American Art); artists (Alexander Archipenko, Vernon L. Bobbitt, Alexander Calder, Dorothea S. Greenbaum, Frank Kacmarcik, William Pachner, James A. Porter); and authors and critics (Carlyle Burrows, Geoffrey Bush, Robert M. Coates, Howard Devree, Charles Z. Offin). Other correspondence includes that of clients (Father Judge Mission Seminary, Morris Gross, Rudolph E. Langer, Litchfield Savings Society, Billy Rose, St. Bernard's Church, Saint Gregory's Priory, Saint John's Abbey, Saint Louis Priory, St. Paul's School, Dorothy and James S. Schramm, Saul Solomon, Frank Sommer, Utica Public Library); educational institutions (Albion College, Connecticut College, Grinnell College, Howard University, Syracuse University, Wellesley College, Williams College); museum curators (John I. H. Baur, Henry Bryan Caldwell, Bartlett Harding Hayes, Leona E. Prasse, James L. Whitehead, Carl Zigrosser); photographer Rohn Engh; and typographer Elmer Adler.

Artwork encompasses original sketches, photographs, and reproductions of Caesar's works. Photographs include those of exhibitions (1950-1967) and sculpture, which is subdivided by early works, general works (in alphabetical order by title), and portraits (arranged by name of person).

Autobiographical reminiscences partially documented by photographs, notes on sculpture, published and unpublished poems, and a statement on art constitute Writings. Memorabilia comprises a list of earnings from art sales, photographs, printed material, and scrapbooks. A portrait of Caesar by Willard Warren Cummings, her art studios (1926-1968), and personal life are depicted by Photographs. Printed material includes a book and newspaper clippings about Caesar (1926-1969), exhibition catalogs for group and one-person shows (1931-1969), an exhibition poster from Petit Palais, and reviews of her artwork and poetry (1931-1966). While the originals are restricted in the interest of preservation, photographs and photocopies reproduce Caesar's two Scrapbooks in their entirety (1931-1970).

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

The originals are restricted in the interest of preservation. Photographs and photocopies reproduce Caesar's two scrapbooks in their entirety (1931-1970).

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Archipenko, Alexander, 1887-1964.
Caesar, Doris.
Calder, Alexander, 1898-1976.
Kacmarcik, Frank.
Pachner, William, 1915-
Porter, James A. (James Amos), 1905-1970.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Christian art and symbolism.
Church decoration and ornament -- United States.
Figure sculpture 20th century -- United States.
Figure sculpture, American.
Human figure in art.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture, American -- 20th century.
Sculpture, American.
Women artists -- United States.
Women in art.
Women sculptors -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Photographs.
Poems.
Reminiscences.
Scrapbooks.
Sketches.

Occupations

Artists.
Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Doris Caesar Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Doris Caesar, 1963-1970.

Table of Contents

Biographical Material

Correspondence-subject files

Artwork

Writings

Memorabilia

Inventory