Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

James F. Carr Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: CMV
Date: Jan 1980

Biographical History

James F. Carr was an American bookseller. His brother, Raymond Carr, was a theatre investor.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The James F. Carr Papers consist of correspondence, memorabilia, photographs, playbills, printed Material, and published material. The bulk of the collection is theatre-oriented.

Correspondence pertains mainly to theatre investments made by Raymond Carr, James' brother. This series also contains a letter to S.R. Koehler, dated June 2, 1883 from James M. Ives, partner in Currier and Ives.

Photographs contains many studio photos of stage and film personalities as well as unidentified others. A partial list of photographs in the James F. Carr Papers includes Jean Arthur, Lionel Barrymore, Sarah Bernhardt, Omar Bradley, Lon Chaney, Henry Clay, Frank Daniels, Jefferson Davis, Douglas Fairbanks, Della Fox, Japan, Buster Keaton, Jeanette MacDonald, Adolphe Menjou, Robert Montgomery, Edmund Muskie, Julia Neilson, Olga Nethersole, New York Central and Lackawanna Railroad, New Zealand, Richard Nixon, Rubens Peale (signed), Mary Pickford, Joseph Schildkraut, Sitting Bull, E. H. Sothern, Harry Truman, Fay Wray. Some are signed, some are not; some are original photos, others are studio publicity pictures.

Playbills contains theatre playbills for various productions, the bulk of which were in the late 1960's. Printed material contains limited partnership agreements and offering circulars for many of Raymond Carr's investments. Published material includes many opera and souvenir programs as well as newspaper clippings pertaining to plays Raymond Carr supported financially.

Arrangement of the Collection

All series are arranged alphabetically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections relating to radio, television and film personalities. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings

Persons

Carr, James F.
Carr, Raymond.

Subjects

Actors -- Portraits.
Playbills -- Collections.
Theater -- Finance.
Theater -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Playbills.
Programs (documents)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James F. Carr Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Memorabilia

Photographs

Playbills

Printed material

Scripts

Published material

Inventory