Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Harvey Chalmers Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: 1973

Biographical History

Harvey Chalmers (1890-1971) was an American author, novelist, and short story writer known for his historical fiction relating to early New York State and United States history. Born in Amsterdam, he operated a pearl button factory in New York for many years until the advent of plastic buttons put it out of business. His first novel, West to the Setting Sun, was published in 1943 (the same year he became president of the button company). His other books include Drums Against Frontenac, The Last Stand of the Nez Perce, and The Birth of the Erie Canal (with John H. Flandreau). He also served as consultant to the State Department of Education.

[Adapted from Mr Chalmers' obituary in the New York Times, 8 Oct 1971, p. 46]

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Harvey Chalmers Papers consist of several accessions, some of which have been integrated with the main collection and some of which have not. The main collection consists of correspondence-subject files, writings, and memorabilia. Two later accessions, listed at the end of the inventory, contain 1) short stories and 2) correspondence, memorabilia, and writings.

Main collection

Correspondence-subject files contain incoming and outgoing correspondence, covering the years 1938 to 1964, news clippings, holographic notes, and lists of names and addresses. Chalmers' writings include Books, short stories, play (holographic notes for books, original and carbon typescript chapters and short stories, and carbons of a play), Magazine articles, and other Published material. Memorabilia contains photographs and sketches, and an oversized scrapbook containing book reviews complete the main collection.

Short stories (later addition)

This series contains drafts, bound drafts, typescripts, and manuscripts of numerous short stories and books. Some folders also contain criticism and correspondence.

1978 addition

This series contains correspondence (1846-1971), memorabilia (1935-1961), and writings (pamphlets, books, notes, research material, and typescripts).

Note that box numbering restarts with Box 1 for each of the two later additions. When requesting a box please be sure to specify both box number and series to ensure retrieval of the correct items.

Arrangement of the Collection

In the main collection, series are arranged alphabetically by topic (correspondence-subject files), type (memorabilia), or title (writings). Short stories (later addition) are in no particular order. The 1978 addition is arranged alphabetically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Chalmers, Harvey.

Subjects

Authors, American.
New York (State) -- History.
Novelists, American.

Genres and Forms

Book reviews.
Correspondence.
Drafts (documents)
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harvey Chalmers Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Biographical material

Correspondence-subject files

Books, short stories, play

Magazine articles

Published material

Memorabilia

Short stories (later addition)

1978 additions

Inventory