| Return to finding aids search |
Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 7 Nov 2017
|
|
|
| 27 Sep 2022 | full list of homemade mix CDs added (IRP) |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Chase, Louisa, 1951-2016. |
| Title: | Louisa Chase Papers |
| Dates: | 1971-2016 |
| Quantity: | 25 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Artwork (original and reproductions), corespondence subject files, writings and memorabilia of the American painter. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Louisa Chase (1951-2016) was an American painter. Born in Panama where her father was stationed in the Army, she grew up in Pennsylvania. She obtaned her BA degree in printmaking from Syracuse University in 1973 and a Master's degree from Yale in 1975. Based in Manhattan, she exhibited widely and taught at Rhode Island School of design, The School of Visual Arts and at The Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture. She is best know for known for her paintings in the New Image style.
The Louisa Chase Papers comprises Biographical material, Artwork, original; Artwork, reproductions; Correspondence-subject files, Financial and legal files, Medical files, Writings and Memorabilia.
Biographical material consists of her curriculum vitae and biographical sketches composed for exhibitions.
Artwork original includes sketch books and some loose drawings.
Artwork reproductions consists of high quality transparancies, prints and negatives comprising an extensive record of the artist's work.
Correspondence-subject files consists of Ms. Chase's correspondence with family, friends, galleries and institutions.
Financial and legal files is a single folder of income, tax, real estate, insurance and sales receipts.
Medical files is a single folder of research notes on cancer and correspondence with doctors.
Writings include a personal journal as well as poems and essays.
Memorabilia consists of exhibition catalogs, personal and family photographs, a collection of music CDs compiled by Ms. Chase and assorted miscellaneous material.
Artwork is arranged as the artist filed it. Some is chronological and some is grouped in other ways that may be less obvious. Correspondence subject files are arranged alphabetically and everything else is arranged by type.
Access Restrictions:
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions:
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Persons
Barosh, Miyoshi.
Chase, Louisa, 1951-2016.
Chihuly, Dale, 1941-
Gold, Alison Leslie.
Guston, Philip, 1913-1980.
Lauterbach, Ann, 1942-
Leveque, Pierre, 1921-2004.
Subjects
Painters -- United States -- 20th century.
Sculpture, American -- 20th century.
Women artists -- United States.
Women painters -- United States.
Genres and Forms
Black-and-white negatives.
CD-ROMs.
Color negatives.
Diaries.
Essays.
Exhibition catalogs.
Photographic transparencies.
Photographs.
Sketches.
Videocassettes.
Occupations
Artists.
Painters.
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Louisa Chase Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Louisa Chase Estate, 2017.
Biographical material
Artwork, original
Artwork, reproductions
Correspondence-subject files
Financial and legal files
Medical files
Writings
Memorabilia
| Biographical material | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Biographical material | ||||||||||
| Artwork, original | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Sketchbooks undated (9 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Sketchbooks undated (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Artwork, reproductions | |||||||||||
| Box 2 | Mixed types 1984 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Negatives undated (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Prints undated (6 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Prints 1979-1984 (8 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Prints 1985-1989 (7 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Prints 1990-1997, undated (6 folders) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | Prints undated | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Transparencies 1979-1980 (3 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Transparencies 1980-1981 (5 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Transparencies 1982 (4 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 8 | Transparencies 1982-1983 (6 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 9 | Transparencies 1983-1987 (6 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 10 | Transparencies 1987-1988 (6 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 11 | Transparencies 1989-1990 (5 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 12 | Transparencies 1990-1992, undated (5 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 12 | Transparencies 1970-1973 (10 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 13 | Transparencies 1972-2003, undated (30 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 14 | Transparencies undated (11 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 15 | Transparencies 1979-1994 (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 16 | Transparencies undated (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 17 | Transparencies undated (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 18 | Transparencies 1978-1988 | ||||||||||
| Box 18 | Transparencies 1984-1997 | ||||||||||
| Correspondence-subject files | |||||||||||
| Box 19 | Astier, Pierre 1987 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Bank America Corporation Art Program 1982-1985 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Barosh, Miyoshi 1986, undated | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Berard, Guy 1988 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Betsy Rosenfeld Gallery, Inc. 1987 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | The Broad Art Foundation 2001 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Brooke Alexander Gallery New York 1982-1996 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | The Brooklyn Museum 1989 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | The Butler Institute of American Art 1998 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | California State University, Long Beach 1998 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Caraccio, Kathy 1985 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Chase, Ben undated | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Chase, Wilda S. undated | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Chihuly, Dale undated | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown 1987 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Foundation for the Community if Artists 1989 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Gold, Alison Leslie 1989 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Goya-Girl Press, Inc. 1972, 2000-2001 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Guston, Philip 1975 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | The Hayground School Bridgehampton, New York 2003 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Hirshorn Museum 1984 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Holzman, Eric 2011 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Inflatable sculpture 1972 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | International Print Center New York (IPCNY) 2001 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Lauterbach, Ann 1981-1984, undated | ||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | Lauterbach, Ann undated | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Leveque, Pierre undated | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Loyola University of Los Angeles 1973 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Metropolitan Museum of Art 1984, 1988 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Museum of Modern Art 1983 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | National Endowment for the Arts 1982 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Oliver, Bobbie 1998 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | San Francisco Museum of Modern Art 1984 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Scott, Dale 1982-1986 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture 1985 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Stengel, Avis E. 1989 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Tandem Press 1987 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | University of Rochester Memorial Art Gallery 1973 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Vrej, Baghoomian, Inc. 1989 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Walker Art Center Minneapolis, Minnesota 1984 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Yale University 2001 | ||||||||||
| Box 19 | Zwerenz, Uli 1986 | ||||||||||
| Box 20 | Miscellaneous correspondence 1979-1997, undated (5 folders) | ||||||||||
| Financial and legal files | |||||||||||
| Box 20 | Financial and legal files | ||||||||||
| Medical files | |||||||||||
| Box 20 | Medical files | ||||||||||
| Writings | |||||||||||
| Box 21 | Essays and poems undated | ||||||||||
| Box 21 | Journals 1987-1988 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | Journals 2001 | ||||||||||
| Box 21 | Journals 2016 | ||||||||||
| Box 21 | Notebooks (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Memorabilia | |||||||||||
| Box 21 | Addresses (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 21 | Architectural plans | ||||||||||
| Box 21 | Clippings | ||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | Diploma 1975 | ||||||||||
| Box 22 | Exhibition and gallery announcements 1977-2011 (3 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 22 | Exhibition catalogs 1971-1980 (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Exhibition catalogs 1979-1984 | ||||||||||
| Box 23 | Exhibition catalogs 1981-1984 (7 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 24 | Exhibition catalogs 1984-1986 (7 folders) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 3 | Exhibition catalogs 1986-1991 | ||||||||||
| Box 25 | Exhibition catalogs 1987-1991 (8 folders) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 4 | Exhibition catalogs 1992 | ||||||||||
| Box 26 | Exhibition catalogs 1993-2003 (6 folders) | ||||||||||
| Mix CDs | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | A 2009-08 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_055) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Alvin Eng WNYC NPR Radio essay 2007-04-09 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_082) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | And 2012-02 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_024) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Asana (yoga music) To Louisa X-Mas '02 [2002-12] - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_054) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | B 2009-09 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_057) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Blue Star 2013-09 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_012) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Bluegrass xmas - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_079) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Bonobo - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_005) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Boubacar Traoré / Macire Mariama 2001 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_052) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Breathing 2006-12 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_063) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Caanan [sic] New Mexico 2011-09 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_022) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | CD 2010-09 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_045) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Christmas Rap 2009-12 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_008) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Classical 2 Christmas '04 [2004-12] - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_086) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Classical I Christmas '04 [2004-12] - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_085) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | D 2012-09 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_046) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | F 2010-02 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_065) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Façade 2010-06 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_036) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Fin MacQuarry VALPO sullen, mean… - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_083) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Fireball 2012-06 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_001) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | G 2010-04 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_028) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Gone Country 2011-03 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_072) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Grey Black Cadets 2007-02 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_002) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | H 2010-05 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_026) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Hold For Pickup 2012-08 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_004) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | I 2010-07 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_040) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | I [or possibly 1] 2010-08 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_037) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | I Walk the Mind, I Draw the Line 2008-06 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_060) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | J 2010-09 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_081) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Jazz I Christmas '04 [2004-12] - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_078) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | K 2010-10 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_038) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Kandinsky and Captain Underpants 2009-05 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_041) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Kiss the Cook 2009-06 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_049) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Koop (Swedish band) X-Mas '02 [2002-12] - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_051) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Labi Siffre, Nothin's Gonna Change / China Records Ltd. 1989 (CD) (ID#: chase_l_084) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Lamentations 2007-03 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_056) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Leaf 2006-10 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_013) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Letters 2007-12 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_044) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Louis New Year 2007-01 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_029) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Love Louisa 2014-01 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_011) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | M 2010-12 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_075) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Mary Gauthier Fire and Filth / Lucinda Williams World Without Tears - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_006) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Melea 2005-10 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_064) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Michael Pollan Botany of Desire undated - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (DVD) (ID#: chase_l_042) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Midnight Mass 2007-08 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_071) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | N 2011-01 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_068) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Nick Drake, etc. - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_009) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | O 2011-02 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_076) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | P 2011-03 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_070) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Party Kafka 2006-05 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_050) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Poems / Shaun Spurgeon - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_014) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Preservation 2007-04 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_032) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Q 2011-04 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_027) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | R 2011-05 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_019) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | S 2011-06 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_039) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Sketch Book 2007-09 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_059) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Slouching Down the Tracks 2007-11 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_073) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Snow Angels 2001-11 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_035) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Soldier On 2012-07 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_015) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | T 2011-07 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_018) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | T-160 2006-07 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_069) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Telling stories to the sea, etc. - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_077) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | This That and the Other Thing - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_053) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Tonight at Noon 2003-08 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_048) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | U 2011-08 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_017) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | V 2011-10 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_023) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | We'll Meet Again 2008-02 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_067) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Woman Dressing Her Hair - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_007) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Woman Dressing Her Hair 2011-11 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_020) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | X 2011-12 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_021) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Y 2012-01 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_025) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Z 2012-03 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_003) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | [untitled] 2013-08 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_010) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | [untitled] 2012-04 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_016) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | [untitled] 2005-05 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_030) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | [untitled] 2010-11 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_031) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | [untitled] 2010-01 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_033) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | [untitled] 2009-11 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_034) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | [untitled] 2004-10 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_043) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | [untitled] 2010-09 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_047) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | [untitled] 2008-09 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_058) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | [untitled] 2005-08 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_061) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | [untitled] 2009-05 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_062) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | [untitled] 2010-03 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_066) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | [untitled] 2012-07 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_074) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | [untitled] 2005-06 - homemade mix CD, various artists; see item for complete list (CD) (ID#: chase_l_080) | ||||||||||
| Box 31 | [untitled] - Unknown. No label, no description. (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: chase_l_087) | ||||||||||
| Photographs | |||||||||||
| Box 26 | Family photographs | ||||||||||
| Box 26 | Portraits 1981 | ||||||||||
| Box 26 | Portraits 1983 | ||||||||||
| Box 26 | Portraits 2001 | ||||||||||
| Box 26 | Portraits undated (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 5 | Portraits undated | ||||||||||
| Oversize 6 | Portraits undated | ||||||||||
| Box 27 | Miscellaneous undated (5 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 28 | Miscellaneous undated (11 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 28 | Records of shows and lists of paintings 1971-1985, undated | ||||||||||
| Box 28 | Research material undated | ||||||||||
| Box 29 | Miscellaneous (4 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 30 | Miscellaneous (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 31 | Miscellaneous, unidentified videocassette | ||||||||||