Collection inventory

---

Return to finding aids search

---

Children's March for Survival Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 4 Aug 2022

Revision history:

Biographical History

The Children's March for Survival was organized by the National Welfare Rights Organization to protest the Nixon administration's proposed welfare reforms. Many of the 30,000 demonstrators were children. Notable figures present included Coretta Scott King, Rev. Jesse Jackson, Bella Abzug, Gloria Steinem, Shirley Maclaine, and John Kerry.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Children's March for Survival Collection consist of seven flyers, one pamphlet, and a sticker. Each pamphlet focuses on a different issue, including free school lunches, environmental inequity, and students' rights.

Arrangement of the Collection

One folder.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Nixon, Richard M. (Richard Milhous), 1913-1994.

Subjects

Child welfare -- United States.
Protest movements -- 1960-1980.
Public welfare -- United States.
Youth protest movements.

Places

United States -- Economic policy.
Washington (D.C.)

Genres and Forms

Fliers (printed matter)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Children's March for Survival Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2021.

Table of Contents

Printed material

Inventory