Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

Harry G. Chinn Papers


Finding aid created by: Horsford, Sean
Date: 2022-04-23



Biographical History

Born and raised in Liverpool, England, Harry G. Chinn was an engineer and inventor in the field of plastics. Harry G. Chinn specialized in the development of processes involving the heat sealing of plastics and holds seven patents in this field. These patents range from the heat sealing of large tarps together for agricultural use, to heat sealing of plastic packaging for food product distribution. Harry spent time working for the Union Carbide Corporation (Bakelite Corporation), Riegel Paper Corporation, worked as a stockbroker and later in his career transitioned into teaching physics, chemistry, and math in high school.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Harry G. Chinn papers contain documents, technical reports, publications, patents, personal notebooks, business cards, a sample of plastic-coated paper and plastic packaging dating from 1956-1966. The bulk of the material relates to Harry's time at the Union Carbide Corporation working with heat sealing and plastic packaging. The sample of plastic-coated paper is an early example of plastic-coated paper from the Riegel Paper Corporation and the plastic packaging sample containing sewing needles is a packaging example from Union Carbide.


Arrangement of the Collection

Technical Reports consist of large bound notebooks that contain lab results, studies and other data related to Harry's time at the Union Carbide Corporation. Writings consisting of five notepads and a personal journal of Harry's were used on his business trips. One folder consists of Patents that Harry held on heat sealing a plastic packaging. Printed Materials consist of periodicals that contain articles related to Harry's work with plastic packaging and one folder of business cards from Harry's business trips. The Publication series contains pre-prints for periodicals found in the Printed Materials series, along with bulletins that were disturbed by the Union Carbide Corporation. Training Manuals from Union Carbide relate to Packaging Development, Extrusion and Blow Molding. The final series consists of two Plastic Samples, one of an example of plastic packaging attached to a cardboard card containing sewing needles, and one early example of plastic-coated paper. All the series are arranged in chronological order and maintain the original order of the collections when possible.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact SCRC for more information.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons


Chinn, Harry G.

Corporate Bodies

Riegel Paper Corporation.
Union Carbide Corporation.

Subjects

Plastic analysis.
Plastic coating.
Plastic films.
Plastics in packaging.
Plastics industry and trade.
Plastics.
Research notes.
Technical reports.

Places

United States.

Genres and Forms

Patents.
Research notes.
Technical reports.

Occupations


Designer.
Inventors.
Physicist.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harry G. Chinn Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Norma Shepperd, 2019.


Table of Contents

Technical Reports

Writings

Patents

Printed Materials

Publications

Training Manuals

Plastic Samples


Inventory