Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Melville Clark Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: unknown

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Melville Clark Papers are arranged in four series. Correspondence contains letters, cards and other written correspondence, arranged chronologically. Daily calendars contains nearly fifty years of Clark's daily calendar, arranged chronologically. Reference files are arranged alphabetically and include topics such as "Harp," "Pianos," "Organs." Miscellaneous includes a scrapbook of advertisements using musical instruments, insurance and other miscellaneous papers, and photographs.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Clark, Melville.

Corporate Bodies

Central New York Music Festival.
Clark Music Company (Syracuse, N.Y.)
Syracuse Symphony Orchestra.

Subjects

Businessmen -- New York (State) -- Syracuse.
Harp -- Instruction and study.
Harpists -- United States.
Music -- 20th century.
Music trade -- New York (State) -- Syracuse.
Musicians -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Calendars (documents)
Correspondence.
Instructional materials.
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.

Occupations

Businessmen
Musicians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Melville Clark Papers,
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Library

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Daily calendars

Reference files

Miscellaneous

Inventory