Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Central New York Cultural Ephemera Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 1 Nov 2007

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Central New York Cultural Ephemera Collection contains printed materials, photographs, correspondence, and memorabilia relating to cultural life in Central New York. The aspects of cultural life represented include clubs and organizations, events, politics and government, religion, and miscellaneous daily life.

Clubs and organizations contains correspondence, pamphlets, records, and memorabilia relating to organizations operating in Central New York. Objects of interest include membership information and fabric ribbons from various Masonic lodges, information sheets for teaching positions, and communications from groups advocating for women’s suffrage.

Events contains invitations, tickets, posters, and other printed materials relating to sports games, entertainment, dances, social gatherings, and other miscellaneous events. Many local theaters are represented, most extensively the Wieting Opera House and Bastable Theatre. Other items of interest include a scrapbook for the Charlie Brown band, concert programs of Melville Clark, and dance tickets for 1920s fraternity-hosted fundraising dances.

Landmarks include postcards, photographs, and stereograph cards of Central New York buildings and landscapes.

Politics and government includes certificates of appointment for legal practice, correspondence relating to various local government offices, election materials, and legal documents such as liquor license applications, land sale records, and contracts. Politicians represented include Lee Alexander, James M. Hanley, and John F. Kennedy.

Religion contains endorsements and recommendations from seminaries and theological colleges, programs for religious meetings, and correspondence relating to religious life.

Miscellaneous contains local history booklets, correspondence relating to aspects of daily life such as travel and family, advertisements and informational pamphlets, and photographs. Objects of interest include the Onondaga County history portfolio, correspondence regarding British author Israel Zangwill, and a scrapbook containing advertisements, arts, and clippings.

Please note that this collection contains material that some researchers may find objectionable due to racist content. This material is preserved and retained with the collection for its historic and research value.

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged alphabetically. Correspondence and programs from the various theaters are arranged chronologically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

See also the following:

Dave Salmon Inc. Collection of Syracuse Cultural Ephemera
Portfolio Club Records
Society for New Music Archive
Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music Records
Nancy Ann White Correspondence

Subject Headings

Persons

Alexander, Lee, -1996.
Brown, Charles F.
Clark, Melville.
Hanley, James M., 1920-2003.
Kennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald), 1917-1963.
Zangwill, Israel, 1864-1926.

Corporate Bodies

Bastable Theatre (Organization : Syracuse, N.Y.)
Dauber's Club.
Grand Army of the Republic.
Independent Order of Odd Fellows.
New York State Woman Suffrage Association.
Onondaga County Democratic Committee.
Pastime Athletic Club.
Syracuse University Flying Club.
Wieting Opera House (Organization : Syracuse, N.Y.)

Subjects

Fraternal organizations -- United States.
Freemasons -- New York (State)
Local government -- New York (State) -- Onondaga County.
Theater -- United States -- History -- 20th century.
United States -- Religious life and customs.

Places

Cortland (N.Y.) -- Intellectual life -- 20th century.
Ithaca (N.Y.) -- Intellectual life -- 20th century.
Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Intellectual life -- 20th century.
Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Societies and clubs.
Utica (N.Y.) -- Intellectual life -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Membership cards.
Photographs.
Posters.
Programs (documents)
Scrapbooks.
Tickets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Central New York Cultural Ephemera Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Core collection of theatre material purchased with funds from Library Associates.

Table of Contents

Clubs and organizations

Events

Landmarks

Politics and government

Religion

Miscellaneous

Inventory