Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Donald Coyle Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 24 Jan 2018

Biographical History

Donald Coyle (1922-2005) was a Canadian television executive. He joined American Broadcasting / Paramount Theatres (which later became ABC) in 1950, where he pioneered new methods of market research for the then-new organization. In 1958 he was named to head ABC's new international division. Under his leadership, the division launched more than 70 stations in South America, Canada, Central America, the Caribbean, the Far East, and the Middle East. He also founded his own consulting firm, International Communications, Inc. and served as executive vice president of Network CTV in Toronto from 1975 to 1981. He retired to North Carolina in 1981. [Information taken from Coyle's obituary in Charleston's The Post and Courier, January 2005.]

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Donald Coyle Collection contains clippings, correspondence, and internal reports.

Clippings contains clippings from newspapers and magazines on Coyle, ABC, and/or television generally.

Correspondence contains a single item, a memo to employees.

Reports contains internal reports on various industries or clients/potential clients.

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by type of material. Within that, clippings are arranged chronologically and reports alphabetically by title.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Coyle, Donald.

Corporate Bodies

American Broadcasting Company.
American Broadcasting-Paramount Theatres.

Subjects

Radio broadcasting -- History.
Radio broadcasting -- United States -- 1950-1960.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Reports.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Donald Coyle Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.

Table of Contents

Clippings

Correspondence

Reports

Inventory