Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Howard A. Craig Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: 1983

Biographical History

Howard A. "Pinky" Craig (1897-1977) was an American Air Force officer and pilot. He joined the Air Force during World War I and eventually rose to the rank of Lieutenant General. Over the course of his career he was a bomber pilot, commanded a fighter group in Tunisia, led the XII Air Support Command during the North Africa campaign, was on the General Staff of the War Department, headed the Alaskan Air Command, and served as commander of the National War College. His memoirs, Sunward I've Climbed: A Personal Narrative of Peace and War were published in 1975.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Howard A. Craig Papers consist of files containing correspondence, memorabilia, photographs, military material such as aerial maps and Army and Navy publications, and printed material. There are also eleven scrapbooks, some of which are formal commemorative albums and others are personal scrapbooks compiled by Craig.

Of particular interest are the extensive number of photographs from Craig's tenure in Alaska and during World War II, from the National War College, and from meetings of the Inter-American Defense Board (IADB) for which Craig served as president and on whose behalf he visited a number of countries in Latin American and South America. The IADB, formed in 1942, is an international committee of nationally appointed defense officials who collaborate on various aspects of defense; it also maintains the Inter-American Defense College (IADC). There are also two 16mm films featuring President Dwight D. Eisenhower on a visit to Adak, Alaska.

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection was left in the arrangement and order in which it was received, and original folder titles were retained for the most part. Correspondence is therefore chronological rather than alphabetical.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Signed copy of Craig's memoirs, Sunward I've Climbed, transferred to Rare Books for cataloging, 12 Jan 2010.

Subject Headings

Persons

Craig, Howard A.

Corporate Bodies

Inter-American Defense Board.
National War College (U.S.)
United States. -- Air Force -- History -- World War, 1939-1945.
United States. -- Air Force -- Officers -- Photographs.
United States. -- Air Force -- Officers.
United States. -- Air Force.
United States. -- Air Force. -- Alaskan Air Command.
United States. -- Army Air Forces.
United States. -- Army Air Forces. -- Bomb Group, 5th.

Subjects

Aeronautics, Military -- United States.
Air pilots, Military.

Places

United States -- History, Military -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Logs (records)
16mm (photographic film size)
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Memorabilia.
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.

Occupations

Aeronautics.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Howard A. Craig Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

General files

Scrapbooks

Inventory