Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Stephen Crane Collection Photographs

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: SEHG
Date: Jan 1992

Biographical History

Stephen Crane (1871-1900) was an American novelist, poet and journalist. Crane's mother, Mary Helen Peck, was the daughter of George Peck, an American Methodist Episcopal clergyman, author, and President of Cazenovia Seminary in Madison County, New York. Crane attended but did not graduate from Lafayette College and Syracuse University before moving to New York City where he worked as a freelance journalist and writer. His first novel, Maggie: A Girl of the Streets, was published in 1893, followed in 1895 by the novel for which he is best known, The Red Badge of Courage. The latter, about a young soldier's initiation into the horrors and ironies of war set during the American Civil War, won great acclaim for its vividness and psychological depth.

Crane and Cora Stewart-Taylor, who would become his wife, moved to Sussex, England in 1897. The two worked together as war correspondents during the Greco-Turkish War of 1897, novelized in Crane's Active Service (1899) whose central character is a journalist covering the war. Crane died at age 28 of tuberculosis in Badenweiler, Baden, Germany.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Stephen Crane Collection Photographs contains photographs of American author and journalist Stephen Crane as a child, young man (Syracuse University baseball team), in Greece, and at the studio of portrait photographer Corwin Knapp Linson. There are also a few photographs of Crane's parents, sister and wife and one of a young woman named Nellie Crouse, for whom Crane had a short-lived passion. Formats include original photographs, original and copy negatives, and glass plate negatives.

Within the single box, glass plate negatives reside in a small box, prints are in a folder, and negatives are in mylar pages in a three-ring binder. In the inventory below, numbers preceding the negatives and prints refer to page numbers in the binder; numbers preceding glass plate negatives refer to the penciled numbers written on the paper covers of the negatives in the box.

Arrangement of the Collection

Roughly chronological.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Original photographs in Box 2 are restricted due to condition. Researchers may use the reproductions in Box 1.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

See also the Stephen Crane Collection. In addition, Special Collections Research Center has many published Crane works and reference materials in its Rare Books holdings; please refer to Libraries Search for a complete listing. Special Collections Research Center is also the repository of the papers of George Peck, Crane's maternal grandfather.

Subject Headings

Persons

Crane, Cora, 1865 or 6-1910 -- Photographs.
Crane, Stephen, 1871-1900 -- Photographs.
Crouse, Nellie -- Photographs.
Linson, Corwin Knapp, b. 1864.

Corporate Bodies

Syracuse University -- Baseball -- Photographs.

Subjects

Photography -- Negatives.

Genres and Forms

Negatives (photographs)
Photographs.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Stephen Crane Collection Photographs,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Negatives and prints

Glass plate negatives

Inventory