Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Creative Film Foundation Records

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 27 Mar 2013

Biographical History

The Creative Film Foundation was formed by American experimental filmmaker Maya Deren to broaden support for experimental film. Members of the foundation’s Board of Directors included writer and mythologist Joseph Campbell, book publisher Barney Rossett of Grove Press, and Cinema 16 founder Amos Vogel, among other writers and artists.

Upon its incorporation as a non-profit organization in 1955, the Foundation offered equipment loans and grants for production, exhibition, and educational activities. This support was available to filmmakers whose work was concerned with creative experimentation and development in film techniques and form. In 1956, they held a series of forums dedicated to exploring the relationship of film to dance, music, myth, plastic arts, poetry, and art. From 1956 to 1960, in collaboration with Cinema 16, the Foundation presented annual awards to independent experimental filmmakers.

The Creative Film Foundation is no longer active.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Creative Film Foundation Records contain administrative materials, correspondence, event records, financial materials, and grant management materials.

Administrative materials includes founding documents, meeting announcements and minutes, memos, and reports.

Correspondence contains communications relating to the foundation’s advisory board, film forums, legal representation, press, and member opinion surveys.

The Events series contains voting records and promotional materials for the Annual Creative Film Awards and programs for a series of film forums.

Financial materials consists of contracts, member contribution records, fundraising materials, tax exemption records, and a ledger.

The Grant management series includes forms and procedures for applicants, grant inquiries, approved and rejected applications, and correspondence with the grantees.

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged alphabetically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

See also the Grove Press Records.

Subject Headings

Persons

Deren, Maya.
Vogel, Amos.

Corporate Bodies

Cinema 16 (Society : New York, N.Y.)
Creative Film Foundation.

Subjects

Experimental films -- Exhibitions.
Experimental films -- Production and direction.
Experimental films -- United States.
Independent filmmakers -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Financial records.
Memorandums.
Minutes (administrative records)
Programs (documents)
Reports.

Occupations

Motion picture producers and directors -- United States.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Creative Film Foundation Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Grove Press.

Table of Contents

Administrative materials

Correspondence

Events

Financial materials

Grant management

Inventory