Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Alfred D. Crimi Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: 1966

Biographical History

Alfred D. Crimi was born in eastern Sicily on Dec. 1, 1900. He came to the United States in 1910 and was naturalized in 1924. He attended public school in East Harlem's Little Italy.

He was a student at the National Academy of Design from 1916-1924 and attended the Beaux Arts Institute from 1920-1921. In 1929, he returned to Europe to study fresco painting in Italy.

He has found most of his success in the field of mural work, winning numerous national contests for painting in public and semi-public buildings. Notably, he was hired by the Works Progress Administration (WPA) for the Harlem Hospitals murals project. He also worked for the Public Works of Art project in Key West, Florida.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Alfred D Crimi Papers is divided into four series. The first series is Correspondence, which is further divided into incoming and outgoing correspondence. The incoming correspondence is arranged alphabetically and by sender subject, and covers the years from 1935 to 1948; outgoing correspondence is arranged chronologically, covering the same period. The second series is the Subject File, which is arranged alphabetically by subject. This series contains blueprints, legal material, finances, notes, press releases, and reports. The Manuscripts series contains articles written by others. The last series, Published Materials, contains articles about Crimi and others, articles about ethics, legal processes, illustrations, and newspaper clippings.

The April 1982 Addenda to the collection contains one series, which includes correspondence, published materials, and other miscellaneous items.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Crimi, Alfred D., 1900-1994.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Church decoration and ornament -- United States.
Italian American painters.
Italian Americans.
Mural painting and decoration -- United States -- 20th century.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- United States -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Autobiographies (literary works)
Awards.
Blueprints (reprographic copies)
Correspondence.
Drawings (visual works)
Exhibition catalogs.
Lectures.
Photographs.
Reviews (documents)
Slides (photographs)

Occupations

Artists.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Alfred D. Crimi Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mr. Crimi, 1964-1987.

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject files

Manuscripts

Published material

1982 additions

Inventory