Collection inventory

---

Return to finding aids search

---

Jen Cruse Antique Comb Collection

A description of her collection at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 7 Sep 2018

Revision history:

Biographical History

Jen Cruse is a collector, scholar, and writer on antique combs. She is the author of The Comb: Its History and Development (Robert Hale, 2007), and has a personal collection of well over 1,500 combs spanning nearly 2000 years.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jen Cruse Antique Comb Collection consists of 25 antique combs, with the collector's research notes.

Arrangement of the Collection

Unprocessed.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact SCRC for more information.

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

A copy of Cruses's book, Jen Cruse Antique Comb Collection is available in the Rare Books collection .

Subject Headings

Persons

Cruse, Jen.

Subjects

Combs -- History.
Hair ornaments.

Genres and Forms

Combs (hair ornaments)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jen Cruse Antique Comb Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Jen Cruse, 2018.

Table of Contents

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.