Collection inventory

---

Return to finding aids search

---

Cortney Davis Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: PRB
Date: 1 Apr 2008

Revision history:

Biographical History

Cortney Davis (1945- ) is an American nurse practitioner, author and lecturer. She attended Western Connecticut State University, graduating magna cum laude with a B.A. in 1983 and an M.A. in 1989, and is a registered nurse (RN) and Advanced Practice RN (APRN) as well as a board-certified Adult Nurse Practitioner. Ms. Davis is also a published author, having worked as staff writer and freelance editor for Nursing Spectrum Magazine as well as publishing books, articles, essays and poetry.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Cortney Davis Papers consist of correspondence, writings, and memorabilia.

Correspondence includes personal, business, and fan mail. Writings include several years' worth of Davis' journals as well as juvenilia, poetry, speeches, and notes and assignments from her undergraduate and graduate school days. Memorabilia relates to poetry readings and to workshops (both given and attended), along with a small amount of miscellaneous material.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by correspondent. Writings and Memorabilia are arranged alphabetically by type.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Davis, Cortney, 1945-

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
American poetry -- 20th century.
Medical personnel, Writings of.
Medical practice -- Poetry.
Nurse and patient -- Literary collections.
Nurses -- Literary collections.
Nurses' writings, American.
Nursing -- Literary collections.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Diaries.
Poems.
Speeches (documents)

Occupations

Authors.
Nurses.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Cortney Davis Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Cortney Davis, 2007.

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Writings

Memorabilia

Inventory