Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Ludvik Durchanek Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: PRB
Date: 4 Oct 2005

Biographical History

Czech sculptor and painter, born in 1902. For much of his life he lived and worked in New York. He died in 1976.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1902 to 1977, the Ludvik Durchanek Collection comprises Artwork, Correspondence/subject files, Writings, and Memorabilia of the Austrian-American artist.

Including some photographs of his paintings and sculpture, Artwork primarily consists of sketches done in secret while Durchanek was a staff member at the Hudson Valley State Hospital in the 1950s. The sketches were developed into a graphic narrative which was never published and is included in the collection.

Arranged alphabetically, the Correspondence/subject files contains communications with galleries and friends and the guest list and invitation from Durchanek's seventieth birthday party in 1972.

One untitled and unpublished autobiographical manuscript written in 1972 constitues Writings.

Memorabilia consists of clippings, printed material, and photographs of the artist and his work.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Durchanek, Ludvik, 1902-1976.

Corporate Bodies

Hudson Valley State Hospital

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Painters -- United States
Painting, American -- 20th century.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Drawings (visual works)
Exhibition catalogs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.
Sketches.

Occupations

Artists.
Painters.
Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ludvik Durchanek Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ludvik Durchanek (1966) and Alice Boatwright (2004)

Table of Contents

Artowork

Correspondence / subject files

Writings

Memorabilia

Inventory