Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Richard A. Falk Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: CMV
Date: Apr 1980

Biographical History

Richard A. Falk (1930- ) is an American author and professor specializing in international law and justice. Born in New York City, he studied at University of Pennsylvania's Wharton School and graduated in 1952 with a B.S. in Economics. He attended Yale Law School, graduating in 1955 with an L.L.B., as well as Harvard Law School, earning his J.S.D. in 1962. Over his career he has been a faculty member at the College of Law, Ohio State University; the Albert G. Milbank Professor of International Law and Practice (now Professor Emeritus) at Princeton; Distinguished Visiting Professor of Law at Chapman University School of Law; and Visiting Distinguished Professor in Global and International Studies at the University of California, Santa Barbara (2001-2004). In addition to this distinction, Professor Falk has also been cited as a McCash Faculty and Ford Foundation Fellow.

Professor Falk is the author, co-author, or editor of more than thirty books and numerous essays, including The Six Legal Dimensions of the Vietnam War (1968), A Global Approach to National Policy (1975), Revolutionaries and Functionaries (1988), On Humane Governance: Toward a New Global Politics (1995), Crimes of War: Iraq (2006), and Achieving Human Rights (2008). He is a member of the editorial board of the American Journal of International Law, Foreign Policy, The Nation, and The Progressive, and editor of the Journal of Conflict Resolution. He is Chair of the Board of the Nuclear Age Peace Foundation and a member of the World Federalist Institute, the Independent International Commission on Kosovo, and the Advisory Board for the American Movement for World Government.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Richard A. Falk Papers consist of correspondence, personal material, printed material, published material, subject files, writings, and memorabilia. The collection at present consists of three separate accessions which have not been physically integrated; however, all material is listed in logical order below, so box numbers are not always sequential.

Correspondence contains a number of letters from well-known Congressmen and other public figures (a partial list of names of such people can be found in the finding aids file). The bulk of material found in printed material, published material and subject files deals with law and with the Vietnam War. Writings contains law-related works, many of which are in rough draft form. A selected index to correspondence listing notable figures (mainly members of Congress), appears at the end of the inventory; note that this index covers the main part of the collection ONLY (boxes 1-35). Correspondence from later additions (boxes 36-38) is not included in this index.

Personal material includes awards, correspondence, government employment information, photographs, and legal, medical, and financial papers.

Printed material includes business cards, newsletters, photocopies of articles, press releases, reports, transcripts, and other items.

Published material includes articles, clippings, galley proofs, magazines, pamphlets, photocopies, reprints, and other items.

Subject files consists of files on various topics related to Falk's areas of interest. Topics represented include -- but are by no means limited to -- noncitizens (much of this content uses the then-common term "aliens"), arms control, the Carnegie Corporation, the Center for International Studies, coercion, disarmament, impeachment, indirect aggression, the Institute for World Order, international law, non-military foreign aid, nuclear proliferation, personal responsibility, reciprocity, South Africa, subversion, the United Nations, Vietnam, and war crimes.

Writings includes among other things articles, books, essays, galley proofs, lectures, and speeches. Also here are rough drafts and typescripts of dozens of pieces written by Falk.

Memorabilia contains conference material, printed material, publicity, and some miscellany.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is divided into general (organized chronologically) and specific (organized alphabetically by subject). Personal material, Subject files and Memorabilia are arranged alphabetically by topic, while Printed material is arranged alphabetically by type.

Published material and Writings present something of a challenge. These series are arranged inconsistently due to the three main sets of material not yet being physically integrated. Particularly problematic is the writings section, in which some items are categorized by type of material (essays, lectures, pamphlets), some are categorized by writing stage (proofs, typescripts, drafts), and still others are placed alphabetically by their topic. Researchers are encouraged to make a thorough reading of this section of the inventory.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

The library holds more than 60 volumes by Falk in its circulating collection; please refer to Libraries Search for a complete listing.

Subject Headings

Persons

Falk, Richard A.

Corporate Bodies

Princeton University. -- Center for International Studies.

Subjects

Authors, American.
Detente.
Disarmament.
Ecology.
Educators -- United States.
Environmental law.
International law.
International organization.
International relations.
Nuclear warfare -- Moral and ethical aspects.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975.
War (International law)
World politics.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Correspondence.
Essays.
Lectures.
Manuscripts for publication.
Speeches (documents)

Occupations

Authors.
Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Richard A. Falk Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Richard Falk, 1969-1992.

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Personal

Printed material

Published material

Subject files

Writings

Memorabilia

Selected index to correspondence

Inventory

Selected index to correspondence

This index covers the MAIN ACCESSION ONLY (boxes 1-35). Correspondents from later additions (boxes 36-38) is not included here.