| Return to finding aids search |
Field Family Letters
An inventory of the letters at Syracuse University
Finding aid created by: LDC
Date: 04 Nov 2008
|
|
|
| Return to finding aids search |
Finding aid created by: LDC
Date: 04 Nov 2008
|
|
|
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Field, David Dudley, 1805-1894. |
| Title: | Field Family Letters |
| Dates: | 1862-1867 |
| Quantity: | 26 items (SC) |
| Abstract: | Correspondence, 1862-1867, from Field and his son, Dudley Field, to Simon Stevens regarding his financial and legal affairs. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
David Dudley Field (1805-1894) was an American lawyer, reformer, author, and U.S. Congressman.
Field was born in Haddam, Connecticut on February 13, 1805. He attended Williams College in Williamstown, Massachusetts before studying law in Albany and New York City, New York. In 1829, Field married Jane Lucinda Hopkins with whom he had three children, Dudley, Jeanie and Isabella. After Hopkins death in 1836, Field remarried twice, first to Harriet Davidson (d. 1864) and second to Mary E. Carr (d. 1874). The eldest child, Dudley Field, followed in his father's footsteps, studying law. He was made a partner in his father's practice in 1854.
David Dudley Field was the author of numerous political and legal works, including works on criminal and civil procedure. He was elected to the 44th Congress to fill the vacancy left by Smith Ely, Jr. and served from January 11 to March 3, 1877. He died on April 13, 1894 in New York City.
The Field Family Letters contains correspondence (1862-1867) from David Dudley Field and his son, Dudley Field, to Simon Stevens regarding his financial and legal affairs.
Access Restrictions:
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions:
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Persons
Field, David Dudley, 1805-1894.
Field, Dudley, 1830-1880.
Stevens, Simon.
Subjects
Attorney and client.
Lawyers -- New York (State) -- New York.
Genres and Forms
Correspondence.
Occupations
Lawyers.
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Field Family Letters
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Correspondence
| Correspondence | |||||||||||
| SC 13 | 1862-1867 | ||||||||||